We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Hotel, Marred by Poor Amenities and Bad HVAC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, Marred by Poor Amenities and Bad HVAC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel itself is OK, rooms are reasonably comfortable and you do get a cookie. but that doesn't make up for the fact that they have a terrible heating and cooling system.

I checked in and my room was 78 degrees according to the thermostat. I tried to cool it down, but warm air kept coming out of the air conditioner. When I talked to the engineer he said that the air conditioning was off "for the winter", even though it was over 70 degrees outside today in New York.

They might want to save a little money by putting in sub-standard cooling and heating - or just turning off the air conditioning. I could see a cheapo hotel doing that. But for more than $300 a night, I expect functioning HVAC.

My Hobbesian Choice - try to sleep with the window open and the incredibly loud street noise (impossible) or try to sleep in a room that's as warm as an oven (also impossible).

If you're here in the summer, I'm sure it's cool in the rooms. But don't try to stay here any other time.

I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Come in the summer or not at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlouderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your HVAC system.

Like many hotels in NYC, we are a 2-pipe system which means we cannot supply heat and cooling at the same time, however, we do monitor and adjust it daily according to the outside temperature.

We hope that you will consider visiting us again on your next stay in NYC! We look forward to delivering an extraordinary stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    1,700
    950
    340
    241
See reviews for
969
1,400
255
1,100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Doubletree on Lexington is just fine as long as you aren't looking for fancy. But with their high rates, you may want to keep looking. I was lucky to get an upgrade to the 18th floor, but I had colleagues who were on lower floors who were looking out at fans and smelling food for the duration of their stays. The front desk staff was inconsistent on both friendliness and helpfulness. We had a colleague who took ill on her stay and we needed to extend her stay for a night. We were on a group rate (which was still ridiculously high), and the woman at the front desk acted as though I was asking for the world. She told me over and again that I needed to talk to Sales, when I told her I didn't know how to reach them, she huffed and then finally dialed her phone for me, but handed over the receiver as though I had leprosy. She had absolutely no concern for one of her guests who had to be rushed to the hospital. Left a bad taste.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a room higher than the 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had in extended your room. I hope that you will still visit us again in the future for a stay that will exceed your expectations! We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm staying here currently and am enjoying myself. I'm here for work but when I checked in the angel at the front desk, Vicki, took extra good care of me for no other reason then she could. She said she could tell I'm a nice person - how nice? Either way she moved me from the 2nd floor to the 14th floor in a nice sized room with a king size bed. I she also gave me some free breakfast coupons and free access to the internet. What a doll!

The rooms are cool for NY and a nice size (at least the one I'm in but I don't think it's special). Nice HD tv in the rooms and I even requested a fridge and got one with 30 minutes delivered to my room. I found everyone quite accommodating.

The only iffy spot are the valet guys. I pulled up tonight and the guy actually left and didn't comeback. I grabbed someone after waiting for 10 minutes by myself. It worked out so not a huge deal.

There's a bar and lounge downstairs that seems to be happening on most nights. It's def in a good spot - only a few blocks from timesquare. I would stay here again on biz for sure and maybe even on a private trip. I leave in a week so if things change - I'll up date it.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor so it's more quiet. Overall the hotel is quiet but you hear doors open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It is so great to see that you are having a wonderful stay so far! Please contact us at the Front Desk if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

One of the quietest rooms I've ever stayed in Manhattan. The room was also very, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the 60s retro decor and the bartender was very, friendly.
It's nicely located in midtown as well. My minor complaints were paying to store my bags when I arrived early and lack of communication the doormen exhibited. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mafl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay! I am so glad you loved the decor of our property! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
710 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

When I reviewed this hotel a few months ago I loved the location but the service was terrible. The location is still great and convenient to everything in MIdtown - East. Check-in this time was great (thanks to Karen). This trip was just a one-night stay so I am not sure if the service is better or if I just was lucky in getting a better person at the front desk. I can tell you that thanks to the location this hotel is almost always packed. Book early if you want to get in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I apologize that you have had inconvenient experiences in the past but I am so glad to see that you have gotten better service on your more recent stays! We are always striving to get better and better! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I bought thru priceline, and i needed a room with 2 beds, i didn't know priceline gave you a 1 bed only, especially in NYC. The staff was really difficult to accomodate even paying for the difference. I called several times, with the request, and I was lied to twice. At the end they said they could not do it. So, don't count on them being accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian1010trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I apologize that you found it difficult to upgrade your room. Unfortunately, we have to accomodate those guests who have booked for the room with 2 double beds and we can upgrade our other guests based on availability. I apologize if we did not have that availability. I hope that we will see you again soon when you visit us again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed last weekend and were pleased with the location and check in was very friendly and quick.The rooms seem to have been a little rushed to be made over as a piece of the skirting board feel off as my husband walked past and stuck to his leg!we spent the next few days sticking it back on which was quite funny .There was a big hole in the window ceiling and you can see the holes from previous fixtures in the bath room.Nice wallpaper and fittings but no coffee maker and no fan in the bathroom which it really needs.Overall good stay for the money.rooms are nice but a bit more attention to detail would have been nice.Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittania8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! I will pass on all of your observations to the appropriate department heads for further review. Its great to see that you still had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#352 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#328 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing