We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs modernizing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Needs modernizing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just back from NYC had a great stay, apparently this hotel has had a major re furb???? It's ok but I would say its more like 3 star not 4. Staff friendly and helpful, bar expensive as expected 8 dollars for a pint!!! Ideally situated right on the heart of Manhatten, lovely cafe serving very fresh food right on the doorstep

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad to see you had a great stay! We just had a renovation of all of our guest rooms in the Winter of 2012. We are in the process of updating other aspects of the hotel over the course of the next year.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,700
    950
    340
    239
See reviews for
968
1,400
255
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I am a Diamond member of the HHonors program and just had a
great stay with the help of Taryn Conto, front desk associate. She
greeted me with a sincere smile, helped me to get my reservation
corrected, was double booked, and upgraded my room. She went
beyond by calling to ask if I needed any additional services or late
check out. She is a great asset to this property. One of the many
reasons I continue to book with the Hilton chain. Job Well Done.

sm nyc

Room Tip: try to book a jr. suite with balcony (if avail)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank west10019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I am so glad that you had such a great check in experience with Taryn!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband took me to New York (my favorite city in the world), for my birthday trip in January. Upon checking in when my husband told the manager, Mitzie, that it was my birthday, we were given a king junior suite on the 19th floor. She also said that she would send up a bottle of wine to celebrate the occasion. Not only was a bottle of wine sent to our room, but we received a really beautiful tray of assorted cheeses, fruits, and nuts. It was a really nice way to begin our trip!

The suite was lovely. It looked like it had been recently remodeled in a modern, contemporary decor. It had a large, living area with a huge flat-screen t.v. and the most comfortable king bed which had another large flat-screen t.v. It was so hard getting out of bed each morning. We were so spoiled!

Some of the highlights of our trip were going to an off broadway show, Forever Dusty, a play based on the life of the late singer, Dusty Springfield. We also had tickets for the Dr. Oz and Live with Kelly and Michael shows. That was fun.

We had some wonderful meals in NY. The Oyster Bar at Grand Central Terminal was great and probably the nicest (and most expensive meal) was The Fig and Olive Restaurant- wonderful! We also enjoyed some drinks and appetizers at the R Lounge, a bar in the Renaissance Hotel which has amazing views of Times Square.

We had a wonderful surprise on this trip. It snowed our first night there. Walking in New York City with the snow coming down was just magical.

I love this city so much. Already planning my next trip and we will definitely stay at the Doubletree Metropolitan!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regisyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for an amazing review! I am so glad to see you had an incredible birthday in NYC!

We cannot wait to see you again on your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel I was greeted by very friendly staff. I purchased my reservation through groupon and despite not going directly through the hotel or being an HHonors member they were very nice and helpful. The room was very nice, decent size for a hotel room in NYC, and clean. I would have liked if they had vending machines on each floor of the hotel so that when I wanted a bottle of water or snack I didn't have to go all the way down to the lobby gift store. The service at the hotel bar was SEVERELY lacking!!! There were only a few other patrons in the bar when I sat down at one of the tables. While I sat there (about 15 minutes), the places started to fill up as it was early evening. Five other groups of people who arrived after myself were served before my order was even taken. I wouldn't have bothered staying but I received a free drink coupon upon checking in and I wasn't going to let the bad service take that away from me. Had the gentleman serving the tables at least acknowledged that I was there my experience may have been different, as it was, he didn't seem to even notice i was there until I waved him over. As with any hotel stay, I appreciate getting a copy of my bill under my door so that I have the option to use the "speedy" check out process. However, when someone launches the bill under my door at 4am sending it flying halfway across the room and waking me up thinking there is someone/thing in my room, I am NOT appreciative at all. I see there is another review that complains about noise, my floor was fairly quiet (minus the usual traffic noise), except for housekeeping. They worked most of the day starting early in the morning and made no effort to be quiet about it. At one point I stuck my head out the door because there was someone cleaning the room next to mine and shouting a conversation with another person cleaning a room 5 doors down. I thought this was uncalled for and extremely unprofessional. Upon checking out we decided to leave our bags at the hotel for a couple hours until we had to leave for the airport. While standing at the counter assuring my bill was taken care of the bellhop POUNCED on us to take our bags, then informed us afterward that there is a charge of $1 per bag. Not expensive but I've never had a hotel charge to hold my bag for me for a couple hours. When we returned to retrieve our bags we were informed that it was going to cost us ANOTHER $1 to get them out. Needless to say, there was no tipping after that. Overall, the room was great but the staff ruined the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize to see that you had service issues during your stay. I will be sure to pass these comments along to the appropriate department heads so they can follow up with their staff. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay and I regret to see that yours was anything but.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you visit NYC in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We got a room for $140 - not sure what the standard rate is. This was the very best sub $250 NYC hotel we have stayed in. The location is good (a bit far for theater but we took subway.) The room was comfortable and clean! The hotel is in good shape and kept up. Had a glass of wine at the bar and was given a generous pour. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again on your future visits to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when it was the Loew's, probably 15 years ago. I thought it was convenient and well run then, and it continues to be so. It is next door to a subway stop and has a great little coffee shop/bakery immediately next door.
The rooms are clean, modern, and the linens are a cut abovce the average. Surprisingly, for such a busy hotel, the elevators a quick, with no waiting. The staff is friendly and helpful at all times.
I do wish that one wouldn't get nickle and dimed on wifi though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I am so glad to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am not sure why this hotel gets good reviews. I've stayed in many of the hotels in the same area (Westin, Marriott, InterContinental) and this has got to be one of the worst. It's not the location, but the service, rooms, and general attitude of the place. Location wise it is fantastic as others noted. Close to a number of attractions, the subway, and great food options.

As a HHonors Gold, I expected to be treated reasonably well when checking in on an off night. I arrive at the HHonors desk and the chap checking me in says "oh you are here with xxx who is paying for the room". I acknowledged this and then gave my HHonors card. He looked at it and handed it back. No further conversation, no thanking me for being a member, nothing.... I headed to the room which was clearly not an upgraded room on the 4th floor. The door didn't close properly and I could hear an entire conversation being held down the corridor. The TV in the room was nice, but wouldn't turn on. The tiny bathroom barely had a place for me to put a toiletry bag.

Now this is NYC, so there is always quite a bit of street noise. This room was no different, but coupled with the very loud corridor noise, it was almost unbearable. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the pillows worse. The next day housekeeping never bothered to even clean the room! I had to call the front desk who claimed that they couldn't get into the room to clean it. Really? I was gone all day!

In the evening I went to the bar and ordered a drink. The clearly not very busy bartender looked at me and said, I'll call you when I am ready to take your order. He proceeded to chat with two customers sitting at the bar and never called me. It was only when I went over and asked if he now had time to make my drink that I finally got something. Pathetic.

I'm writing this review before even checking out, but I suspect service and attitude won't get any better. If it does, I will certainly update this review.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room as it appears the base level rooms are awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience while staying with us. I am so sorry to hear that you have experienced these inconveniences during your stay. I can assure you that this is not the type of experience we want our guests to have.

I will be passing these comments onto the appropriate departments for further action. We want all of our guests to have a great experience and we welcome these comments that will help us succeed. We hope you will consider staying with us again soon on your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,682 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#310 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing