We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room; Staff a bit snobbish; Right by subway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean Room; Staff a bit snobbish; Right by subway”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is right next to the 51st and Lexington subway stop. It was perfect for us. The hotel is clean and appeared to have fully enclosed mattress protectors -- big plus given all the problems hotels have these days. It was relatively quiet. Our room overlooked a police station so there were a few sirens, but it wasn't that bothersome. The staff honored my requests for a higher floor and an extra blanket. It was there when we got to the room. The only negatives were that the staff was a bit snobbish (or it could be that is just NYC), they pushed the Hilton Club too much, and when we went to get the complimentary bottles of water the bartender was put off since we didn't order anything. We stayed Wed - Sat and it was very busy. In all, though, it was decent and we would stay again. Maybe it isn't completely up to the Hilton Honors standard of customer service, but we found most everything in NYC a bit snobby, so we assume it is east coast nature.

Room Tip: We stayed in RM 1122. Decent street view. By a police station, though, so there were sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Heather P,
Thank you for taking the time to your experience with us via TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the overall service you received at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the snobbish attitude you received from the front desk staff during your stay. I have brought this to the attention of Front Office team so that this can be addressed with staff. We appreciate this feedback as we aim to improve the services we provide for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    1,751
    991
    358
    257
See reviews for
1,005
1,459
269
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We like staying at hotels - for their sleeping accommodations, amenities/services, and conveniences. All three aspects were very well delivered during our recent stay at The Double Tree Metropolitan. From December 29 through January 3, we enjoyed staying at this hotel. The winter weather did not interrupt our enjoyment of this property. Why? Because of the home-away-from-home experience that we so fully enjoyed. The staff was professional and efficient. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was convenient, which had added importance given weather conditions at that time. All in all, a great time was experienced by all. Thanks for delivering the DT brand promise!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Property R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Property R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback with us via TripAdvisor. We are very happy that our property felt like your home away from home. I will share your kind comments with the rest of my team. Thank you for granting us the opportunity to cater to your lodging needs and we look forward to future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel was VERY convenient for walking in NY - 4 blocks from Rockafeller Center, 10-15 minute walk from the Theater District. 10-15 minute walk to Central Park. Easy access to the various subway lines too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Michelle F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion us regarding your most recent stay. I am very pleased to know that our location was very convenient for the activities you had planned while you were in the city. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of Jan. apart from the poor wifi I couldn't fault the place as a base, for seeing NYC.
The price was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. The location was good for us. If you are going to New York as a tourist and want to see the city not the 4 walls of your hotel, I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 351Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear 351Tony,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us via TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with the internet connectivity. I do understand your frustration and would like to extend my apologies. I would like to let you know that we have already scheduled a refresh and upgrade this year and are now coordinating with Hilton to get this done as early as possible. We ask for your continued patience while we try to address this issue in order to enhance your experience with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
414 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful but beyond that and the warm cookies at check in this property is not up to the other Doubletree's we have stayed in across the country. The location was OK but just a little short of one mile from Times Square. There was no in room coffee service, the wifi was weak and problematic (maybe it was our room location). Also while there is a bar and a restaurant with breakfast hours there is no other food or beverage service. A hot cup of coffee and dessert would have been nice after returning from a show on a cold night. The front desk apologized we could not get an evening cup of coffee and dessert and directed us to various other locations off the property. The room was clean quiet but small.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WCUcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear WCUcody,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry that we were unable to provide a coffee maker in your room during your stay. I do understand your frustration regarding the internet, and would like to extend my apologies. I would like to let you know that we have actually scheduled a refresh and upgrade this year, and are now coordinating with Hilton to get this done as early as possible. We ask for your continued patience while we try to address this issue in order to enhance your experience with us. I have shared your comments with the rest of my team and we will use them as we continue to improve the services we provide for our guests.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have stayed here many times and it is one of my favorite hotels. First, it is very affordable and the quality is good given the standards for New York. While the hotel is fairly old, the rooms are reasonably sized with good closet space, lighting, and well equipped bathroom. The location is great because it is away from the hussle and bussle of times square and yet central to key places like Rockefeller Plaza, shops on 5th Avenue and Bloomingdale's on Lexington Avenue.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fashionfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Fashionfinds,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for being loyal to our property. We look forward to seeing you for many more visits so that we can cater to your traveling needs.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

when I asked for a cooler temp in my room, hotel personnel opened a window while I was away for 10 hours. When I returned, room temp was 47 and there was 4 inches of snow on the floor by the window. This occurred during the harsh winter storm which hit NYC in early January. No apologies received.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Glenndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Glenndu,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for being loyal to our property. I sincerely apologize that this was your experience with us. We aim to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests and clearly we failed to do so for your most recent stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com so that I can attempt to make it right. We would like another opportunity to cater to your lodging needs so that we can better demonstrate our dedication to customer service.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#180 of 468 in New York City
7,839 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#340 of 468 in New York City
1,822 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 468 in New York City
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing