We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Schedule time for the elevators” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Parker Meridien New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Schedule time for the elevators”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Centrally located and a fave of out of town tourists in for the holidays, this is a conundrum of a hotel. It has a restaurant that closes at 3 pm. It has what is technically a bar, but its an a narrow passageway between 56 and 57th street so public folks with wet umbrellas etc bang into you while you attempt ( and attempt) to order a drink.
Rooms are clean, amenities sparse.
The elevators TAKE FOREVER!!!!! If you are above the 22 nd floor it can take 5 or more minutes for one to show up. It's terrible

Room Tip: Stay away from the odd numbered rooms below the 22 nd floor if you want to open a window The burger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank networkConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear networkConnecticut,

Thank you for staying and reviewing our hotel! It's true, NORMA'S amazing brunch does end at 3pm. Luckily there is 24/7 room service and the beloved burger joint for your continued dining enjoyment. Knave, (bar) is vast by NYC bar standards... I'm sorry you had difficulty ordering a drink. We offer table service as well. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, perhaps to try Knave's divine espresso. I regret the bustling holiday season increases wait time for elevators and I apologize it impacted your enjoyment of our property. Thanks again for your feedback.

Have a good one!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,191
    1,908
    700
    285
    245
See reviews for
1,364
1,505
288
1,226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing check in experience I had this rainy evening!

After sloshing through 10 blocks of tourist-packed midtown streets I finally arrived at Le Parker Meridien. The lobby was bustling with holiday energy, and the hotel was no doubt booked to capacity. Employee presence in the lobby was outstanding. There was a bit of a line to check in, but anywhere you looked there was an LPM employee asking if they might assist with anything while I wait.

Gabriella at the front desk was absolutely wonderful. Friendly, pleasant, efficient and treated me as if I was her only guest.

Kudos to the proactive team! It was obvious that there was a plan in place to counterbalance the inconveniences of the yucky weather and busy Friday night check in!

Wish we could stay longer!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabs1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Sabs1000,

Thanks very much for the nice review and kind words. We know how tiring traveling can be, so we've really focused on making our check in process as stress-free as possible. Thanks so much for your comments about Gabriella! We're very lucky to have her as part of our team. I will be sure to share your comments with her.

We hope to see you again soon!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is my second stay here in the past year.

The hotel is a solid hotel for business travelers.

It's located within walking distance of many of the larger financial institutions.

Wi-Fi is free for hotel guests, although I had a bit of trouble getting logged in the help desk folks eventually got me connected.

The food at Norma's is high quality although the portions are a bit large and the resulting cost is a bit high.

The beds are comfortable and the room was very clean.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Park views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Seafoodtraveler,

I'm very happy to read that you've enjoyed both of your stays with us. We appreciate you recommending us.

Please feel free to contact me if there's anything you need. We look forward to welcoming you back for stay number three!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
415 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked a quick one night stay at Le Parker Meridien through the Hotel Tonight app. The last time we stayed here was around 18 years ago, even though we often have breakfast at our very favorite NYC breakfast spot, Norma's.

Check-in was welcoming and professional, with no issues booking through the app. Our king room was immaculate and comfortably modern (certainly different decor than 18 years ago!) and really well designed, with a lot of counter space in the bathroom and little appreciated touches like two little glasses on a ledge near the sink for when you brush your teeth. I usually feel a need to adjust the thermostat when I enter a hotel room and at first was concerned that there was a label on the thermostat saying if you need it cooler or warmer to call for assistance. However, the climate ended up being just fine with no need to call.

We went down to the Knave bar/lounge for coffees (delicious) which then morphed into staying for a lovely cocktail concoction involving prosecco, St. Germaine and lemon served in a huge wine glass the size of my head. While the lounge has a bit of a bowling alley shape to it and people use it to enter the hotel from 57th St., the red velvet decor coupled with the ceiling that gives literal meaning to the term "cathedral," makes you feeling like you are someplace special. When the server delivered a snack tray with delectable fried olives along with the usual bar nuts, you know you are someplace special. We liked it so much we returned there with a friend after burgers at the Burger Joint.

The Burger Joint is a matchbox-sized, order at the counter kind of place that is hidden behind more red velvet curtains off the lobby. It was a crowded Friday night where you had to "vulture" around to snag a table, and put up with nothing being cleaned between patrons. While the burgers here have gotten quite a stellar reputation, we thought they were good but not spectacular or worth the hassle.

The one glitch with our room was the shower - besides the shower head seeming more at home in a college residence hall than this lovely hotel, I couldn't get the water to be more than lukewarm.

Of course we had reservations at "our" Norma's that morning, so the morning was redeemed. Really, this is THE best breakfast in the city so make sure you make reservations ahead of time and be happy.

At checkout I told the front desk about the shower and the representative apologized. I surely hope that they do something about this besides the apology since the next time we need a little NYC getaway we'd really like to come back to this hotel. We had an otherwise fun, comfy, jam-packed 20 hours of Le Parker Meridien - hot water would have made it really great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Anne C,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough and eloquent review! I'm glad you had a nice stay with us, but am very sorry to hear about the problem with the hot water and shower head. Please contact me prior to your next stay so we can make it up to you.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
guestrelations@parkermeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great place to stay! Clean, comfortable, friendly, helpful staff. Discounted rates for group blocking were reasonable. Fees for parking garage a bit high. Convenient location for shopping and great food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Bonnie E,

Don't tell any of our other guests... but, we're pretty fond of you too. Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience online. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Pro - good location, great rooms, friendly staff.
Cons - lobby bar prices very expensive, avoid !!

Overall would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the south Central Park region. Ideal for 5th avenue, Tiffany's, Central Park etc....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Dave H,

Thanks for recommending us. We're happy to have had you as our guest! Don't be a stranger.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over Thanksgiving to see my nephew march in parade with Macy's Great All American Marching Band. Got superb family rate. Location was 1/2 block to parade route easy walking distance to see Broadway shows, radio city music hall, Rockefeller center, and Times Square.
Ate at both Norma's and the burger joint. Pricey but great food. This was our first overnight trip to NYC and if we do it again Le Parker Meridien will be our only choice for hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mflag1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mflag1128,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We're You must be so proud of your nephew. We're very happy to have been a part of your special holiday weekend.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to New York!


Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Property: Le Parker Meridien New York
Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Reservation Counter so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing