We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #159 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious, we had 2 king bedrooms on the 10th floor. The hotel is in a great location, 2 minutes from Times square and broadway and subway is very near. The breakfast was ok, the omellettes were a bit processed but fresh fruit, pastries and waffles more than made up for it as well as the complimentary coffee all day long. Overall i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear snicho,

Thank for choosing to stay at Hampton Inn Times Square North. I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

We are thoroughly delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you consider us to be "Superb"! We strive to make each stay memorable and are very happy that you will recommend us in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,886 - 3,892 of 5,598 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and it was one of the most enjoyable hotel experiences I have had. The hotel is well placed for shopping, Broadway & Central Park and there are 2 subway stations within easy walking distance. The rooms were well appointed & nicely decorated although the bathroom was on the small side. The staff were excellent and demonstrated efficiency at all times. The breakfast room is more than adequate and offers a good selection of hot & cold items. A nice touch is the free coffee & muffins the hotel offers guests in the afternoon. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough in terms of value for money when compared to many other New York establishments.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear ribenaManchester,

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Times Square North, we would like to say thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback during your stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all 4 nights of your stay and that you feel we are worth recomending. The team would have to agree we are in a great location within walking distance of many restaurants from upscale to your basic dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I stayed here for business purposes. They stored my bags since I arrived early and stayed late. The rooms were very spacious by NYC standards and there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ber5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear ber5408,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is one of our main goals to keep the name of our hotel as the number one choice when visiting New York City. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our service and location so much. Sounds like you were very busy!

We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to New York City.

We love having you here!

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Hampton Inn Times Square North has to be a winner for the location alone - within 5 minutes you can be on a Grey Line Bus for the start of a tour, be in Times Square or be in Central Park or on 5th Avenue. We chose this hotel again for the location and for breakfast - to save time in the mornings. The breakfasts were busy affairs but there are signs indicating the most busy times. The 24/7 coffee is greatly appreciated. Our room had 2 king sized beds which were very comfortable and we had enough room to move around. Wi-Fi is available if required and a hairdryer provided in the bathroom There are plenty of restaurants nearby and if you are too tired to eat out - the 'Amadeus' across the road has exceptional pizza by the slice. The garlic dough balls are great and the calzone would feed 4.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear LizM2,

We would first like to say thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North, and most of all for taking time to write a review about our property!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and the team and I would have to agree we are in a great location within walking distance of many theaters. In the future please feel free to contact the hotel and we can assist you with our best available rate.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I just got back from a 5-day stay at this hotel and I wouldn't change a thing about it. The staff was friendly and attentive, recommendations for restaurants and activities were right-on every time, the free breakfast was substantial and really saved us time in the morning. The rooms were adequate and clean and , yes, they were bedbug free! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near Broadway and Fifth Avenue shopping or anyone who wants a subway just a hop, skip, and a jump away. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear ginger2021,

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to Hampton Inn Times Square North soon.

We were all truly overjoyed after reading your experience about your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive continuously to ensure that guests enjoy their stay and are entirely satisfied with their time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel in future.

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Clean, updated rooms, a great location and an attentive staff. One of the managers, Frank, was particularly welcoming and helpful. I plan to return to NYC in May with my sister and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azchiquita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2010

Dear azchiquita53,

We would first like to say thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North, and most of all for taking time to write a review about our property!

We are glad enjoyed our services, the beds/room and location. I would have to agree Frank the Manager is great! He is very knowledgeable about the city and genuinely cares that the guests enjoy their time!

We hope to see you and your sister soon.

Best regards,

Team Hampton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I booked a double (queen) room in August for a weekend stay for three adults in mid-October. The room rate was based on total payment up front.

We arrived at the hotel at 10pm and were told by the front desk clerk the hotel was overbooked and they had no double rooms available. I was told they would give us room with a king bed and rollaway in exchange for the room I had booked. I questioned why the room I had booked and paid for in advance was not available and was told there were guests who had extended their stay beyond their original reservation and therefore the hotel was overbooked. I asked to speak with a manager and the woman disappeared into the back room, came out and said they would give us a double room, but someone else who was due to check in would lose their room as they were giving it to us instead. (Please explain the logic behind this to me since we had already booked and paid for a double room months in advance). Needless to say we got the room we had booked and paid for, but not after having been put through the ringer.

That said, the hotel location was fantastic. Slightly away from the hubbub and congestion of Times Square, yet only a few blocks away from it all. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The food and drink were continually re-stocked and it was clean and a really awesome perk before starting a busy day of NYC sight-seeing. The options were really great too. Not your standard continental breakfast, but a variety of hot foods as well. The rooms were clean and had all the necessary amenities for a nice stay. The biggest plus was lack of bed-bugs. I was hesitant to visit NYC based on the horror stories of bed bugs, but the rooms were clean and not a bed-bug in site. It’s no ‘W Hotel’ but then again we had breakfast and then returned at night to sleep in the room.

Although my experience overall was good, I probably would not book this hotel again after our check-in experience. If I book and pay for a room in advance I would expect that exact room to be available to me upon check-in. We're still baffled by this experience and the fact that the hotel management seems to think that this type of situation is totally acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluedog412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2010

Dear bluedog412,

Thank you for your sincere input about your stay. We value what you have to say so we can become a better hotel in the near future!

As the Guest Services Manager for our hotel I would like to apologize for the issue that occurred during your arrival. It is disappointing that you left our hotel without feeling 100% satisfied. Please feel free to contact our hotel to discuss you the situation more in detail.

On behalf of the Team at the Hampton Inn Times Square North I would like to say thank you for staying with us. We always strive to be the best and are always listening to our valued guests for new ways of improving. We hope to see you the next time you are in the city and you give us an opportunity to make amends.

We love having you here!

Best regards,

Team Hampton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,397 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,034 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,905 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#336 of 470 in New York City
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing