We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parker Meridien New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #220 of 479 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I had to make a last-minute trip to New York last weekend for a memorial and decided to stay at Le Parker Meridien because of its excellent location near Central Park and SPG's double points promotion. The pre-paid rate was also surprisingly less expensive than other properties putting it almost on par with what the Sheratons in Midtown were charging.

We had taken the red-eye in from California and were expecting to just to be able to drop off our bags so we were planning to kill some time over breakfast. So, I was pleasantly surprised to be able to check in around 10am. Check in was efficiently polite. As an SPG Gold member I was upgraded into a suite although I was still expected to pay a facilities fee that included Wifi and use of the (very beautiful) penthouse-level pool.

The suite was a very good size; the carpeting was a little worn and stained in areas but the decor was generally updated. The main showerhead was broken and somewhat detached from the wall but the bathroom was spacious and clean overall. I have friends in Midtown and the Upper East Side whose apartments are significantly smaller than our room, so I found the hotel to be a great value for what we paid when the upgrade was taken into account.

I had read that the pool tends to be overrun with kids. We didn't have a chance to enjoy it until Monday morning, when I figured families would have checked out and business folks were either at work or hadn't yet checked in. The pool was completely empty at 9:15am and was a great place to start the morning. I wouldn't normally say to bring your camera to a pool, but there are beautiful views from the rooftop deck just outside that you'll likely want photos of. The main downside of the pool is needing to switch elevators from the lower floors to get there - and with elevator maintenance, you might be waiting a while.

Loved being able to pop into Starbucks or Dean & Deluca across the street and then walk over to the park or Fifth Ave for some shopping. Le Parker Meridien gives you more space for your money than some of the surrounding (but more iconic) properties, making it great for travelers who enjoy luxury and location but still watch their wallets. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid hearing street noise. The sixth floor is quiet but you will still hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shau-Ru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear SuiteLife101,

Thank you for your wonderfully thorough review! I was very happy to read that you and your husband had a pleasant stay. As you mentioned in your review, our Jr. Suites offer a great amount of space at a very reasonable rate; I'm very glad you enjoyed yours!

We hope to see you both again very soon.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,075
    1,814
    638
    259
    223
See reviews for
1,253
1,405
276
1,163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Outstanding location close to Central Park. Museums within walking distance. Room was good size and was immaculate. Employees were very friendly and very focused on guest hospitality. Concierge recommended excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear BudK2013,

I'm so glad you had a nice weekend with us! See you next time!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love the sense of serenity and calm about this hotel without taking itself too seriously.
Wonderful location and amazing burger joint. The rave reviews are spot on.
Sadly Seppi's French restaurant has been closed for several years and adjacent site remains vacant.
Rooms stylish, comfortable and quiet but no coffee machine. Not a major issue but something you don't realise you miss until its not available .
$10 a day fee for wifi/gym/pool is not acceptable in my view. Should be standard in a hotel of this category
Staff courteous and helpful.
A few improvements would make a big difference to an already great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear 5starTraveller2013,

Thanks for the nice review and helpful suggestions. We charge a mandatory $10 per day facility fee that includes internet access for an unlimited number of devices, access to our award-winning multi-level fitness facility Gravity, access to our rooftop pool overlooking Central Park, as well as fee-free local and toll-free calls from our guest rooms. We believe this offers guests a great value, as most other hotels in New York charge $15 + tax per device, per day for internet access in addition to a multitude of other fees for access to their fitness centers, pools, telephone services, etc.

Thanks again for your kind comments. I hope to see you again soon!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent a wonderful 6 nights at this hotel. They surprised with an upgrade to a junior suite. Space galore for NYC or anywhere for that matter. What a comfortable place to return to after a long day in the city. Excellent service. We were met and our car was parked for us and the luggage taken to our room. Check-in was efficient. We did not touch a thing. The hotel has an excellent breakfast or coffee may be had in the bar area. Excellent advice from the concierge. Everyone was very nice. Great location, many things are within easy walking distance. We will be back,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDHNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear BDHNewHampshire,

I'm so glad to hear that you had such a good time with us! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We started off in an upgraded room right next to the broken ice machine room which was really noisy, room # 911. After being shown several more rooms we were given a complementary suite that worked really well for our family's needs. Staff were professional, attentive and Mohammed the door man was adorable. You can tell the staff like their jobs and like working here. The hotel has an amazing enclosed rooftop pool. With only 11 hotels in NYC with pools this is one of the best. Pool staff were friendly, the place was spotless and the pool was always quiet, despite beine open to the public. We also stayed at The James Hotel in Soho which has a rooftop pool, lap pool which is crowded and not suitable for kids. Le Meridien Parker is a great choice for families. It is close to Central Park, FAO Swartz and MoMA which has a kids program and is a very interactive modern museum. Only fault is the rooms are really run down (we saw 5 rooms) and the whole hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. Also, if you are scared of heights the rooms in the tower can sway in the wind, so ask for a lower floor if you think this will bother you. Final fault is the $10 daily charge for the internet and the pool. Who doesn't have complimentary wifi these days? However, we were in the pool twice a day so it did not bother us so much. The wifi is patchy in certain rooms so if this is a priority for you make sure you ask when checking in, some rooms are better than others. I did have a problem paying a wifi daily charge when it did not work.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower can sway in the wind. We were on the 7th floor which can be noisy as it faced 56t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Emily M,

I was very pleased to read your kind comments about our staff and hotel. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay. As you noted in your review, we have a $10 per day facility fee that offers guests unlimited access to gravity our fitness center, the pool, as well as high-speed internet access for unlimited devices and local and toll free calls from guest rooms. Most hotels in Midtown charge $15+ per device per day for internet access alone, so we feel that the facility is actually a great value.

Thanks again for the feedback! We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good quality hotel in nice location. We didn't eat in the hotel, but we did try cocktails. Wow they were good and strong. Good gym and pool. $10 a day mandatory fee for use of gym/pool/wi-fi. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better, although the lifts are slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear John_and_Alison,

I'm very happy that you enjoyed the hotel (and the cocktails too!). Thanks for sharing your experience.

See you soon!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Clean comfortable room with a superb location relative to Central Park, Midtown, Carnegie Hall, Times Square (if you so desire). Burger Joint and Norma's add great dining options/availability. Lobby main floor area for coffee, cocktails is unique and great for people watching. So much within a few steps outside of the hotel. Wonderful. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTraveler609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Le Parker Meridien New York, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear NJTraveler609,

Thanks for the kind words and nice review. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Have a Good One!

Lisa Tharp
Director of Guest Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#52 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#186 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#147 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,144 reviews
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#67 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#237 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Property: Le Parker Meridien New York
Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Business Hotel in New York City
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing