We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in NY. Beautiful and comfort room, good location. A little difficult to get a taxi, but i believe this is a NY problem.
Special comment about Kris and Caprice, they both were exceptionally helpful and friendly, very pleasant disposition and engaging with us. they were really very special.
I do recommend this hotel and will stay in my next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    486
    106
    49
    22
See reviews for
862
309
92
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel rooms were beautiful..The door man Jim and Kris Caprice,also another man I don't remember his name was very sweet....There was a new manager there,he wrote me a kind note and moved my room to the Penthouse,because of some disturbances....He was a wondwrful manager,and all of the employee's were knid..I loved the new renovations and of course the tea is the best Thanks you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita rosetti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time post a review and to share your honest feedback. The team and I really enjoyed having you as our guest and we appreciated the chance to be able to correct the initial situation. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade to the deluxe one bedroom room category with a balcony and also found our recent room and lobby refresh to be such a great improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Gardens soon!

Wishing you TLC now and always,
Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location was good with restaurants, toystore, drugstore and grocery store nearby. It was nice to have kitchen facilities, since we had young children. Kris was exceptionally helpful and friendly, very pleasant disposition and engaging with all of us. The children loved him and thought he was our personal assistant. One evening, when Kris was not on duty, it took nearly two hours to receive our meal from the time I requested a room menu (3 requests later) until it was delivered to our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyJPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is in a fairly good location. The rooms are neat and tidy but nothing special in my opinion. There's no bells and whistles with this hotel. I didn't really find it to be here nor there. The staff were friendly and helpful in most instances.The gym was a little lacklustre. We got a good deal as my mother worked for an affiliated hotel at the time so I am not sure what the actual value was like. I do recall it being quite noisy during the night. Alot of sirens and garbage trucks by the sounds of things.

Room Tip: Maybe ask staff for one of their quieter rooms. Not sure if this would be something a little higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff members are all extremely helpful! Bellmen Kris and Sal were always smiling and engaging the guests. I loved the fact that I had a full kitchen with a grocery store 1 block away. the bed was extremely comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heart beat! thanks Affinia Staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Been staying here for 25 years and still enjoying it, though it is time for a bit of a room update. The best part of this hotel is the staff, especailly Kris, Caprice and Michael. The only problem is that they still have an unpleasant manager who we try to avoid. He's been there way too long. Still, we always enjoy our stay and everyone but the manager tries to do what they can to make our stay great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we have to come to NYC for medical reasons and each time, we stayed at Affinia Gardens for almost 2 weeks. The staff was accommodating to our every need--sheets changed every day, extra towels, room service when requested, a pillow menu to choose from, robes, a tea kettle, etc. The spacious rooms with a full kitchen are ideal for post-surgical visits or for relaxing in spacious surrounds. The lobby and rooms have all been renovated in the past year--so everything is fresh and kept very clean. While I was busy nursing my sister back to health, my husband was enjoying NYC. He loves the location of the hotel for enjoying New York as New Yorkers do--wonderful neighborhood restaurants and activities. The manager, Pedro and his staff including Krys, Michael, and Nigel, were the best--combine that with the intimate size of the hotel and it added up to a fabulous overall experience. This hotel is the best for the upper east side experience. One room can accommodate up to 5 people comfortably--2 queen size beds and a pull out sofa. Or, you two can have loads of space with one king size bed. Every room has sitting area, full kitchen, full bathroom with tub, and full kitchen.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been renovated yet, and so ask for one that has been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,766 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing