We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goldenoldieswelcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 468 Hotels in New York City
lancs uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“goldenoldieswelcome”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My sister and I are frequent visitors to this hotel and are never dissapointed good location quiet and very caring staff..We were in the middle of a very bad snow storm so the housekeeping staff were down in numbers to make the rooms up bur we were offered extra towels etc from the reception. On leaving we got a reduction on our room rate and extra cookies for our journey home We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: choose east side rooms as the west side overlooks the fire departement and the police station
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your great stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    1,750
    988
    358
    257
See reviews for
1,004
1,456
268
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I got a great rate through and was expecting ok but not. great. Everything exceeded our expectations-room large by NYC standards, modern and attractive. Hotel staff outstanding. Continental breakfast great. Subway right out the door. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesgarcia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! We are so glad you had such a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel at least 5 times in the last year. The staff is always great. My room is always ready and I just love the convenience of staying here. The rooms are pretty big for New York City and the rates are sometimes hundreds of dollars cheaper than other hotels in the same area. Why? I have no idea because this is the place to be! Also, if you're taking the train in from JFK it's right off of the 1 subway stop and that's so convenient for getting to the airport. I don't even look around at other hotels anymore. This is my spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARF6778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stays with us! I am so glad to see that you have found us to be a comfortable location to visit when you travel! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel between December the 30th until January the 8th. We were overcharged $1070 by Ms. Sylvia at the front desk. We complained to Ms. Bernard who said that the value overcharged was just a hold, which is not true, because the value was paid in both credit and debit cards. We still await them to return the money overcharged. They simply do not want to solve the clients' problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about this situation. I apologize if you are seeing what you believe to be an overcharge amount. We want to help you with this situation as soon as possible. Please call the hotel at 212-752-7000 and ask to speak to the Manager on Duty and we will fix this as soon as we can! We look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in November of 2012. We were kindly upgraded to a very nice suite with a big balcony, which was really great. The room was clean, and the hotel is in a great location. The main reason why I gave the hotel an "average" rating was the bathroom. For such a huge room, the bathroom was so tiny and so awkward. Normally, I wouldn't complain about such a thing, because it was clean - however it was so tiny that it was nearly impossible to use the toilet with the door closed - and I'm a tiny person. Someone even slightly above average size would not comfortably be able to use that toilet. Also, the shower took about 10 minutes to drain.

Another reason why I didn't give such a great rating was the parking situation. The hotel advertises that they have "self parking". "Self Parking" (versus valet) implies, to me anyway, that one parks their own car, as opposed to having an attendant park their car. My husband had a really bad experience the last time he went to NYC when his car was smashed by a parking attendant, so he specifically asked me to book a hotel with self parking. The Doubletree's version of "self parking" is driving it into the parking lot yourself and then handing your keys over to the attendant in order to park your car. They refused to allow us to park our own car, which we thought was misleading. It wasn't a huge deal for me, but I definitely would have felt more comfortable parking my own car.

All in all, it's not a bad place for the money. It's clean and convenient, and the staff is pretty friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I sincerely apologize for the condition of the bathroom. We want all aspects of our guest's stays to be enjoyable and I am sorry you did not find this to be true. I apologize if the parking method at the garage wasn’t stated clearly.

We hope that we see you again soon on your next stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here last summer for a week, and would stay again. After a log jam at my least favorite airport. Toronto Pearson (always delayed) international, we arrived to a fast check in even though the lobby was busy. The room was a little small but clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable , many good sleeps. See the Concierge for anything tickets or tours. But see the doorman Tim for everything else N.Y.C... Nothing beats summer in the City. Also limit yourself with drinks in lobby bar they are $$$. And the subway, which is the best way to travel in the city. Gets very hot and humid in the summer months so dress light.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! Im so glad you enjoyed your summer trip to the city and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent one night at the Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan in New York on Saturday, January 19th. It's location was very convenient. We took the Amtrak in from D.C. and were easily able to get on the subway from Penn Station straight to the hotel. The subway station was only about 2 blocks from the hotel entrance. The hotel was also within walking distance of Rockefeller Plaza, Times Square, Central Park, and more!

The room was a typical hotel room. We had two double beds (since there were 3 of us staying). The bathroom was small but everything was clean. We were on the 8th floor but there was no view out of our window. All you could see was in to the hotel next door. We hardly spent any time in our room though so this wasn't an issue for us.

When we checked in, we were given two tickets for free drinks (per our Groupon) and three chocolate chip cookies! The hotel staff was friendly and were even willing to make recommendations about restaurants to eat at!

Overall, a good stay for a quick trip to The Big Apple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,828 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,344 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#338 of 468 in New York City
1,817 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#283 of 468 in New York City
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing