We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #320 of 467 Hotels in New York City
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I chose this hotel primarily for the location. Was totally thrilled with every aspect of our stay. Contacted the hotel to request a quiet room and that I was bringing my daughter to NYC for an 18th birthday treat. On arrival we had been upgraded to a two bed room and a beautiful dessert was waiting in the room for my daughter. This coupled with the warm cookies and friendly, efficient check-in was a fantastic start to our our week.

The room was a good size, beds wonderfully comfortable, excellent quality linens, beautiful Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries in the spotless bathroom, large, fluffy towels. As we were on a high floor -19th, we were not disturbed by street noise and had a very restful sleep each night after a busy day sightseeing.

We ate breakfast most mornings at the Oxford Cafe (turn right out the hotel walk 1 block). Very good food reasonably priced. As mentioned before by others the location is great. Right by the subway, short walk to 5th Ave, Rockerfeller Plaza, Times Square.

In summary, an excellent hotel with friendly staff and great location.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonReadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear LondonReadytogo,

Thank you taking the time out to write such a wonderful review about our hotel highlighting all the positive our hotel has to offer. It brings us so much pleasure to know that we were able to deliver such a wonderful experience to our guest. We do hope that you will consider our property for any future visits within our area.

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan!


Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    1,673
    927
    332
    228
See reviews for
937
1,376
250
1,079
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable with a great location, near the green line, a short walk from Grand Central and across the street from Starbucks and a pharmacy. Our room was quite large and very quiet (19th floor) so that after a long day of running around in the city it was indeed nice to be able to relax in the room (although as a previous review noted, the doors do slam loudly).
We were a bit disapointed that we could not check in early since our international flight of 11 hours got us into NY at 7 am but we could not get our room until 3 pm.The service was very good and each time that i called down to housekeeping for something, it was brought to us within 5-10 minutes. i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear julie070,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts about the our property. It brings us such satisfaction to know that you truly had a wonderful experience throughout your entire stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with my team .
I do apologize that we were unable to accommodate you with an early check in. Our guaranteed check in time is 3pm, an earlier check in is only offered as a courtesy if the room is available.

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel, we look forward to having you stay with us again!!!

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when in town for a wedding. It was close to everything we wanted to do, but far enough from the times square crowds. The light blocking shades were amazing, the beds comfy, the bathrooms clean and the price reasonable. There's even a metro stop super close by.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bull_City_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Manwald,

Thank you for the choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan ! We appreciate the great feedback and are truly elated that you had a great experience with us. It is our goal to provide all our guest with 100% guest satisfaction. We do hope that you consider our property for any upcoming trips within our area.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location with lots of shopping & eating. Right next door is a coffee shop, pharmacy, and subway stations. Staff were helpful. One negative thing - they charge for holding luggage upon check-out. I have never had a hotel do this before. However the bellman was awesome and told me that he wouldn't charge me since it was just for about 10 minutes. Also - the conceirge was a fill-in on one night and therefore she didn't know the area and had to google search restaurants. But the bellman were helpful! They suggested a great nearby pub, called PJ Clarks and it was exactly what we were looking for! Great fish & chips there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank kbaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear kbaker1,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. We take pride in our location and our warm and friendly staff. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team members.
As it relates to the luggae fee, this is a management decision currently under review and I will be sure to bring this to the attention of all parties involved.
Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

On my second stay at this hotel at 51st and Lexington, the staff proved just as gracious as the first time in February. The beds are extraordinarily comfortable and the rooms well-appointed. I love the location and the proximity to Penn Station (via the E subway line). I would have made this a five star rating, but the breakfast I had in the little restaurant to the rear of the ground floor was overpriced and ordinary.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Peterhb,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your kind thoughts about our property. We are pleased that you find our service to be consistent and that you gave us a second opportunity to "WOW" you. At the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan, our guest are our first priority and we strive to demonstrate this through exception guest service. As it relates to breakfast quality and the price , I will be sure to relay your comments to our Execuitve Chef.
We do look forward to having you with us for future visits.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I live in upstate New York and frequently visit 'the city'. For the first time we booked using Hotwire. Good discount for a last minute decision. Check in was really swift and we were given a room on the 9th floor. So far so good. The room was right next to the elevator shaft and the noise was significant. I was left wondering if we had been given this room because we had a discounted rate.

The room was surprisingly not too small for NYC with a desk and a easy chair, oh and a safe. The only feature missing was a coffee machine. The room could have done with a good vacuuming.

There are options for food (expensive), a bar and the usual concierge services, none of which we used. There are loads of options for eating breakfast in the immediate vicinity. One is right next door.

Check out was seamless.

The hotel is only meters away from the 51st subway. It is very convenient for anyone wanting to be in the mid west side of town.

Room Tip: In the city a higher floor is always good (to get away form traffioc noise) and ask not to be placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Noel S,

Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan for your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time out to give us your feedback. We pride in our location as we are in close proximity to prime landmarks . As it relates to your room being vacuumed , I will be sure to pass that on to the housekeeping department for their attention to details.

We do hope that you will consider our property for any future visits to the city.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I read the reviews and was wary of this stay. However, it was not that bad! I acknowledge that most of the things people provided as feedback are true. Air and heat is centrally controlled so it was an inconvenience. When our room got to cold, I called the front desk and they responded promptly. Jenny even followed up twice to make sure we'd received the space heater and the room was comfortable. The wallpaper is peeling, the doors do slam...hard. There was ALWAYS a cleaning cart on the floor but I had no issues with that because I never had to call downstairs and wait for washcloths or towels. The halls were indeed narrow and low lit. I didn't have a problem with the lighting in the room. HOWEVER, I honestly can not complain about the stay for the price we paid and would stay again for the same price. I booked via hotwire and will never use them again but I digress. After the hotel name was revealed, I immediately came to tripadvisor and was not looking forward to the stay. It was not bad. My family and I arrived early and Vicki checked us in at the front desk. She was able to get us checked in with no issues. Pleasant encounter there. We had high floors and one of our rooms had a very clear view of the Chrysler Building. Both rooms were pretty spacious by NYC standards. The room was clean and the hotel had evening turn down service. There was no coffee pot, refrigerator or microwave but I personally do not come to NYC looking for those things. The hotel staff was not extremely helpful but again, not something I come to NYC looking for. They were also not rude. The hotel had a airport kiosk where we were able to check in for flights at no charge. We did not use the room service, bar, internet, baggage storage so no big complaints. We were able to walk out of the hotel and take 4,5,6 just outside the door. Starbucks and Oxfords Cafe just a minute walk for coffee and food. If the hotel offered the hotwire price (even if only to honors members) I would definitely stay again. If I paid the advertised rates (or even the discounted advertised rates) probably not because all of those other things would matter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kndrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadria B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear kndrain,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our property. We are happy that inspite of some of the unflattering reviews you decided to give us a chance to serve you. I am pleased that you were happy with your check in experience with Vicki ,and that you were happy with your room. We do hope that you will consider our property for any future visits.

Regards,
Nadria Buchanan
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#324 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#304 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing