We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #316 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night a few days before Christmas. The location is amazing, being a few blocks from 5th Ave, Rockefeller Plaza, and Times Square. The #6 Subway line is literally right outside the door of the hotel which is convenient because you can get uptown or downtown very easily. Of course, each guest gets a giant, warm, chocolate chip cookie (with nuts) when they check-in. It was delicious, even with the nuts, though I do think they should offer one without nuts for those who have allergies.
Crabtree & Eveyln products were offered in the bathrooms and the rooms were of decent size. We had a room with 2 double beds and they were comfortable. I only have a couple of complaints. One: the room needed a good vacumming in the corners and I kept finding long hairs on the towels and floor of the bathroom. The housekeeping could be better. The other complaint was how loud the doors were when they closed. They could wake you from a sound sleep, even if the door closing was down the hall.
We were able to store our bags with the bellhops while we did sightseeing and shopping after checking out, which was a nice convenience, for $2 per bag.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    1,561
    877
    306
    198
See reviews for
862
1,264
229
1,018
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is great and the hotel is much better now that it has been renovated. However, nothing at this hotel makes is great. Some areas look like they need many touch-ups even though they are renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I am so glad you enjoyed our renovations! We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel and will be on the lookout for any areas that need a touch up.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uba, MG
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

It really depends on what you're up to in NYC in order to say if this hotel is good or not. I was in NYC for 3 days and 2 nights dedicated to getting to know Manhattan as much as my feet and money would allow me to and obviously not using any tour/sighseeing service. So the location was awesome but the hotel is overpiced as any other hotel in Manhattan. I didn't try the breakfast service as it was also overpriced and as there were many coffe shops around. The room fit my needs in terms of space as I only used it to sleep and get myself changed, not a 5 star room but also not the worst room I've ever had. Unfortunately the hotel was very crowded and I was not able to check in earlier than 1:30pm. That was not very pleasant as my flight arrived JFK at 6am and I was in Mahattan at 9am. Frontdesk people? The first one I spoke to was not the most polite one but then I was lucky enough to have nice people there the other time. The luggage storage service is useful but it would really be better if we simply could check in earlier like 10am or at most 12pm. Oh, and subway is really on the corner of the avenue. I would definately consider doubletree for the next trips to NYC.

Room Tip: If silence matters to you when getting yourself some rest, ask for a higher floor room as Manhattan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raphaeltsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location is great: right in the middle of Midtown, with a subway station by the corner. But it's a big chain hotel with all the downsides of a big chain hotel (impersonal service, sometimes you'll have to wait longer than usual to be able to use the elevator, etc.).

Shower was just average, and I've also found that shower water was not so hot during rush hours. Bed was comfortable. The room was quiet and of an adequate size.

The staff that carried luggage requested an upfront tip (a dollar per bag), which for me was a weird attitude.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again. There are hotels with better services and comparable rates in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is well-located. The facility is utilitarian. The rooms, while clean, lack a certain element of safety. As you can see from the photo attached, the bed frame stuck out from the bed in our room, and the staff was unresponsive when we told them that they needed to fix this on two separate occasions. If you get a room that doesn't have a bed frame to hit your ankle on, then this is a very average hotel in the heart of midtown. Not a bad deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellently located hotel with all needs met. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms were comfortable and extremely well maintained by the housekeeping staff. However, rooms were noisy at night-time and I found myself awoken frequently by others returning to their rooms in the early hours. For some reason, the sound of the 'key' was very noisy!! Maybe I had jet-lag? One major beef with Hiltons, though, when will room - wireless be free of charge???????

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The subway for #6 train is right around the corner which is extremely convenient as it travels to Union Square, Lower East Side, SoHo, East Villiage and Chinatown. The train station also connects to train E and M via a walkway.

Having said that, I don't quite understand why this hotel is rated 4-star here and at Priceline. The hotel seemed to have undergone some renovation. The sink, countertop, faucet and showers are nice. Electrical outlets are well placed in the room. However, the workmanship of the renovation seemed rather poor as if it was a very hurry job and no one cared about the quality of the work. Amenities are also scarce as previous reviewers noted that there are no coffee or tea available in the room or lobby. Having said that, I appreciate the fact that they have a computer with printer so guests could check-in their flights and print boarding pass prior to going to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etphonehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Manhattan East
Hilton Manhattan East
#299 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#319 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#293 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#356 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#162 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#163 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing