We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The End of Our Love Affair with Affinia...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The End of Our Love Affair with Affinia...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a couple of recent stays at the Affinia Dumont, we have been huge fans of Affinia hotels, even recommending them to others when traveling to New York.

Sadly, this fondness for Affinia has come to an end. A few months earlier, we reserved and prepaid for a room at the Affinia Gardens. Affinia occasionally has a 3-day sale with great rates, and we were fortunate enough to book a room at the Gardens for this year's spring break. It was my son's birthday, so we took a much anticipated birthday trip to NYC.

When we arrived at the Affinia Gardens, we were promptly checked in and sent to our room--one problem, it wasn't the room we had already booked. Instead of 2 beds for our family of 4, it had only one. We returned to the desk and learned that our troubles had just begun. The Front Desk Manager quickly learned that our room had already been assigned to a group of 6 that was also to arrive later that day. When he asked if we could keep the originally assigned room, I said no (it was prepaid). He then became more frustrated and looked at my children standing a few feet away in the lobby. Obviously unhappy with his predicament, he then said that they (my sons) looked too old to be classified as children and would be charging us the adult rate for these "additional guests".

Unfortunately, this unpleasant discussion was heard by all in the small lobby, including our NY friends who had arrived to meet us at the hotel. After a long cross-country flight, I wasn't expecting this at an Affinia hotel. Thankfully, the rest of the staff was very friendly and cheerful and greeted us warmly with each trip past the front desk.

Our room at the Affinia Gardens was in need of some TLC. Compared to the Affinia Dumont, the finishes are more tired and worn. Our room was nicely sized, however, the bathroom was disproportionately small and was really only big enough for one person. In fact, the toilet was angled just to allow for the door to open into the bathroom. Finally, the deadbolt lock in our room did not work.

The location is great and one of the main reasons we selected this hotel. Close enough to midtown, Central Park as well as the upper east side. While the street noise was not a bother, we did clearly hear conversations in the adjacent room through the adjoining door. Thankfully, we weren't in our room enough for this to be a problem.

With the exception of the Front Desk Manager, the staff was always wearing a smile. One of the reasons we have come to adore Affinia is for the pleasant staff. Presumably because our room assignment was wrong, we failed to get the additional items promised as part of "My Affinia's" program (specialized pillow, charging pad, etc.) that we preordered. No big deal...it was obviously a busy weekend for the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to check Affinia's policy regarding the permissible ages of children staying free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WileyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear WileyWander,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your Affinia loyalty over the years. I am glad that we were able to connect off-line and that you were also able to correspond with Johanna, our Director of Front Office, about this matter as well. We have addressed all items including a slow interior wall leak that impacted the unacceptable room appearance in addition to how we handled the situation. We do our best to prevent these types of occurrences and always review and learn from the rare, but nonetheless unacceptable, lapse in service delivery or product presentation so that we continuously improve. My team and I thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future with an experience that is more in line with the type you and so many of our loyal guests are accustomed to. I am available should you need anything.

Wishing you and your family TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    500
    109
    51
    23
See reviews for
886
313
95
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely small hotel with very attentive staff. The beds were very comfortable and we even ordered the pillows we wanted before we went. Our room was in the back and very quiet. The room had a full kitchen and coffee maker.

Room Tip: We had a room with a patio, it was a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Colleen C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our signature Affinia bed and signature pillow menu as we offer these types of amenities to help make all of our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible. And yes, our patio suites located on the ground floor of our hotel offer unmatched outdoor space (ranging from an extra 350 to 400 square feet) to complement our over-sized suites which all feature a full kitchen. I hope to have the chance to personally welcome you back and I am available should you need anything in the meantime.

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff were fantastic, being from Australia, we had some issues with our credit card upon check in, and there staff were unable to hold the full amount, I had another card, but it only had enough money on it for the first night. The staff member was fantastic, he put a hold on my card, for the first night's accomodation, to allow us to sort out the mess with my credit card, and simply advised us that we would be unable to charge anything to the room. I spoke to the bank immediately and came down at 5 am the next morning when the card was back in action, and he'd even passed on a message to the night manager, so I didn't have to spend 10 mins explaing what had happened.

Now to the room... They are huge, with a full kitchen, but are getting a little old... They were immaculately clean, and quiet, we barely heard the traffic noise, which for NYC is amazing... While it could do with a refurb, it was comfortable, and we felt at home, which always a big compliment for a Hotel IMO...

There isn't a typical "room service" however, they have an arrangement with local Restaurants such as Jackon Hole, to deliver to your room and charge to your bill... It worked just like room service, the only difference being that you needed to call the restaurant for your order... We only ate from Jackson Hole, and it was fantastic, huge burgers that were to die for!

Also, a big plus to this place is the coin-laundry! Travelling with a 10 month old, were were doing laundry every 2-3 days, it was a nice change to be able to stay in the hotel rather than go to a laundromat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5tumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location is in a quiet neighborhood on the east side. The rooms are quite spacious and well appointed. Room service is available from third party outside vendors but there is an in house gym that is clean and well maintained. Service ranges from good to poor ...though the staff overall is friendly training seems to be inconsistent. Housekeeping was overly anxious to enter the room prior to check out which caused a disruption and at one point during the stay did not come back when they said they would so the room was not cleaned. The front desk staff gave different answers on how the booking would be handled and when we were checking out and said we needed a cab for ourselves and our luggage we were told to walk down the street to go get one. (At the time there was nobody else at the counter or in the lobby.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Affinia Gardens is a great hotel overall. Staff is courteous and attentive, lobby and rooms very clean, good size sitting area and kitchen. Housekeeping helpful, front desk efficient and courteous and welcoming and bellmen, especially Kris C. who is beyond helpful, pleasant and most accommodating to every guest whether coming or going, he is a very welcome sight with a very welcoming attitude and seems to be proud to be part of Affinia.

Room Tip: Think most rooms are just about the same as far as we know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMCIRISH33970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Hotel has a great location for the Upper East Side lovers, near all the stores on 57th street and two blocks from Bloomingdales. There's a Food Emporium just around the corner, which is great.
I stayed in a one bedroom suite on the ground floor and it was huge. Big bedroom, huge living room with a private patio (great for spring and summer). The bathroom was good too. The kitchen is a little old but works fine.
The apartment was very clean, with good linens. Good on demand film selection.
Didn't like the fact that they charge you $14 per day for internet in each device you use it but complained at the front desk and they took it out of my bill.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is very attractive and located in a wonderful, quiet neighborhood. My room was recently refurbished with beautiful linens, flat screen TV and luxurious bathroom. The bath was sparking clean and well designed with ample space for cosmetics and great lighting. The bed was very high quality with deep and comfortable mattress and pillows. The staff was exceptional in being of service. Reddy at the front desk was very accommodating as were the bell staff. Krys took care of our bags and found a cab instantly upon departure. The bellman on Saturday recommended a nearby restaurant for lunch, The Silver Star which was perfect. This hotel is a little beyond the center of the action in NYC being on East 64th Street but well worth the few minutes extra to get to the MTA or buses. We agreed that this hotel was on our list for future visits to NYC.

Room Tip: Some roooms overlook a lovely garden......thus the name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MbHSternF05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 467 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#81 of 467 in New York City
1,847 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,255 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing