We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pathetic hotel - stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pathetic hotel - stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

One of the worst Hilton chain hotels that I have stayed at (I am a Hilton Silver member). The hotel is really old and it shows.

The rooms do not have basic services such as a coffee maker or bottles of water. I do not mind paying $5 for a bottle of water but this hotel did not even have that option. The reception told me that I had to go down to the vending machine to get that. And guess what, the floor that I was in did not have a vending machine!

The shower had no pressure. I could barely get wash myself under the trickle of water that was coming out.

The toilet commode must be miniature. I have never seen a commode that small.

The "view" from the room is onto the next buildings office cubicle which seemed like it was less than 10 feet away.

Overall, a poor experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will pass your comments onto the appropriate departments for further review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,698
    950
    339
    239
See reviews for
968
1,398
255
1,097
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Once you get over the shock of the seriously downmarket and tacky exterior, the hotel is perfectly all right on the inside. Service was friendly and efficient. There were two of us so the room was a little cramped, the bathroom more so (and no bathroom fan!). No minibar. The location is great for business travelers and very close to the subway so it took no time at all to get to and from Penn Station. There is nothing really wrong with the hotel but for almost $400 a night you expect better, even in New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pullogaroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel! I will be sure to pass along your other comments to the appropriate departments for further review.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location as several metro stops are right outside.
Easily walk to Times square or Rockafeller Center and more.
Spacious rooms which were quite comfortable for 2 people.
Nice bathroom.
Clean and actually quiet at night!
Police and Fire dept. right next door.
Several resturants and convience stores on the same block.
Quick elevators.
No mircowave or fridge
AC was good
Nice flat screen TV
Clean Comfortable bed

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again soon for another memorable experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you are looking for a good value, very good location in NYC, this is a good spot. Service is very good and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Location on Lexington is close to highway exits and near many sites, you can walk to the Empire State, Grand Central, 5th ave, Rockefeller center and Central Park, Times square etc.
There is free wireless in the lobby but not in the rooms. Check in was fast and smooth, the rooms were recently renovated (not top notch but new...). There is valet parking for only a few bucks more than self park (55 per night versus almost 50 for self park) and they bring the car up promptly.
We did not eat in the hotel but beside the main entrance there is a place that sells many healthy and easily available 'buffet style' foods. A place to avoid is the resto called the National, very nice decor but indifferent service and sorry but terrible breakfast and it was $60 bucks. If it had been a decent breakfast, not necessarily great, I would not have made a comment... but unpalatable food paired up with indifferent service, hmmm.
Around NY there are plenty of good eateries from average price to high ticket and the food is excellent. I live in NYC before and have visited on many occasions so go elsewhere for breakfast.
NY hotels can be pricey but we were pleased with our choice in terms of value, location and service. Pillows a bit soft but not a major issue. Note that right beside the hotel is a subway entrance that can get you around town quickly and cheaply... and of course plenty of cabs right at the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again soon for another memorable experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the family room and had a good stay! Although the room was a little tight for the 4 of us it was clean and tidy! The service was very good - everyone was so friendly and helpful!
It is very well located, and there is a nice coffee shop outside!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again soon for another memorable experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Looking for a hotel with wheelchair access, get room 1904. Roll-in-shower,Jr Suite hugh room. Best I have ever stayed in NYC. Clean, great view, stay again for sure. Close to lots of sites, food, etc. Had a dinner across the street for www.thebuonicontifund.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you were able to have a room that accomodated the wheelchair so perfectly! We hope you choose us again when visiting NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendham, new jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of Hampton Inns in NYC, and this was the same rate, but the rooms are much bigger, it's clean and fresh. I was pleasantly surprised. Lovely lobby, and I used the little gym, too.

We had a lot of trouble with the service at the breakfast area, very slow and inattentive, even rude...a disconnect from the rest of the hotel. I actually spoke with the manager, and hope he was responsive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer U, Rooms Controller at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are so glad you had an enjoyable time! I apologize that you had this experience at the Met Grill. I will be sure to pass these comments onto the Chef so that he can followup with the staff.

We hope to see you again soon for another memorable experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Address: 569 Lexington Avenue, at East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing