We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, retro-chic style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #336 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our 4 night stay. Several subway lines literally around the corner. Nice sized room, all new decor and couldn't hear the traffic even though we were only on the 3rd floor. Didn't really use any of the services so can't comment on that, although I noticed that if you needed any help with luggage, you might be on your own. That said, if you are looking for a nice place to stay in midtown were its fairly quiet yet close to everything and safe at night with proximity to the subway without breaking the bank, this is your place! Would definitely stay again.

1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and our location in NYC! We just recently completed a renovation of the hotelm, and we are so glad you enjoyed the style of the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,072 - 4,078 of 5,011 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel in relation to the subway, shopping and the city in general. Our room was big, and the property was modern and clean.

The gentlemen who helped us with our bags, Robert, was extremely friendly and helpful! If only all hotel staff were so pleasant to work with.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially, our location! We hope to see you again soon for another amazing visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughter and I travelled to New York for a visit to the Big Apple. We chose the Doubletree Metropolitan based on previous reviews and the upgrades made to the hotel.
The hotel has had a makeover, the lobby is clean and modern on check in and they present you with yummy chocolate chip cookies upon arrival. The carpets look relatively new and are fairly clean. We noticed the hotel gets a lot of traffic at the elevators and at peak times you can wait several cars and minutes before you can squeeze into one of them.
The room was a decent size with two double beds and a LCD style tv and had a safe for personal belongings. Our room was furnished with a desk, a couple of chairs, a desk and several modern style lamps. Although the carpet was newer we had a rip in ours - not sure how this would have occurred but it was noticeable.
The bathroom was a reasonable size with shower/tub and single sink with decent counter space for toiletries, etc. The one thing we noticed was that the bathroom didn't have a fan so after a shower it took some time for the mirror to defog. The towels were replaced regularly and the bed was comfy with 4 pillows per bed - soft and firm depending on your preference. The room was cleaned daily and the beds made each day as well.
You can hear doors closing in the morning and evening when people leave/return - it's a bit of annoyance when you're in bed and trying to fall asleep. As well, we could hear the sound of water from above - running and toilet being flushed.
If you're looking for a very quiet hotel where you can't hear your neighbours at all - this isn't it.
The hotel is very conveniently located to the subway system as there are stops across the street and another block away depending on which route you're taking. We found this to be very convenient as we explored much of the city by subway.
There is free wi-fi in the lobby so you able to connect to the Internet if you don't want to pay the fee for access from your room.
There are many restaurants and food outlets nearby so you don't have to travel far for meals or snacks/refreshments.
I'd stay here again based on convenience of location and overall cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gord L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much for such a detailed review! We are so glad you had a great stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Girls weekend in NYC chose this hotel for location. The subway station is literally 50 steps from the front door. Made it easier for planning shopping trips to drop off bags before heading out again. If you wear comfortable shoes the walk to theater district is doable. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating and pleasant. I did get the feeling that the doorman gets a kickback on arranging transport with particular black car limos. Seemed very put out when we decided to take a taxi versus the driver there waiting.
"JC" in the restaurant was very hospitable. After my first visit for breakfast to take food back to room he remembered every morning how much coffee, water, bowls etc.
DO NOT ACCEPT A RIDE FROM guys on bikes. They told us $37 for 3 to transport to theater from hotel. Read the fine print. It's PER PERSON!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter. We were on the 18th floor and sleep was not disturbed by street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again soon for another memorable experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for a business conference over the first weekend of October. The rooms are very small and I had a suite other people stayed in regular rooms which were ridiculous in size even compared to European hotels. The bathrooms are terrible, small and outdated. The elevators never seemed to be working and there was always a line to get on or off. In addition, you could not get Internet service unless you paid extra for it - again strange considering I was there for a business trip. The service was pretty good except for the room service which took forever perhaps they also needed to wait for the elevators. The location is good- I would have stayed at the W which is a block down.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viveutvivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will pass your comments onto the appropriate departments for further review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

One of the worst Hilton chain hotels that I have stayed at (I am a Hilton Silver member). The hotel is really old and it shows.

The rooms do not have basic services such as a coffee maker or bottles of water. I do not mind paying $5 for a bottle of water but this hotel did not even have that option. The reception told me that I had to go down to the vending machine to get that. And guess what, the floor that I was in did not have a vending machine!

The shower had no pressure. I could barely get wash myself under the trickle of water that was coming out.

The toilet commode must be miniature. I have never seen a commode that small.

The "view" from the room is onto the next buildings office cubicle which seemed like it was less than 10 feet away.

Overall, a poor experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will pass your comments onto the appropriate departments for further review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Once you get over the shock of the seriously downmarket and tacky exterior, the hotel is perfectly all right on the inside. Service was friendly and efficient. There were two of us so the room was a little cramped, the bathroom more so (and no bathroom fan!). No minibar. The location is great for business travelers and very close to the subway so it took no time at all to get to and from Penn Station. There is nothing really wrong with the hotel but for almost $400 a night you expect better, even in New York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pullogaroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel! I will be sure to pass along your other comments to the appropriate departments for further review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,016 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,823 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,926 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $130 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing