We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central midtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #329 of 468 Hotels in New York City
McTown Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good central midtown location”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've stayed at the D-tree Metropolitan approx. 4 times in the past few months when traveling to NYC on business. The hotel has a great central location to all midtown offices and attractions. The guest services employees and doormen are very courteous. The hotel is frequented by many international visitors, and the lobby is always full of a diverse guest base. The rooms are routinely very clean and fairly quiet given that the hotel is always extremely busy. There is a drugstore nearby on the corner, and a decent quick casual restaurant is next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celestial-Mctown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    1,751
    991
    358
    257
See reviews for
1,005
1,459
269
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I hate to give this hotel 2 stars. The people at the front desk were very friendly, and the hotel itself seemed great, especially for the price and location. But I have to be honest: TripAdvisor defines 3 stars as "Average," and this was definitely a below-average stay.

Our first room was not vacuumed, the furniture had large gouges in it, the paint was peeling on the hinges on the bathroom door, and the back of the closet door had a hole in it the size of a baseball. I asked for another room, and was very generously upgraded to a room with a bigger bed and better view.

The second room was much better... until I got into the bathroom. The toilet was so high it was uncomfortable to use. I had to place my feet on the trash can. I'm not short either; I'm 6'1". Then, when I used the shower, the bathtub faucet shot off from the water pressure with such force, it hit the opposite wall. It sounded like a gunshot; the force was large enough that it could break a leg, or even kill someone if they were laying down in the tub. Less lethal, but equally annoying, was the impromptu power-shower I got while being hosed by the exposed water pipe.

I called downstairs immediately. A lady told me to hold on, and transferred me to a line that didn't pick up. I called again, and I was told an engineer would be up to "help you with your problem." No engineer arrived, and I left for my meetings without my morning shower. On my way out, I talked to the front desk, who had no record of my previous two phone calls. I did, however, finally receive an apology, along with a promise that a manager would call me. I never received the call.

After my meetings, I came back to the front desk to ensure my bathroom was fixed before I went to my room. Amazingly, there was STILL no record of my previous complaints, except for a note that I was apparently displeased with my carpet (?!). I was offered the room next door. However, when I got back to my room, the bathroom had been fixed, and the bathtub faucet was securely in place. The other room they offered still had the problem with the high toilets, so I decided to stay put.

I usually really like Hilton hotels, and Doubletrees in particular, due to their amazingly comfortable beds. This location was no exception in that regard, but I just can't bring myself to give a better review than this, considering the overall quality of my stay here.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms have a bit more light and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_S52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had a perfectly comfortable, clean, updated king room on the 15th floor, overlooking a nearby building and mechanical areas below....so no view. The room and bath wet small but well equipped. Mattress and linens were very comfortable and the selection of pillows was excellent. Plenty of hot water and pressure in the bath. All staff from desk, to maids, to bellman to restaurant were friendly and helpful. Right next door is super cheap, breakfast cafe with a good selection, so skip the hotel's $$16. breakfast buffet. Location is great, Midtown, whether you walk or grab a subway or head uptown or downtown. Parking is $$$ if you bring a car. For under $175., a night, this was a good choice.

Room Tip: Get a high floor on side opposite Lexington Ave. for the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifelister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel between 28 December 2012 and 4 January 2013. On reading reviews prior to arriving I had a few concerns. Don't know what all the fuss was about!
I had read that check in could be a problem if you were early (before 3 pm). We arrived at 2 20 pm and were dealt with very quickly with no problems and in our room on the 10th floor by 2 30 pm. The cookie was lovely too. Our room overlooked the police station and noise was not a problem. The room was a good size, the shower was very good, the bed was huge and very comfy and plenty room for clothes in cupboards. Room was smart and clean and although we were next to the lift we had no problems with noise. I had also read that waiting times for the lifts was an issue. Not in our experience
.
Hotel is located right next to 6 and E subway lines which was a huge bonus and very easy to navigate for first timers.
No coffee in room but starbucks and other vendors right outside the front door, so we headed out early and grabbed a brew most mornings.
Wi fi worked well in the lobby which had plenty room to lounge in whilst catching up on line.

Staff were great. No problems at reception and good advice from concierge for places to eat etc. I also arranged airport transfer from the hotel concierge for a great rate.
All round this is a great location. Very comfortable and handy for subway but also very close walking distance to so many places including times square and central park. I would recommend a stay and would use the hotel again no problem.

Room Tip: 10th floor overlooking 51st was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinburghstu140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have to say was impressed with the DTM, especially with the warm cookies at checkin!

Its location is pretty good, right on Lexington Av just a few short blocks down from Bloomingdales and Central Park, and a moderate walk from 5th Av, Times Square and all the attractions that surround. Plus it’s right next door to the Subway E Line which goes direct to JFK.
Rooms are good sized for Manhattan, certainly didn’t feel small, with a spacious enough bathroom. Beds were pretty comfortable too, definitely had no problem sleeping.
Whilst there is some external noise from outside (and given you’re in the heart of Manhattan, you’d be pretty lucky to get no outside noise), it certainly wouldn’t stop me from recommending this hotel or staying there again. Were times when you could be waiting a bit for the lifts.

One bonus was the free use of the internet in the Business Centre (which can be accessed 24hrs a day via your room key). There’s also a airline checkin PC in reception to allow you to do online checkin before heading to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant_TravellerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stopped here for 5 nights over the New Year and I was impressed with most of the services offered. Check in was fast and easy and the room was warm, clean and spacious with everything other than from coffee and tea making facilities.

Fit folk can walk to most of the main tourist attractions within 20-30 minutes whilst the not-so-fit can walk to the subway within 10 seconds. I did not use the restaurant but I did use the bar which was expensive and the Wi Fi was intermittent but there were always lots of people in the lobby using it.

Other reviewers have complained about the $2 charge for luggage storage but I thought it was worth it for the good advice and hospitality offered by the bell boys.

Room Tip: Take the private black cabs that the bell boy's can arrange for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Metropolitan as part of our wedding anniversary trip.

It's located nicely on E51st & Lexington and great if you want to wander around New York - quite a few Delis and Fast Food outlets within 30 seconds walk of the door.

The room itself was pretty basic, the lock on the bathroom door was busted but since it was just the two of us in the room that didn't really matter. The hotel staff were friendly, with a nice bar downstairs.

The subway station is just around the corner (we could see it from the room) and the famous grate where Marilyn Monroe got her skirt blown up - sadly my wife didn't want to re-create the scene.....

The local fire station is just next door, so it can be a bit noisy sometimes but hey, you're in the city that never sleeps and you get used to the background noise pretty quickly.

All in all a nice pleasant hotel that could just do with a bit of TLC but great as a base to explore NYC from :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#180 of 468 in New York City
7,839 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,093 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#340 of 468 in New York City
1,822 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#328 of 468 in New York City
2,377 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#281 of 468 in New York City
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing