We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #328 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have been going to New York City for the past 6 years on business and the hotel where I was staying closed. I must admit that I was upset by its closing but am so happy to say that I am extremely pleased with my entire experience at this Doubletree. I have so far stayed there on four occasions and I intend to continue staying there. The service at the Hotel is attentive, personal and professional. This is surprising for a large hotel. They are so willing to accommodate my needs, whether it is housekeeping services or the front desk staff. I must admit that the breakfast in the Met Grill is the best I have had in any Hilton. The Hotel is meticulously clean. The staff already knows me and personally welcomes me back. I would highly recommend this Doubletree.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony7602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Tony7602013,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. We thank you for staying with us and for your continued business. I am pleased that you found the service you received from our staff to be attentive, personal and professional. I will be sure to share your feedback about the breakfast with our Executive Chef. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to your future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,852)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,256 - 3,262 of 4,852 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Location was perfect and the service was great. We had reservations for 6 rooms under different names and if anyone has traveled with a group you know there's usually a mix up. That concerned immediately disappeared when Franklin at the front desk was aware of all of our parties. Franklin was helpful and knowledgeable of the city. It's not best hotel in the city, but the location and the staff makes this place perfect for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Dino S,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback and are very pleased that Franklin’s attention to detail was able to make your check in process seamless. I am very happy that you had a wonderful experience with us and we hope to see you for many more future visits.
Nadria Buchanan – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here after running in the ING NYC Marathon. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and well kept. The location was phenomenal, just blocks from Times Square, short ride to Central Park, and close to subway stop. The price is comparable to any quality hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bantatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Bantatho,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. We pride in our convenient location and are very thrilled that it was suitable to your travel needs. I hope that we will have another opportunity to cater to your lodging needs. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

location location location!!
This hotel is situated in a great area- many restaurants within walking distance to hotel.
Big plus for being next to subway station. Love the warm "welcome" cookies.
Staff very friendly and welcoming.
Nice bar on the main floor- very busy - good atmosphere!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAC0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear VAC0213,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. It brings us great pleasure to know that our guests share their experience with us and others. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will have another opportunity to cater to your lodging needs.
Nadria Buchanan – Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the first hotel that I have stayed in and felt like a guest and not a customer. The truly take care of you from the time you check-in and check-out. The room was very nice and eventhough the bathroom was a bit too small; their efficiency in many other areas positively enhanced my experience. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jovens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Jovens C,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. This is the kind of experience that we aim to provide for all our guests. It brings us great pride to know that we were able demonstrate our dedication to customer service. Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful recommendation. We look forward to seeing you for many more future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My fiancé and I flew to NY to visit few venues for our wedding in May. We stayed at the Doubletree on Lexington, and the staff made our visit a wonderful experience! We appreciate the attention to details and gracious hospitality! Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Michael D,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us We appreciate the kind feedback and are very pleased that you had an amazing stay with us. We look forward to seeing you for many more future visits.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Doubletree Metropolitan is ideally situated for those relying on public transport in NYC. A stop for the 6 subway is literally steps away, and a block or so up a stop with more options. The hotel itself was fine, if a bit faded. The lobby is modern and busy, if a tad on the small and cramped side for a hotel rated as a 4 star. The desk staff were efficient and helpful, if not exactly friendly. There were 4 elevators, all functioning during my entire 5 day stay - I've recently been to a number of NYC hotels where a lot of time was spent waiting for elevators, so this was a welcome amenity. The halls on the floors with the rooms were a bit drab and off putting - very utilitarian, somewhat banged up, and very dull colors. And there was some construction going on on the floor that I was on. The room was better - comfortable bed, clean, relatively spacious, and reasonably up to date. Things were a bit dated, and again the color palette was pretty drab, but I've really no complaints with the room. You could hear doors bang in the halls, but the noise level wasn't bad at all overall. The bathroom was fine, though the water did back up a bit in the tub when showering. Checkout was smooth and efficient. I stored my bag since my flight didn't leave until later in the day.... they charge $2 per bag to do this, which personally I find pretty ridiculous. Also be aware that there's a (high) fee for WiFi in the rooms, though there is free access in the lobby.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a bit less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Ofamof,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you were happy with the overall accommodations provided and the location of our hotel. Thank you for highlighting areas of improvement; I would like to take this opportunity to address some of your concerns. As it relates to the appearance of our hallways, I just wanted you to know we have begun a project to renovate our corridors to enhance the appearance. I apologize that you were dissatisfied with the cost associated with luggage storage. Our policies/procedures are consistent with many hotels within New York City. As we periodically review our policies & procedures to ensure our guests are getting the best experience, we value your feedback and will take it into consideration. If there was anything else that we could have done to make your stay a more enjoyable one, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at nbuchanan@dtnewyork.com .
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 468 in New York City
8,062 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,493 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $147 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing