We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation restored”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #327 of 467 Hotels in New York City
The Americas
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Reputation restored”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ever since I was a kid I have frequented this centrally located New York hotel. First it was the Summit Hotel, then the Loews Summit, then the Loews New York, then the Metropolitan and finally the Doubletree Metropolitan. Last time around however I had the worse experience staying during renovations. That time, my review was so bad, that Trip Advisor asked me to confirm it. I decided to give the hotel a chance. I booked at an excellent rate compared to similar properties and got more than I expected. The newly renovated room is very practical and well designed. The hotel is built around the Manhattan theme. The elevator music is a bit loud though. They are very generous to Hilton Honors Gold Members and offer a full american breakfast buffet. The servers have all worked for many years in the property and are very nice. The front desk is well tended and they give out cookies, yes, a lot of delicious cookies. There is courtesy internet in the public areas. The lobby is a bit too dark for my liking. After hours a security guard stands by the elevator and that certainly makes me feel safer. As NYC is an overpriced city, the Doubletree Metropolitan is probably one of the best deals in town. Its location is outstanding and the new renovated facilities make it well worth staying there. The gym equipment needs a little bit of work Congratulations on turning around this property!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the Lexington Avenue Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Viajero ESQ.,

Thank you for sharing your experience. This is a wonderfull story to hear that you visited this location as a child and now again as an adult. It was a very trying period here at the Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan during renovations. We are happy to hear you gave us another opportunity to turn things around. Gold and Diamond members can enjoy full American Breakfast, we look forward to many more future visits! Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,800
    1,023
    367
    264
See reviews for
1,052
1,502
274
1,160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were very happy with our stay at the Doubletree, and pleasantly surprised with the hotel! We got a room on one of the upper floors facing and apartment building. Certainly not the best view, but it was the quietest night we've spent in a hotel in NYC (would rather have no view than have to wear earplugs to sleep!). The room was a very nice size and clean. The queen bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was modern and a very good size as well. The location can't be beat!! We had a couple of drinks at the lobby bar and the bartender was really attentive. All the staff was really friendly and helpful. And I love the cookies!!! We've stayed at several hotels in NYC and we agree that for the price this is a great option, based on room size, comfort, and location. I don't mind not having a coffee maker in the room since there are so many good (and cheap) options nearby, and let's face it, hotel coffee is not the best. Please do re-think charging to store the bags, I have not encounter this in any other hotels. Will definitely not hesitate to book here again!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Maria C.,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Your lovely comments are greatly appreciated! There is currently a fee for storing luggage, this is a Management decision that is currently under review. We look forward to many more future visits. Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just returned from three nights in NYC. The first couple of days were quite warm and our room on the third floor overlooking generators and equipment was very hot and stuffy. I couldn't figure out why the AC wasn't working so I called the front desk. It was explained that the whole building ac unit wasn't turned on b/c of the outside temperature and I could open a window. That did cool off the room, but I could only keep it open for a few min b/c of the annoying noise from equipment. The staff was nice and brought up a fan, but really, no AC? I"ve never heard of not having adjustable thermostats in every room. Like other reviewers, I missed the coffeemaker too. Upon checkout, we asked to store our luggage and we were told it would be a four dollar fee--two at the drop off and two at the pickup. That left a bad taste in my mouth, so to speak. It costs the hotel nothing to store luggage for customers who spent $$$ at their hotel. Consequently, we asked for a late checkout and got 12:45 and after further begging, got 1:00. Wouldn't it be more time efficient to their cleaning staff to have the room empty in the am and store our bags? Speaking of cleaning, housekeeping knocked on our door at 7:45 on a Saturday morning to clean the room. That's absurd. I gave this hotel a four instead of a three but really felt it was somewhere in between.
The location was great and the price was decent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Caoh,

Thank you for taking the time and consideration of sharing your experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback.Please accept my apologies for any inconvinience you may have experienced. Housekeeping should never knock on any door before 9am. Also, please be informed that we offer complimentary late check out to all of our guests until 1pm. I will be sure to share your comments to the rest of the team for follow up. Unfortunately, there is a storage fee for luggage. $1.00 to store and $1.00 to pick up per piece, this is a Management decision that is currently under review. Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location and because we are trying to accrue Hilton Honors points. I found it very pleasant, friendly and comfortable. Location GREAT - midtown and right next to the Lexington Avenue subway line. Room was usual size, bed comfortable, plenty of pillows, good hot water. My husband found the lounge area tacky but I didn't mind. Less street noise that I would have guessed (could not hear traffic at all, just sirens). Wished for an in-room coffee maker in the mornings and a mini-refrigerator. Otherwise perfect for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Suzannah1234,

Thank you for your feedback! We greatly appreciate your comments, fortunally we are centrally located. We are walking distance from 5th Ave. and Subway just outside from the hotel. We look forward to many more visits! Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree Metropolitan for 2 nights (midweek) whilst in NY on business trip. I didn't make the booking myself, but I'd read the reviews here and it all looked good - it was! The hotel is situated next door to the 51st subway, so getting downtown is not a hassle. It is close to Central Park, Times Sq and Grand Central Station. The room was very clean, the bed perhaps a little soft for my taste but sheets were brilliant white and spotless. As other reviewers have noted, the bathroom is tiny, but functional (& the shower had great water pressure). My only complaint is the lack of a kettle and coffee making facility in the bedroom - I cannot understand the managements logic for not providing this and every guest I spoke to grumbled about it. That said, the coffee shop next door to the hotel is excellent.
The cost of wifi in the bedroom is expensive, but guests can log in for free downstairs and in the next door coffee shop.
Staff were courteous and tried hard to please. I'd stay here again without question.

Room Tip: higher = quieter but also there are lower rooms that dont face the street which are very quiet (no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adm613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Adm 613,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you would return for another visit! You can enjoy coffee at the cafe just next door to us, which is open from 6am. You can also enjoy coffee from our Met Grill, or Room Service open from 6:30am-11am. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I learned that you really get what you pay for, when i stayed here. I chose this place because of the affordable price in the NYC area and I had good experience with the brand before...

Pros - 1. Reasonable price for this area, one of the more low price option
2. Business center - Offered free print outs, copies etc.

Cons 1. Small rooms with small bed (Very European)
2. No coffee machine or tea. (Come on double tree)
3. They didn't give me my free COOKIE. I come to double tree for cookie!!!! Sorry, not cool.
4. Internet - $15 for basic and $17 for primier for a day!
5. Bag storage in concierage - $1 to store and $1 to pick up
6. No free breakfast, in fact really expensive breakfast. Bowl of oatmeal with raisins and sugar for $8 and $3 for delivery. The most expensive oatmeal that I have ever had! I went out for coffee!!! Really people.I think if you sneeze here you will be charged for something else.

Finally, I forgot my passport in the printer and went out side and realized it. Called the hotel back to ask them to keep it in reception. The answering person always told me that they will transfer me to front desk manager and then never did. I was transferred and it got to the same beginning loop and never connected me.I called 5 times, got tired of it. Took a taxi back and was relieved it to find it in printer. Phew...

I wasn't really impressed with their friendliness either.

Neutral point - I asked for late check out (12pm - normal time) and they were willing to push me to 1pm. (Good) but usually hotels have been nice enough to push it to 2pm so i wasn't too thrilled. They didn't say no at least? I probably won't stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simple-Miracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Simple-Miracle,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please accept my apologies for any inconvinience you may have experienced. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the rest of the team. Our guests are always welcomed to our warm delicious cookies upon arrival or at any time they desire. I do hope you change your mind on returning back for future visits. Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

long island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Got this room for a great price through groupon... we were very presently surprised with the friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. Great location- right near St. Pat's and Rockefeller Center, close to 5th ave shops, a great selection of restaurants 2 blocks away between 2nd and 3rd avenues (recommended by a very nice front desk clerk). Doormen were very gracious about storing our bags (minimal $2 charge) when we checked in well ahead of check in time (free cookies at check-in!). Went to a show- about a mile to Broadway, we chose to walk but you could also grab a cab. Room was on the small side but very comfortable and not tiny; queen size bed looked and felt more like a full but that seems to be the standard in NYC. Quiet- a bit of hallway noise during the day but no disturbances at night. Front desk hooked us up with a late check-out (Yay!). If you are not in need of fancy accommodations, then this is a great choice. Would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STTandPMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitzieS_13, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear STT and PMZ,

Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to many more visits. Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Metropolitan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 467 in New York City
7,976 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#321 of 467 in New York City
8,694 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#346 of 467 in New York City
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing