We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #259 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 13, 2005

You expect a lot of special touches from a four star hotel and here there were few. If you want a doorman to help you upon your arrival, enter from the 56th Street, well hidden entrance instead of the 57th St. entrance, otherwise you'll haul your bags through a sea of tourists in the long hall way until you finally come to the front desk. Expect to wait with 6 or seven other groups of people if you want a doorman to hail you a cab on 56th street in the rain, until you give up and go to the 57th street side and get one yourself. Expect to wait, and wait, and wait for an elevator if your room is on the 22nd floor or below. According to frequent business visitors we met while waiting, there is always one elevator out of service. On our first day one out of 3 elevators was in operation.
On the positive side, the view from the pentouse pool is spectacular, the rooms are quiet, the beds comfortable and the location is great, especially if you like to walk or jog in Central Park, attend a performance at Lincoln Center or shop at Bergdorfs.
But,the Ritz or Four Seasons this is not.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tvchickAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,710 - 4,716 of 5,650 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
United Kingdom
17
Reviewed July 12, 2005

Arrived at the hotel to register which was on 3rd floor for Queen Mary 2 passengers. Waited 20 mins for an elevator, our group was eventually taken in the service elevator in order to clear the lobby area. No chairs were available despite my husband being disabled. Next day the lift got stuck on the 6th floor for 25 mins until we were able to open doors and change to the second lift. I asked reception staff if they could confirm the time of transport the following morning back to the ship, no-one seemed to know anything about it and didn't want to find out. Before checking out we were told to leave cases outside the room for collection, on checking out we were told inside the room. After again waiting some time for an elevation, the maid was cleaning our room and refused to allow the cases back inside. After waiting for a phone call from housekeeping to clarify the situation, I took the cases to the lobby myself. I gave the room keys to reception and told them what had happened, again they were dis-interested. We had a wait of about two hours in the lobby area after returning our keys, again very limited seating was available and some people were obliged to sit on the floor. The last straw was having to ask a member of the cleaning staff to unlock the restrooms in the lobby with a door key. One lift was out of order and the other two were very slow, the hotel staff were totally unhelpful and unsympathetic. Only recommendation - the location.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2005

This is really a unique hotel. On the plus side is the pool on the top floor, the sundecks with great views of Central Park, Normas for excellent (albeit expensive breakfasts), the Burger Joint (good, inexpensive burgers), and a phenominal health club. On the negative side was an uncomfortable sofa bed (yes, some people actually use these) and the concierges (2 of the 3 answers we got turned out to be wrong). I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frozenfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
13
Reviewed July 5, 2005

We stayed at the Parker Meridien Hotel for the Fourth of July weekend. It was one of the best times I've ever had in my life. The food at Norma's was delicious, but very expensive. The rooms were very modern and spacious. But the best part of the Meridien is by far the pool. There is a sunbathing deck on the roof, which is great if the weather is good. We had a lot of fun at the Meridien and especially at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2005

Stayed at Le Parker Meridien for two nights and were not disappionted. The staff was very friendly and helfpul. Including the maid who cleaned our room after 3pm b/c we both kept coming back to the room at different times, thus not giving her an opportunity to clean it. Also including the man on the top floor who let us into the penthouse to take a peak at the view from the terrace there overlooking central park - and what a view it was - as my husband put it, there is nothing in the world like manhattan - and there really isn't, it takes your breath away from this vantage point (and we lived here for 10 years and never tire of it).
The rooms were very spacious, clean, modern, trendy. Loved the mirror in the bathroom and the unique center that housed the tv. We thoroughly enjoyed the modern and swank decor. The bathrooms are not large, but this is nyc, you'll rarely get a large bathroom unless you book an outrageously priced suite, it's just the way it is, most buildings were not built with big bathrooms, so don't expect it. The lobby is spacious and unique and we loved the dark hallways with the glowing blue numbers, it felt very clubby. So if you want light family friendly areas, stay elsewhere. Lastly, eat breakfast at Norma's, it was outstanding. Pricey, $60 for two and that was just w/a juice and a coffee, but if you don't mind parting pennies, it's absolutely incredible and unique. I had the most amazing french toast w/a hot caramel sauce and spouse had some incredible mango crepes. To die for. We'd go back just to have breakfast here! If you like modern, suave decor with nice quiet (albeit low light hallways), then this place just might be the ticket for you. Oh, and it's also right next to some of the best shopping ever!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amymow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2005

We are from S. Califorina and have only been to NY a couple of times so we were pleased to find the TripAdvisor. However, my wife thought it would be interesting to try Hotwire and only select the highest rated hotel possible. How could we go wrong? Big mistake! Le Parker Meridian was our surprise hotel and it was without a doubt one of the worst hotels we have ever experienced. Our terrific Hotwire rate of $302 was $302 too much. Mold on the bathroom ceiling, two out of three slow evevators working, hallway that looked like Disneyland's haunted mansion, carpet in the hall that was bumpy, up & down elevator markers that were cut in the drywall and never finished, a view out of our 7th floor room that looked into the wall of some rusty tenement building, small room and smaller bathroom, a bellman that took us to our room and when I asked for ice he said, "you can find it at the end of the hall", and never offered to get some. I would be happy to tip well and I aways do. The plus is that we were there only one night and our next night was at the Four Seasons. Thank God. By the way, most of the TripAdvisor reviews were very accurate on Le Parker Meridian but it was too late for me to cancell because once you book on Hotwire you cannot cancell or get a refund. I'll never use Hotwire again!

9  Thank Allen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Spent three nights here last week; really, no complaints. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was very clean. View from rooftop pool was awesome. Burger Joint was definitely worth the wait on Friday afternoon. Location was great -- we walked just about everywhere.

Stayed: May 2005
6  Thank blrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#212 of 470 in New York City
1,413 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 470 in New York City
2,954 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#246 of 470 in New York City
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#90 of 470 in New York City
2,375 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 470 in New York City
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $230 - $833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing