We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you don't get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #260 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The room HVAC didn't work, and it seemingly could not be repaired. The bathroom and room were nominally clean with dust on the broken clock and hair in the shower. The "top rated" fitness center has dated equipment that is noticeable to any avid fitness enthusiast even through the disguise of the renovated walls and ceilings. The staff are surly with but two exceptions: Mohammed, the bellman, and Alex, of Knave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacations23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,916 - 2,922 of 5,655 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Friendly front desk services and helpful. The room decor is contemporary and I love the swivel TV panel partition which you can watch TV either from sitting area or bedroom sides. Great locations and 1 min walk to 24hrs drug store which carries lots of necessities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Solid hotel experience. We needed a place to stay after hurricane Sandy. We had been out of power for 10 days and were uncomfortable imposing on friends any longer. We decided to take a little mini-vacation and Le Parker Meridian had rooms available. Good service, friendly staff. Junior suite was nicely set up. Good location. I would definitely recommend it. It took our minds off the problems at home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's really all about location and since it's perfect there's no reason to write more about that.
We booked a parkview room and got a room at 23. floor. Sure, we could see the park in between the buildings in front of us. But with a building covering 98 percent of the view we felt obliged to kindly ask for a better view. The room was otherwise really nice. And... "sure, of course, no problem, will 39. floor be nice ?" Great service at the desk! And great view !
We also enjoyed the casual atmosphere and small amount of twisted humour here and there. (Please don't use the minibar as a fridge. If you need a fridge, please let us know and we will be happy to provide you one :)
Somewhat strange though, to find absolutely no information about the facilities in the hotel. But the concierge could tell us everything.
I must mention the bed, which was just fantastic !
Many reasons to stay here, but I'm not to sure about coming back. I expected a little better value and missed a sort of "soul" you can find at many other hotels. The building itself is probably most to blame in that matter, but the staff is doing a great job trying to compensate.
But of course, if you like to sleep well in a spacious clean room (with a view) within walking distance of everything, don't look any further !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Parker Meridien one weekend in October in a junior suite.

The positives:
-GREAT location close to Central Park.
-huge room, sitting area, amazing bathroom.with incredible space, great products
-staff friendly & helpful.
-price for value (we paid $310 per night)
-upgrading to a junior suite puts you on the highest floors with a decent view.
-great little burger restaurant in house. You can call from the room and order your food and skip the long line trailing through the lobby. Very easy fast food you can bring back to your room.
-Starbucks right across the street with free wi fi
-UNBELIEVABLE pool on the 42nd floor overlooking Central Park. You pay extra for the pool use but it's so worth it. views of city and park outside on roof. Grab a chaise and lay in the sun. It's free and one of the best things you'll do.

The negatives
-no coffee maker in room/free coffee in the lobby
-lobby is rather small and loud
-parking will kill you. Google "central parking coupon" and you can get a coupon and save about 40% off parking. We paid $40 per 24 hours rather than $65.00
-no free wi
-restaurant is expensive.
-you can't easily find coffee until 6:30 am on the weekends. Gesh!
-you pay to work out at the fitness center & swim. Really??? Really????

Room Tip: Be willing to pay for an upgrade. It's NYC so they don't negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thespeechgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good service and nice sized rooms and bathroom. We stayed partly because it was recommended to us by a friend and because of its midtown location. It has a pool but you have to pay extra to use it as you do with wifi which was a bit annoying seeing as we had paid a lot of money to stay there. The hotel has a burger joint attached to it which is pretty good, people queue night and day for it.. Norma's is supposed to be good for breakfast and lunch too.

Everything you need is in the room, iron, umbrella, flat screen tv etc but do not remove anything from the minibar unless you want it because it automatically is added to your bill even if you replace it. Take your own hair dryer though if you have long hair because the small one provided isn't very powerful.

The staff were helpful until we were evacuated during hurricane Sandy due to the collapsed crane opposite, when they handled the situation really badly..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyg270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooftop pool on a clear day cannot be beat. Jr. Suites are great for small families. Have stayed here many times over the years and hotel was pretty cool when we first visited. Elevators always seem slow. Maybe they should put cartoon tvs on each floor to watch while waiting for the elevator vs. having them in the elevator cars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ33483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#214 of 470 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,963 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#248 of 470 in New York City
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 470 in New York City
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $229 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing