We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Parker Meridien New York
Ranked #253 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's really all about location and since it's perfect there's no reason to write more about that.
We booked a parkview room and got a room at 23. floor. Sure, we could see the park in between the buildings in front of us. But with a building covering 98 percent of the view we felt obliged to kindly ask for a better view. The room was otherwise really nice. And... "sure, of course, no problem, will 39. floor be nice ?" Great service at the desk! And great view !
We also enjoyed the casual atmosphere and small amount of twisted humour here and there. (Please don't use the minibar as a fridge. If you need a fridge, please let us know and we will be happy to provide you one :)
Somewhat strange though, to find absolutely no information about the facilities in the hotel. But the concierge could tell us everything.
I must mention the bed, which was just fantastic !
Many reasons to stay here, but I'm not to sure about coming back. I expected a little better value and missed a sort of "soul" you can find at many other hotels. The building itself is probably most to blame in that matter, but the staff is doing a great job trying to compensate.
But of course, if you like to sleep well in a spacious clean room (with a view) within walking distance of everything, don't look any further !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    1,916
    710
    290
    250
See reviews for
1,377
1,512
288
1,240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Parker Meridien one weekend in October in a junior suite.

The positives:
-GREAT location close to Central Park.
-huge room, sitting area, amazing bathroom.with incredible space, great products
-staff friendly & helpful.
-price for value (we paid $310 per night)
-upgrading to a junior suite puts you on the highest floors with a decent view.
-great little burger restaurant in house. You can call from the room and order your food and skip the long line trailing through the lobby. Very easy fast food you can bring back to your room.
-Starbucks right across the street with free wi fi
-UNBELIEVABLE pool on the 42nd floor overlooking Central Park. You pay extra for the pool use but it's so worth it. views of city and park outside on roof. Grab a chaise and lay in the sun. It's free and one of the best things you'll do.

The negatives
-no coffee maker in room/free coffee in the lobby
-lobby is rather small and loud
-parking will kill you. Google "central parking coupon" and you can get a coupon and save about 40% off parking. We paid $40 per 24 hours rather than $65.00
-no free wi
-restaurant is expensive.
-you can't easily find coffee until 6:30 am on the weekends. Gesh!
-you pay to work out at the fitness center & swim. Really??? Really????

Room Tip: Be willing to pay for an upgrade. It's NYC so they don't negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thespeechgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good service and nice sized rooms and bathroom. We stayed partly because it was recommended to us by a friend and because of its midtown location. It has a pool but you have to pay extra to use it as you do with wifi which was a bit annoying seeing as we had paid a lot of money to stay there. The hotel has a burger joint attached to it which is pretty good, people queue night and day for it.. Norma's is supposed to be good for breakfast and lunch too.

Everything you need is in the room, iron, umbrella, flat screen tv etc but do not remove anything from the minibar unless you want it because it automatically is added to your bill even if you replace it. Take your own hair dryer though if you have long hair because the small one provided isn't very powerful.

The staff were helpful until we were evacuated during hurricane Sandy due to the collapsed crane opposite, when they handled the situation really badly..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyg270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Rooftop pool on a clear day cannot be beat. Jr. Suites are great for small families. Have stayed here many times over the years and hotel was pretty cool when we first visited. Elevators always seem slow. Maybe they should put cartoon tvs on each floor to watch while waiting for the elevator vs. having them in the elevator cars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ33483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed here several times and LOVE the location... but each time I come back I am reminded that this hotel does not live up to its promise or potential. This visit, the heat in my room did not work - on the second maintenance visit to fix it, the maintenance man told me 'this is a problem with a lot of rooms, I'll just bring you a space heater.' So I spent the week getting up every few hours to turn the space heater on/off. I think consistent, dependable heat should be a basic requirement in a $450/night hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCTX76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having stayed at the Meridien Parker from Oct 26th to Oct 29th 2012, I can say that the hotel operated with supreme poise and effectiveness in the lead up to Hurricane Sandy. The staff couldn't have been more professional, considerate, helpful and friendly if they tried. Even though we faced mandatory evacuation on Oct 29th, as the crane attached to the highrise next to the hotel collapsed, we received detailed updates on a regular basis regarding the expected time frame for re-entry to the premises. And even when it was deemed too dangerous to re-open the hotel, the staff went the extra mile to ensure that everyone's belongings could be collected in a safe and timely manner.
While the storm made the experience somewhat uncomfortable, we would stay at the Meridien Parker again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The elevator shafts are quite noisy... so try to avoid rooms that back onto those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Some rooms need updating and brightening up, Although I was there at the end of October, air con needs improving. My room was either cold or stuffy.

The location was terrific and the hotel's customer service was even better.

Room Tip: End rooms may not have internet access, at least on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy Central Park New York
Viceroy Central Park New York
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Parker Meridien New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parker Meridien New York

Property: Le Parker Meridien New York
Address: 119 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Parker Meridien New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Parker Meridien New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parker Meridien Hotel New York City
Meridien New York City
Meridien Le Parker
Le Parker Meridian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing