We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Christmas in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #309 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was a very special visit for me and as a Hilton employee I know how a staff and hotel should be. The doormen were very helpful especially Timothy an A-Plus, genuine! he made an impression. From now on when I come back home I will look for him. The Bell Staff was very cordial and attentive. Great staff! GSA very nice and helpful they gave me extra cookies the best in the business. Housekeepers on the 11th Floor very nice and efficient. Overall my experience at the hotel was great! Keep up the good work! J

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,479
    816
    282
    173
See reviews for
802
1,163
219
963
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a good solid hotel that I use for business when in NYC. It has a great location and often has rates well below its Hilton brothers. This is a basic hotel. Not fancy, but clean and comfortable. The staff is alway pleasant and there is plenty of hot water and the TVs work. What more do you really need in NYC. You aren't in your room. Save some money, stay here and then you can eat a fancy place for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm from NYC and was exceedingly impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the convenient location of the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Because we booked through Hotels.com my wife wasn't able to check in for me, and the desk agent immediately gave us a room upgrade to make up for her inconvenience. Some advice: place "do not disturb" card on your door, since the very efficient maid staff will otherwise knock on your door by 8:30am to see if it's empty. Also, check for local cheaper parking on one of the Manhattan cheap parking web-pages. Also, best coffee and croissants are around the corner at Oren's, 3rd avenue near 51st. We were very happy with this hotel and its prices.

Room Tip: Even on the 4th floor our room (right on Lexington) was absolutely quiet. It's an urban hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. Close to walk to many sites and also close to subway. Room was comfortable and clean. Two items I would note: room was too warm - we had hotel staff up on two occasions during our 4 night stay and still couldn't get the room temp below 77 tropical degrees. Also housekeeping was most annoying repeatedly knocking on doors and announcing "houseKEEPING" over and over while we tried to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having spent 12 hours travelling, on arrival the 4 of us were totally ignored by the hotel porter and had to handle our own luggage. The front desk receptionist was offhand, brusque and most unwelcoming even sending us to the wrong rooms. The bar area was a joke with people from outside bringing in their bags of food and eating it at the bar tables - how do they allow this with no room for residents to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. There was a problem with the a/c in our room and the guy that came to fix it said he could only set it on one temperature & if we were too hot to open the window - you can't!! We asked for extra hangers twice - we gave up!

The only positive comment I can make about this hotel is that the beds & pillows were comfortable. No way would any of us return here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Considering its great location, this is a good choice for the price.

The location is excellent - within walking distance to Rockefeller, central park, 5th avenue shopping. The subway is right there as well. We thought the hotel staff's service was great. The rooms are small (but to be expected) and the way the windows are made, the room feels a bit like a bunker, but we didn't spend much time there. It was quiet though during the night so we got great sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zarkodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a nice middle of the road place to stay.. Very comfortable, a bit quirky in the shape of the rooms/building. Nice lobby, comfortable bed.. The location is great. On the east side, where this hotel is, you have better neighborhoods than farther downtown. A great coffee/breakfast sandwich place is right around the corner. 2 blocks east to 3rd Ave. is a whole bunch of small restaurants & pubs. Subway entrances are right outside, as well as 1 block over. Bar is way overpriced - don't bother. Go down to 3rd Ave. instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! I am so glad you had a great stay and we hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#301 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#345 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#156 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#282 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,688 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Manhattan East
Hilton Manhattan East
#285 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,060 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#307 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing