We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved in recent years; small irritations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #335 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've stayed at this property several times and found my most recent visit mostly better than the others and the facilities better maintained. If you are looking for a place with a spacious and comfortable lobby, though, this one won't fill the bill. The restaurant/bar area can be very busy and loud, as well, which cuts both ways of course. I did, however, find the doormen to be extremely helpful and friendly, as well as the night security guard keeping an eye on the elevators. Seemingly small things, but they add up.

I have also, however, found the front-desk staff a bit inconsistent in terms of helpfulness and friendliness, and often too thinly staffed given the guest traffic. One particular irritation is that since our room wasn't yet ready when I arrived (they were admittedly very busy with college basketball visitors), we needed to store our luggage with the bellman, and there was a per-bag charge. It just feels like nickel-and-diming, particularly when room pricing is high (I've paid prices all over the map for this hotel depending on the timing), you also need to tip the bellman, and in this case, I didn't have a choice since my room wasn't ready. Left a very bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMJ I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

EMJ I,
Thank you for taking the time to share your response with us, hear at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan the Little Things Mean Everything. I am happy to know that you were pleased with the bellman and the security staff. I do apologize for the inconvenience with the storage cost associated with the luggage storage. This is a management decision currently under review. We hope to see you again so that we can better serve you.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,042 - 3,048 of 5,100 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

While the hotel and staff were very nice, the air freshener scent was overpowering throughout the hotel to the point where I could taste it and could not wait to go outside into the fresh NYC air. If they would remove, or materially tone down, the air freshener, I would be happy to return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Ann C,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the scent of the air freshener with us. I do apologize that you found the scent overwhelming. I will share this with my housekeeping team for their consideration. Thank you for staying and we hope to see you again for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were looking for something centrally located and a block or less from the subway as we had to push our airport luggage around twice. This hotel did meet those expectations and was easy to get to from JFK and Penn Station. We were also close enough to Town square, Broadway and Central park to walk, which was a lovely bonus.

The staff was friendly and gave us cookies on check-in. The hotel room size was adequate and the bed was a proper king size bed. We heard minimal outside noise despite only being on the 5th floor. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was a good buffet, though a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 247Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

247Annie,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you loved the location of our property and the accommodation extended by the staff. We hope to see you again when you are in the city.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Apart from the normal rip off of having to pay for wifi, at this hotel they charge for extra devices! Complete profiteering! Service at reception surly and elevators for which on several occasions I had to wait in line. One time it took 15 minutes to come down from the 12th. I've stayed here several times but this was the worst experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

David N,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was so disappointing; we want all our guests to have a wonderful experience with us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you so that we can demonstrate our dedication to our customer satisfaction.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The staff was excellent! They made us feel welcome and comfortable, extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge was also great. I did think the rooms were a little too small, but when you are in NYC you do not spend much time in the rooms. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jay A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Jay A M,
I am thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us. Come see us the next time you are in town. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is good for its location and not its service or amenities. Bad WiFi, unpleasant front desk, hallways not very clean. The shower wasn't very clean and the faucet leaked all over the bathroom. Despite NYC pricing, I'm quite sure that you can find a better value in a similar locations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Eric S,
I am sorry to hear that you were not impressed by the service and the amenities offered at the hotel. At the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan, the Little Things Mean Everything to us and we will certainly use your comments as an opportunity to improve the service that we provide for our future guests. Thank you for staying and we hope to see you for future visits so that we deliver the service that you have come to expect and deserve from our brand of hotels.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed for two nights on business. Clean room. Very crowded lobby and crowded elevators. Room faced south and heard minimal city noise (18th floor). Small bathroom. Good midtown east location - just blocks away from Rockefeller Center, Broadway Area, Times Square, Central Park. It is a very average hotel - nothing special, but not dirty or gross. My company travel agent booked it - I probably would not stay here if I was in town for a personal/leisure trip. But it worked for two nights.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms probably have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmk2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Lmk2006,
Thank you for the candid response. It is great to know that the location proved to be suitable for your business needs and that you were not affected by street noise. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can better serve you. Thank you for the feedback.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 471 in New York City
5,038 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#224 of 471 in New York City
4,818 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#158 of 471 in New York City
5,668 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $125 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing