We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, if a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #327 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice room, if a little noisy”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

One of the largest rooms in all the hotels I've stayed in around midtown/ Times Square, albeit at the expense of a quite small bathroom. The noise from the road (Lexington Ave) was quite loud, and this seems consistent with other reviews.

The gym is very large for a Manhattan hotel, with several machines and free weights.

The downstairs bar suits everyone from groups to individual business travellers.

Would I stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear BradboxUK,

We are happy that you gave us an opportunity to "WOW" you despite some unflattering reviews! We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great stays. At the Doubletree Metropolitan, guests' satisfaction is our goal. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    1,721
    969
    350
    250
See reviews for
980
1,430
264
1,113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the DoubleTree Metropolitan during a weekend trip to NYC courtesy of LivingSocial. The room was small, but very clean and it was fairly quiet during our stay. I liked the location of the hotel because it was away from the business of Times Square, but still close enough to the theater and restaurants as well as Rockefeller Center and Central Park. Also, there are a lot of nice little restaurants and cafes around this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursenikki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Nursenikki80,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review about our hotel. We pride in our hotel's location and service that we provide. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. We look forward to having you again so that you can let us know how we are doing.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As a first time visitor to New York I can say that you really can't beat the location of this hotel if your goal is to see a lot of tourist stuff (times square, central park, 5th avenue, Rockefeller center, etc...). It is an easy walk to these attractions. You are also super close to a subway line that will get you anywhere else you need to go. The hotel itself is fine. I don't have other NY hotels to compare it to, but the staff were helpful, the room was a decent size, and everything was clean. The only thing I really noticed sort of negative wise is that you can really hear the doors of other rooms closing. Not really that big of a deal. I cannot complain about lack of a coffee maker as it really wasn't a big deal to run next door to cafe metro to grab a cup. I mean really - I've never found hotel coffee to be great anyway. Also for all the people worried about no free internet... Uh remember when you used to go on vacation and not even think about internet because it didn't exist and everything generally turned out ok... things are still ok with no free access to internet..you can survive without it for a few days- You are in New York for goodness sakes, get out and look around a bit. facebook, yelp, email, amazon, etc.. will still be there for you when you get back. For people that may actually need internet (business folks,, etc) for work purposes - there are a ton of places with free WiFi close to here. Price wise, we got a good deal on priceline and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Also to note in response to others comments - Yes, they will charge you a small fee to hold your bags and while many hotels will not charge a fee, I have run across this practice in other parts of the country /world (Florida, Chicago, and Dublin to name a few). So in short, this is a good place to stay that doesn't cost a fortune with an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear hulagirl98,

Thank you for taking the time to write your honest opinion about our hotel and highlighting the positives. I am elated that you were pleased with the helpfulness of our staff and also our convenient location. We expect to see you soon so you can keep others updated on how we are doing.

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!!

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2013

For guests who want to stay at the Double Tree New York, please be reminded that the hotel charges you for the luggage storage service. To deposit your luggage, one dollar for one bag per one day. And another one dollar for one bag per one day when you retrieve your belongings. What an impressive welcome. I had a separate booking for stay at this hotel as I had to be out of town. I ended up paying my price of leaving my suitcases with them (as a returning guest).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. Your comments are appreciated and duly noted. I just wanted to let you know that the baggage fee is charged to each guest wishing to store their luggage with the hotel ( be it a first time or a returning guest). I must apologize for your dissatisfaction with this procedure, however, this is a decision currently under management review. Thanks for your patience while we address this issue.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a 5-night break through British Airways with a mini-bus transfer to and from JFK. Everything went smoothly. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room sizes were adequate and the hotel was at most a 30-minute walk away from Times Square. We enjoy walking so to us a host of the major attractions were just a stroll away (Chrysler Building, Empire State Building, Rockefella Centre, Grand Central Station, Central Park etc etc). The concierge service was top-notch. We were on the 5th floor and the free wi-fi in the lobby still worked, We never ate in the hotel not for any negative reason but because part of the fun is seeking out local diners. There is a self-service Cafe Metro literally next door but our favourite was the Blooms on the junction of 40th Avenue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilboandSmaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BilboandSmaug,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a wonderful review on our hotel. We love the positive feedback and do look forward to have you stay with us next time you are in the Big Apple!!
Thanks for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!

Regards,

Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel has not chic but excellent location. Lexington close to the #6 train. It is part of Hilton and my room was very cheap by ny standards, close to $200 per night. Room size is good, beds very comfy, decor is decent. The hotel is a bit noisy in that when the door next room over closes, you feel it in your room. There seems to be a lot of package deal tourists in here too. And they do nickel and dime you for wifi which I am not a fan of. There are good places to eat within walking distance however and you are close to midtown central, especially the Relais de Venise, a great French prix fix steakhouse. In terms of price compared to Omni Berkshire Place, Shoreham 2 other hotels I stay at, this one is definitely cheaper so you can spend the $50 less per day on food or being a tourist. Depending on price, I would stay here again as it is good value for a multi-day stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevators so you dont hear so much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kimparklee,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback . I can see that you were pleased with the overall stay at our hotel and for this we are pleased.It is our aim to provide our guest with 100% guest satisfaction. As it relates to the internet fee , we do offer complimentary access in the lobby for guest use.

We hope to see you again so you can let us know how we are doing!

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I spent two nights at the Doubletree Metropolitan and was very pleased with my experience. I must say I was a bit apprehensive about staying at this hotel, based on some of the reviews I have read, but chose it because of the location and the relative low cost of a room compared to other Hilton chain properties in Manhattan (including Hampton Inns). I need not have worried. I was quite pleased.

I was in Room 1529. While I would not call the room large, it was plenty spacious for two double beds. It was easy to walk around in the room and plenty of floor space between each bed and the wall. Desk and counter space was a bit tight, but efficiently laid out. The room decor was certainly not traditional hotel room decor, but it was nicely done and added character to the room. The room was very clean. On a cloudy day, the room will be a bit dark inside even in midday. The sheer curtains being pulled probably made it a bit darker. On the other hand, with the blackout curtains pulled, daylight is not likely to waken you. However, for those looking for bright and airy hotel rooms, the rooms in this hotel may not be your best choice.

The bathroom in the room was small. There was adequate counter space, but for those looking for a large bathroom and lots of counter space, you may want to look elsewhere.

My laptop has been recently having wi-fi issues and I ended up spending 35 minutes on the phone with the manufacturer after the trip, but I experienced a lot of dropped connections while in the hotel, and occasional slow speeds. My laptop showed numerous wi-fi networks in range when I tried to connect. And, let's be frank, Hilton's system of logging onto internet access is a bit painful at times. To be honest, I think some of the problems I was experiencing were the result of my laptop, not the hotel wi-fi system. However, the heavy usage of internet access and from what I could tell, the lack of a wired connection option in the room are something to be aware of if you are planning critical internet usage during your stay.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the seating area appeared sufficient at 8:45 on a Monday morning. The process used to comp Hilton Gold and Diamond members was very efficient both for the guest and the hotel. Would hold it up as a best practice. The greeter took your room number and gave you a voucher to give to the waiter with your room number and the reason for your complementary breakfast circled on the voucher (which they could determine from their guest list).

As other reviewers have noted, I think this hotel has a great location. Good access to subways. Plenty of places to eat nearby, a Barnes & Noble three blocks away, and a Duane Reade (Walgreen's) across the street. Rockefeller Center, Grand Central and Central Park are all within a 15-20 minute walk.

I think the real test of any review is would the guest return to the location. As it turns out, I am heading back to New York City four weeks after my initial stay at this hotel. I booked my return stay at the Doubletree Metropolitan today.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face away from 51st Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear jbtexas,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback on our rooms comfort , location and amenities. It is wonderful that you had an enjoyable stay with us as our guest satisfaction is of utmost importance. I will be sure to report your internet connectivity issues with our IT department. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you for choosing he DOubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experince Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#357 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,748 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#318 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing