We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #328 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The building next to the hotel was under renovation and heard nothing but a jack hammer the entire first night. Next night I told the front desk about the noise and was told that they would get security to investigate. WHAT?! Went down again with a recording of the noise and Karen (who was nice) apologized and said they would move me. The next room was not noisy but had a horrible smell coming from the bathroom and the shower was filled with black mold. The floor was being renovated and was a mess. I had to sleep with the window open and the bathroom door closed and a perfumed soaked towel. I guess there were no other rooms available and I wasn't told it was only for one night. So I knew I couldn't stay the next 3 nights so I cancelled my other nights reservations and booked at the Westin. Much better for the same money. I will never stay at a Hilton again. I was a loyal reward member, but now my business will be with Starwood rewards. I have pictures to prove the mold and a video for the noise I was subjected to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ROsie66296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Rosie66296,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your most recent experience with us via TripAdvisor. It is regrettable that your experience with us was not to your expectation of service. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced from the renovation next door. We were unaware that there would be a renovation project as we would have informed our guests of this issue. Thank you for notifying us of your concerns regarding the condition of the bathroom. I would like to take the opportunity to further investigate to prevent a similar event in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com so that we further discuss. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Nadria Buchanan – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,513 - 3,519 of 5,164 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We found this a perfect choice of accommodations for us- convenient to everywhere we wanted to be at a more reasonable price than most hotels in the area. Clean, fresh and contemporary interiors. Friendly, courteous and professional service by Robert Sierra was an extra treat and much appreciated!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Ellen W,
Thank you for choosing our property for your most recent stay and for the allotment of your comment via TripAdvisor. We welcome the feedback and are very ecstatic that you had a fantastic experience with us. It brings great joy to know that Robert was able to contribute to your experience. We hope to have you stay with us for many more future visits.
Nadria Buchanan – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I just stayed there for work and found it a very pleasant experience. At 51st and Lex, close to almost everything and just a block from the subway for the E train into Queens or to the Financial district. Room was small but extremely clean, the bed and pillows were comfy and it was quiet - never heard neighbors talking or anything. Nice sized Flat screen TV that swiveled. There is a 24 hour Duane Reade (drugstore) one block over. Great staff.

I was on the third floor, so no view. I would avoid room service: ok food but overpriced in comparison to other options. Overall, I would stay there again whenever in town.

Room Tip: In speaking to others in the hotel, there doesn't seem to be a bad room. Ask for a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXMamaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear TXMamaLiz,
Thank you for choosing our property for your most recent stay and for sharing your comment via TripAdvisor. We encourage all our guests to share their experience with us so that we are able to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us. We pride in the convenience of our location and are happy it was suitable in your traveling needs. Thank you for your comment regarding room service, I share this with our Food and Beverage team for future consideration. If there was anything else that we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com.
Nadria Buchanan – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Manhattan and the hotel was conveniently located for the us. Near Central Park, the theater districts and Times Square. Door men were very polite and helpful as well as the desk staff. Room was comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Joan C,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate the feedback and are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are happy that you found our location to be convenient to your needs. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you for future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed there twice.
Very nice and well located hotel.
The staff is very caring and the beds are outstanding.
You'll be in a walking distance from central park, times square, moma, rockefeller center, blomingdales and others.
There is also a subway station 10 steps from the entrance and a metro cafe just beside.
I would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Victor D,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback and are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We pride in our convenient location and are very happy that it was suitable to needs. We hope to have another opportunity to cater your future lodging needs.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and is in a good east side location at 51st and Lexington. It's close to Madison Ave, shops. Rooms are clean and comfortable, also quiet. Rates do not rise astronomically during the pre-Christmas season, unlike other New York Hotels. In fact, our rate at check-in was lower than the rate quoted when we made our reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Bahia 123,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us via TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had an amazing experience with us, as we strive to provide our guest with 100% guest satisfaction. We hope to have another opportunity to cater your future lodging needs so that we can further demonstrate our commitment to customer satisfaction.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are looking to stay at one of the best hotel in New York, Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan is the ultimate place to stay. I am going to stay at this hotel every time I will travel to New York. The location of this hotel is the ultimate reason for the huge popularity of this hotel. I was amazed at the views I could enjoy. Another big plus about staying at this hotel is the kind of treatment that you get. The staffs treat you like special guests and they took care of all my needs and made my experience memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Simey J,
Thank you for the amazing feedback via TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found our hotel suiting to your travelling needs. Our staff is dedicated to demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction and I am very happy that we were able to achieve this for your stay. We look forward to many more visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,073 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,075 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,629 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 473 in New York City
8,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $121 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing