We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the Upper East Side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jaca, Aragon, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent for the Upper East Side”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was amazed at the space I had in my room here, complete with a kitchenette. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the gym was okay, although you are not far from Central Park. The location, if you have business in the fancy and generally extremely expensive Upper East side is excellent, not far from a metro station, near reasonably priced (for Manhattan) restaurants, and very near a supermarket.
I have stayed in New York many times, and this was one of the better ones. If you want night life and be in the center of the action, you are better off near Times Sq or near Union Sq or the Village, but if you want a temporary place to base yourself from and have people to meet in the Upper East Side, this is definitely good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Kengele,
I can see by your review that you are a frequent New York traveller. I am glad to see that being all over NYC, you have rated us the “one of the better ones”. This goes to show that we do make a difference. Our spacious unique apartment-like rooms, location & accommodating staff are all a part of the full experience of our guest stays. It’s so warming that your stay has personified our vision for all of our guests .

Thank you for taking the time out to give our trip advisor viewers just a taste of what their stay might be like here at Affinia Gardens. I hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Philip Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    491
    107
    50
    23
See reviews for
870
310
94
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Affinia Garden is a very comfortable boutique Hotel on the upper East side of Manhatten. While the hotel itsself does not have a bar or restaurant there are many good ones a short walk away. What it does have for NYC are exceptionally large well appointed rooms that are very comfortable and there very caring knowledgeable staff makes it even more of an enjoyable experiance. I am a ptient of Memorial Sloan Kettering Hospital and to have such a relaxing Hotel stay in the neighborhood. I would reccoment this hotel or its sister hotel the Affinia Fifty to anyone visiting New York for any reason

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing the rear nice park below and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear ddorsey,

Thank you for your short and sweet review about the Affinia Gardens. I can’t even begin understand how uncomfortable it may be to being undergoing treatment. I am however pleased that even going through this rough time you felt right at home. Our tree lined quiet streets are what our guests love the most. It is their very own getaway with in the city of Manhattan. I see you mentioned The Affinia 50. I can honestly say that even though that is another property in a different part of town you will get the same feel of Affinia Hospitality.

Again, I appreciate you taking the time let everyone know your thoughts. I hope to greet you next time you are in town and hopefully on a pleasurable venture.

All the Best,

Philip Garcia

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at noon and our room was not ready which we expected to hear. The concierge put our bags in a closet while we went exploring. He called my cell when our room was ready. When we arrived, we were offered a free upgrade to a first floor room with a patio. Wow!!! These things never happen to us. But we were blown away. The room was huge, with the bedroom separate from the living space which included a kitchen. Because the room was close to the lobby, we were glad to have the extra door between us and the hallway which could get loud at times. We also had access to the lobby's wifi from our room. The patio was HUGE! We couldn't believe such a space could exist in Manhattan and yet it was ours for two nights.

The only drawback to this hotel is that it's not particularly close to any subway lines. But we didn't mind the walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear pamandmac,

It was a pleasure reading your gracious comments about the Affinia Gardens. Everyone loves a pleasant surprise as the one you received upon check in. Our attentive front desk agents are aware of this and do so whenever they have the availability to do so. Our patios are one of the treasures we have to offer. To have some sort of tranquility in a bustling Manhattan is what guests find most fascinating.

Thank you for giving our trip advisor views a genuine review of your stay. I truly hope to meet you next time you stay with us.

Best Regards,

Philip Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We chose this hotel based largely on location (being near where we needed to be during our stay). The suite consisted of a large main living/dining room, a bedroom, a bathroom, and a kitchen. First, for the good points: the staff were friendly and helpful, the suite had a very nice private patio, and everything was clean and in good repair. Although not a real problem, just a slight annoyance, was the absence of anywhere to sit to eat, even though there was a very large (and vacant) spot to put a small table and some chairs. Also, the kitchen had the absolute minimum of utensils/plates/pans to prepare a light meal. No paper products in the kitchen to help with clean-up. And the Internet was $15/day, which reminded me of something out of the late '90s, or back in the '80s when hotels used to charge for local telephone calls. These days, it's hard to find a hotel that doesn't offer complimentary telephone and Internet service...

Overall, I rate the experience adequate. I would stay here again, if I were in the area. It was a nice place, but not exceptional. A little more attention to detail would have made the place outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear croussi,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

While we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and particularly appreciated your room, please accept my sincere apologies for us failing to make your stay flawless. Your suggestions about more dining furniture as well as more utensils and complimentary wi-fi are all fair and I have carefully took note in what can make our future guest stays immaculate. While this is highly unusual for our hotel, rest assured this has received the highest attention of our staff to ensure that we prevent this from happening in the future.

It is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at the Affinia Gardens.

Best Regards,

Philip Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is convenienty located just off Third Ave - many restaurants and mch shopping withn just a few blocks. Rooms are large - mine was like a spacious studio apartment complete with a small kitchen. Staff is minimal but attentive. Morning coffee and evening tea is available in small common area in the lobby. The facility is very clean. There is not a restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: My room was street side, but the heavy blinds reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwelchtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear jmwelchtn,
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your most recent stay at the Affinia Gardens. It seems that you enjoyed your stay and some of the fine dining and shopping that we have here on the Upper East Side. Our delicious morning coffee and spacious suites are just some of what our hotel has to offer. We don’t have an in-house restaurant or room service, however the array of restaurants within walking distance of our hotel more than makes up for it!

Thank you again for your time and feedback. I hope to get the chance to meet you on your next stay at Affinia Gardens.

Kind Regards,

Philip Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Affinia Gardens from November 9-12th and just loved it. The rooms are huge. We had a group of 6 girl-friends staying there and it was plenty of room. We used the kitchen to brush teeth and the makeup mirror to get ready, so others could shower in the bathroom. It was really nice. We were not too crowded. The location was great. We felt very safe at all times. Kris even helped us with a ride to the airport and it was even cheaper than Super Shuttle. They were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and our requests (extra towels, etc) were met in a very efficient amount of time. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateymwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear kateymwf,

Thank you for your review here on trip advisor for all to see about the Affinia Gardens. I am delighted to hear that you a great time away with your girl friends! New York is the perfect place to come for an escape. Our location is definitely unique in this crazy city! What guests notice the most is our accommodating staff. Krys, our bellman is one of our star team players. He really does go above and beyond for all of our guests. I will make sure to tell him of your gracious comments about him!

Thank you for choosing Affinia Gardens for your girls’ trip. I hope you make it a yearly tradition to come back!

Regards,
Philip Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encounter Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We got a good flight and accommodation deal on Affinia Gardens through Expedia, and after staying at the Affinia Gardens we will never stay anywhere else in NYC. The location is perfect, an easy walk down to 5th Avenue and the Grey Line bus stop for hop-on, hop-off touring. Walking down to Times Square is also easily done. Most importantly, it is QUIET...well as quiet as NYC ever is. You are in easy reach of all that New York has to offer, with the ability to escape from the madness at the end of the day.

The room itself (Junior Suite) was spacious enough for the four of us, the beds were comfortable, and the full kitchen was ideal for breakfast before tacking the day or an easy dinner if you are tired and want to stay in. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were made up to a high standard every day. There is a nice italian restaurant, Food Emporium and banking facilities on 3rd that are close and convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building are quieter, and overlook the rear yard of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipSGarcia, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Paul M,
I appreciate you taking the time out to write a review about Affinia Gardens. It was such a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the junior suite; which is our smallest room. To say that our smallest room was spacious, says a lot about our bigger rooms. Aside from our amazingly unique accommodations, our location and gracious staff are exactly why we have guests who have been loyal customers for 15+ years. Your review reflects what we have to offer all guests and I thank you for that.
I hope I get to meet you on your next trip in town.

Regards,
Philip Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing