We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location and more...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Parker Meridien New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
NYCha
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location and more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

It is my second time to review the hotel. I stayed here a couple times last several weekends for pleasure. I was always placed in a Parkview room since. I was very happy with the hotel and the services so far.

The hotel was well located in the heart of Manhattan, with proximity to Central Park, and other city interests. Furthermore, the hotel itself has lots of interesting things, such as Burger Joint, Roof top swimming pool and observatory, etc. I believe others already put lots information of the hotel and its surroundings in the review, so I did not want to go through this time.

This time I was placed in a lower floor room, since the hotel was fully booked. The room and facility (7th floor) was the same as the Parkview rooms I stayed before, still very nice and comfortable, if I did not mind the view (not too bad, at least it was not window to window to the building across the street, I could still have the shade up, without worry about my privacy). So I was happy with that. So the lower floor may be a good choice, if you don’t want to pay the premium, and don't stay in the room for a long time (since you may want to check out the city anyway during your tenure). Plus you can still use the roof top swimming pool and observatory any time as they are opened.

I would like to get you a new hidden gem this time in my review: I checked out a stretch class on Saturday morning at 10:30 am at City Center (just across the street: 130 West 57th Street, next to the Starbuck). The place was called “Ballet Arts”, located at 6th floor in City Center. It was not hard to find, just straight across the street of the hotel.

The class was designed for dancers to stretch and relax their mind and bodies. It lasted for an hour. It was taught by a very nice lady from South Korea, who was a ballet dancer, and actively involved in many dancing activities in the city. Since she was from South Korea, lots of oriental techniques were incorporated in the class, which was excellent, since most classes in the US were less or more the same, nothing new from Yoga in American style. I think that was really what setting this class apart from the rest in the US.

But don’t give me wrong, you don’t have to be a dancer to go. It was a very relaxing and peaceful class, with Christian music and floor mats in a gorgeous old NYC style studio. It was somewhat like a Yoga class, but it is much more relaxing and joyful, in a different way (there was no hard muscle involvement). So I guess anybody can take it, and have fun, if you just want to relax during a weekend morning after a night sleep in the hotel. Plus the teacher tailored your specific need and level for everybody in the class. Of course, some are much more flexible than others, but it was a class for relaxation.

The class started with warming up by standing up shaking hands and some leg stretching. Then it worked its way from head to shoulders, to chest, back, waist, hip to legs (quadriceps, hamstrings to calf). It was a slow progress, no hard movement, and no pain at all. You can also choose to work hard or just to have a relaxation, it was totally up to you. The students were very nice too, some were dancers, some were not. I could tell that they were very happy with the class.

I strongly recommended the class if you like to have some relaxation in an active way, during your stay in the hotel for weekends. It runs on Sat morning at 10:30 am for 1 hour. The cost is $15. No specific dress requirement, you just need to dress relax and loose, staying comfortable. Check it out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,189
    1,907
    700
    285
    245
See reviews for
1,362
1,504
288
1,226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Well positioned - near Central Park and within walking distance of Times Square.
Handy for tube. Normas for breakfast is to be recommended and the French brasserie style bar is delightful. The burger bar seemed a strange addition to an upmarket hotel but an experience not to be missed.
Staff helpful - had to change rooms on arrival. Had requested a room with 2 double beds overlooking the park. Initially given a room without a view and with one of the beds a put you up settee!
Expensive with current sterling exchange rate. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC. It was centrally located in Midtown Manhattan giving us easy access to the theater district, shopping and museums.
We'll definitely stay here on future trips to NYC!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jzz0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

I have stayed at the hotel for almost 15 years and seen alot of changes, not all positive. Our last long weekend will sadly be our last at the property. The good location is all that remains of the old property.

We had a terrible time arranging our rooms with the front desk staff. Without getting into all the details, the level of service has dropped to the point where the hotel doesnt even resemble the old property. The hotel has been remodeled and our room on the 36th floor was so small we had to be careful not to bang into the other furniture as we attempted to navigate our way to the bathroom. The bathroom so small even without a bathtub and my wife and I couldnt stand and get ready in at the same time.

Dont plan on meeting in the lobby. It is cold, only small chairs available are very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliversdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a quick visit to NYC. Overall I would say the hotel is just okay. We happened to get a free night so I didn't have to pay 500 dollars a night, but if I had I would have been very disappointed. Especially because you have to pay for everything here including the internet and the GYM.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazie164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Upscale (but not ultra high end), very comfortable (good rooms, not great), outstanding location (we had a terrific view of Central Park from the 37th floor), excellent food and service.

Would stay again in a heartbeat for under $200/night. Over $200/night and you have to see what other bargains are out there since there are so many nice hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlstrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mewerner
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Well located, clean and recently renovated rooms. Normal NYC street noise. Room was large and comfortble, with a separate seating area and large desk. large and modern bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mewerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Property: Le Parker Meridien New York
Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing