We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #328 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 13, 2012

First of all, Thank you to the manager on duty, Charo for providing us tips on the best places to tour around the city. The staff has been friendly and accommodating. Bed was so comfortable. The thermostat was acting up in our room, and when we informed the guest services, they asked someone to fix it, and at the same time, gave us free breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I am so glad we were able to give you recomendations for what to do around the city! I hope you had a wonderful time and we look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,159 - 4,165 of 5,162 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here two nights for business. The rate was reasonable for Manhattan meaning tiny room and not much in amenities. As small as the room was, the bed was comfortable. there was no cooler in the room or coffee maker. The cookie I got at my late check in was all dried out and there were no apparent amenities for my Hilton Honors gold status.
The room as very warm because inspite of it being Novemember, the temperatures outside were balmy and humid in the 60s. The ac and room fan were not working for the season however thank goodness the windows could open which aired it out at the expense of outside noise.

Last, for some reason this hotel charges to store luggage with the bell desk, 2 bucks for this privilege. Welcome to NY city.

Room Tip: dont face Lexington avenue as it will be noiser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank so you much for letting us know about your recent stay! I will be passing your comments along to the appropriate department heads for further review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The price is acceptable for this hotel and the location is awesome but the hotel is veeery old. The rooms are extremely small and the service is not good, I would say bad. The rooms are noisy, you can hear whenever somebody closes their room door. So if you find other options in the neighborhood, try to avoid this hotel. If you have to stay is fine, just bear in mind these issues.

Room Tip: Dont ask for the queen bed room, it is extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I am so sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass these comments along to the appropriate departments for further review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had our 2 month old baby and our room thermostat was not working. Upon informing the manager, Charo, she immediately took care of our situation and even gave us a discount for our stay plus free breakfast. Great customer service. We will be regulars at this Doubletree location.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armikulot819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I apologize you had an issue with your HVAC system, but I am so glad we were able to fix it promptly.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel has been nicely updated and is very comfortable, one of the few moderately priced hotels on the convenient East side. We arrived after a cruise the day before the hurricane and had to stay. The staff is very fine. The place was very clean. Management insured good service through the hurricane by giving all staff rooms in the hotel as there was no transportation working due to the storm. Our waiter apologized for having only the buffet breakfast available during the storm not the full menu. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I chose a room on a higher floor which seemed upgraded for not much more money. It was very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for a great review! I am so glad you found the hotel a safe and comfortable place to stay during the storm.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although we had a good holiday , there was a problem with this hotel which pretends to be luxury and the charges and adverts would make you think it was. We arrived on Wed 24th Oct after flying from Heathrow to JFK and catching air train /subway to 51st/Lexington. Greeted by receptionist immediately and she knew we were staying with them. Given card and told room was on top floor via lift. Didn't need help but help was there. To get to lift had to avoid persons in bar and time share desk and a luxury shop. Got to our room . Well set out with living area and bedroom area. But bathroom was tiny and a wardrobe next to it was almost the same size poor design. One dressing gown only in wardrobe. No wireless present unless you pay 15 dollars a day. (We were paying more than 280 dollars a night for this room). We went out for a meal, restaurant didn't meet our needs. Came back god nights sleep in an King plus comfortable bed. Left room in the morning at about 9am. Came back at 3pm. Discovered that the room had not been made. They refunded 100 dollars off room charge. Room was a bit cold and the air conditioning units were uncontrollable despite my trying. They supplied an electric oil filled radiator. Power went off so not lights and no heating. Air continuing units continued to cool the room. Went for breakfast in the hotel next day. What a rip off. 60 dollars for bacon and egg which was also serve yourselves. Redeeming but not 280 dollars worth was the bed and two televisions. On last day had to store bags charged 9 dollars. Suggest this room only worth 170 dollars a night because it was only 3.5 stars.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you do much for letting us know about your stay! I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will sure to pass these comments along to the appropriate departments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is in a great location for touring New York City. It looks like the hotel just went through a renovation of it's rooms. However, I think they forgot to change out the mattress as mine was probably 20 years old! The airconditioner wasn't the greatest. I had to open the window to let cool air in. But other than those two issues we had a nice stay. Good play to stay if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notstoppingyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know about yoru stay! We are so glad you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,071 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,626 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 473 in New York City
8,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing