We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #320 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel room was clean, and the hotel quiet. The staff was helpful and nice. The location is great, next to 2 subway stations and close to many sights. We walked to the theater from our hotel on Saturday night.
Before you go, you should know that no breakfast is included with your stay, but there are many restaurants close to the hotel so it is not an issue. But I admit it, I missed the usual coffe maker we often find in hotel rooms.
We loved the look of the room with this little vintage touch in the furnitures. Check-in and check-out were efficient. The hotel also feature a nice bar to relax at the end of the day.

Room Tip: If you want a great view ask for it because many windows actually face the building next door, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Mianne76,
Thank you for sharing your most recent at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our location was suitable to your needs for this visit. I just wanted to inform you that while breakfast was not included in your stay, we do offer packages with breakfast included. Thank you for the feedback!
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    1,673
    927
    332
    228
See reviews for
937
1,376
250
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

this is my 3rd stay here. ill be back for a 4th stay. clean rooms. and perfect location. decent room rates. personnel is good. nothing terrible to report. good restaurants abound. tourist stuff galore. subway on corner

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Jay W,
We appreciate your comments and are very proud that our guests share their pleasurable experiences with others. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to your next stay. Thanks for the feedback!
Warm regards,
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were tricked by Hilton Vacation to do this trip and were promised a stay in a new 57th Hilton Hotel with no blackout dates. Instead we got this Doubletree hotel with a small room that had 2 Queens but with two grown up kids it was stressful, instead of a vacation. Also there was no coffee maker, a very smal bathroom, and a nice view to a noisy AC-system. I definitely would recommend this hotel only to my worst enemies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Andreas S,
Thank you for sharing your most recent at the DTMET with us. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to improve the service we provide for future guests. Thank you for notifying us of your concern and I apologize that this was your experience. I am sorry that we were unable to provide a coffee maker in the room for you. I am aware that one of our MOD had addressed the above mentioned issues with you. I do hope that you were happy with the resolution. Thank you again for the feedback.

Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is a very good hotel in a very good location. But it's also an excellent value. It location exceeds it's price-point by $50-$100 per night. The rooms are small, but no uncomfortably so. They are well appointed and up-to-date. House keeping was reliable and efficient. The hotel is also located essentially on top of the 6 train and one stop from Grand Central; making travel convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Owen B,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback and are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to seeing you for many more stays.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

As part of a package to listen to a timeshare presentation, we were put up at this hotel for 4 nights for a price of USD585. Location is excellent, with its close proximity to a subway station and also the ability to walk to most places within the city. Check-in and check-out were efficient and our room was ready at 1230pm, before the official check-in time. The warm chocolate cookie was a nice touch, although I am not sure why they only provided complimentary water (and you needed a voucher for that) on the first day. Even the New Yorker which we stayed in the last time provided complimentary bottles of water every day of our stay. The room itself was very small, with a queen bed (husband insists it was smaller than a queen) and basic amenities by Crabtree & Evelyn. I will say of the bed that despite the size, it was extremely comfortable and provided us with 4 good nights of sleep! Noise from the corridor filtered in readily so the walls must have been quite thin, although we are used to noise and were not overly bothered by this. As we are Hilton Gold members, breakfast was complimentary and the spread was simple but adequate, comprising bread rolls, cereals, juices, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit and yoghurt. The breakfast area was small but on the one day that we had breakfast at the hotel, it was not crowded and you did not get a feeling of being rushed about, which can happen in other hotels with similar-sized breakfast rooms. Internet access in the room was complimentary for Hilton Gold members but the connection was intermittent; one can only hope that guests who paid for the same access fared better in terms of connectivity! We were surprised that they charged US$6 to hold our luggage after checkout - it was the first time we had encountered this in a Hilton brand hotel and hope it will be the last. For the price we paid, we cannot complain about the hotel but it will not be our top choice the next time we are in New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertrande80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Bertrande80,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback as we continually look for ways to improve our guest services. Please accept my apologies for the internet connectivity. I would like to let you know that we have actually already scheduled a refresh and upgrade in 2014, and are now coordinating with Hilton to get this done as early as possible. As it relates to the storage fee for the luggage, we apologize that you were dissatisfied with the with the cost associated. Our policies/procedures are consistent with many hotels within New York City. As we periodically review our policies & procedures to ensure our guests are getting the best experience, we value your feedback and will take it into consideration. Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan hotel.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our week in New York and hotel accommodation couldn't have been more perfect. Hotel location was great for walking to all the sights (take good shoes!). Staff were helpful and courteous. Big thanks to Stephanie and Heaven (front desk manager) and who rectified a reservation glitch prior to our arrival. Hotel was quiet (we faced south), were on the 17th floor (#1713) and the room was a good size and had a very comfortable bed. The warm, yes warm, cookies are to die for! Tried not to indulge too often, they were 310 calories each - yummm! Good thing we did lots of walking!!!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor facing south and they will accommodate you if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Marilyn B,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us via TripAdvisor. I will be sure to express your gratitude to Stephanie and Heaven for their assistance with your reservation. I would like to thank you on their behalf for your kind words. It is an absolute pleasure to know that your stay was perfect! This is the kind of experience we want all our guests to have with us. We hope we will be granted another opportunity to cater to your future lodging needs. Thank you for staying with us.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stay at your hotel often and it always pleases me when I see Karen at the front desk. She is always so friendly and helpful in getting me checked in quickly and assisting me on any of my business needs. She has an amazing memory and always remembers my name, my wife's name and my children. No matter how exhausted I am checking in late after a long day of meetings, I always walk away from the front desk with a smile on my face. It is because of Karen's outstanding service that I choose to stay at your hotel vs. the Waldorf, just down the street. If you had a Karen at every desk your hotel would be sold out every night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Jeff O,
Thank you for the amazing feedback on TripAdvisor regarding the services rendered by Karen! I have shared your feedback with Karen and she expresses her gratitude for your kind comments. We are very pleased that she makes you feel welcome and puts a smile on your face each time you visit. We look forward to catering to your future lodging needs and thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan.
Nadria Buchanan- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#324 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing