We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied with my first stay at the Le Parker Meridien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #260 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My stay at the Parker Meridien was my 3rd Starwood hotel I was staying in while on a recent trip to NYC. Check-in was not the quickest and I think they could train their employees to be a bit more personable. Was given a nice king room on the 29th floor with a beautiful view of Central Park. The room was decent but I did feel that certain things in the room needed to be upgraded to keep up with other hotels in NYC. For one they need new TVs and my room had the oldest iron I have ever had at a hotel. Beds were comfortable and I also really like the bath products (Peter Thomas Roth) that they provided. Bellman was great and really went out of his way to help guests (unlike the ones I experienced at both the W Times Square and W Court) I also really liked the location for shopping and its proximity to Central Park.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,395 - 4,401 of 5,656 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights, and wouldn't go back.

The service was slow ( sometimes lines of 15 people at reception), I asked for an adaptor and was told that there was a waiting list of 12 people, and I should just buy my own from Duane Reade, part of the bathroom wall fell off when the door was shut, the bathroom door handle was broken, on 2 of our days here our room was not cleaned at all (we were out of the room for the majority of the day and called to remind them), 15 mins wait to get bags from the bellboy (despite explaining that I needed to get a plane). The list goes on....

We complained on our first few days, but gave up soon after, as we couldn't bear the wait to complain!

The hotel needs a repaint and refresh as it looks tired, and the staff seem to feel like that too.

The positives are the burger bar, Normas for breakfast, and the room size is good. (Although bathrooms are small).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Our room had a north-facing view of Central Park although we were hardly in the room much to enjoy it . . after all, this is New York City!! The view and the great water pressure in the shower were a huge plus. I am wondering why the glasses in my room were basically tall slender shot glasses. . . I drink a lot more water than that so a glass that is more than 2 oz. in size would be a nice touch. The iPod dock/charger was a nice - I always like it when hotels have iPod docks. I found the staff to be friendly, accomodating and professional. One tip: if you check out and leave your luggage with the hotel to store for the rest of the afternoon, be prepared to wait a while for them to retrieve it once you return. Apparently the storage room is not in the lobby itself and it took them about 15 minutes to get my bag.

The only drawback is the abundance of mirrors in the lobby (56th street side). That is the last thing I need in the early am after a night of too much wine and not enough sleep on my way to my first Starbucks run of the day.

Regrettably, I did not get to try the Burger Bar as I had hoped . . too many other meals around town this time. I will be sure to try it the next time I am in NYC - I will likely visit Le Parker again in the future!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank miss_marie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Great location with large modern rooms but let down by the slow service. It seems to have loads of staff to help you but they are not very quick to sort any problems or even serve you! We soon started to go elsewhere for our drinks as the staff seemed too busy talking to each other. However, the hotel was clean and ideal as a base to see and explore New York.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steakandkidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed with our 9 and 13 year old boys for six days - our first stay at this hotel. As most families know, a long stay in NYC with active kids can be trying unless the kids have some physical outlet - well this hotel made it so easy!!! Everything about the hotel was truly awesome from the staff to the amenities and the location. Most surprising is the activities and services available for the kids - never would have guessed it! We used the pool, racquetball and basketball courts and the famous burger joint in the lobby on a daily basis. Location is also key - quick walk(just a few blocks) to Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Times Square, Broadway shows, the indoor mall at Columbus Circle(complete with Whole Foods and Bouchon Bakery) as well as the subway stations only a block away to whisk you to both Yankee and Mets stadium. Concierge gave great recs for kid friendly restaurants - Otto, Ellens Stardust Diner, Topaz Thai(right next to the hotel) and more. We will definitely be back thanks to a great job by Starwood in all categories!!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank HappyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Travelled with my mother who is in a wheelchair, the roll-in shower
was perfect, room was very clean, larger than most with separate sitting area.
Easy walk to Carnagie Hall, Central Park, Times Square, and Broadway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieSVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed at this great hotel while I was going to a show at Carnegie Hall. Very nice rooms, attentive staff, great meeting spaces, and only half a block from Carnegie Hall, Russian Tea room and other great places. Look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#214 of 470 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,965 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#248 of 470 in New York City
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 470 in New York City
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $229 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing