We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weekend in Manhattan”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Third if not fourth stay at this Hampton Inn. Great location to everything you want to see in downtown without the congestion of Time Square. Nice restaurants nearby and short walk to 5th Avenue. Staff was very as well as service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello Jonathan,

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We appreciate the great feedback and hope that you will continue to stay with us for all of your New York City travel needs.


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,782
    1,938
    435
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,273
1,362
200
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Front desk people were very courteous and polite, as well as the bell captains,
Room was clean and neat.
The Lady in charge of the breakfast room was Great.
Overall, Good experience, would recommend this Hampton property.
RD.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello Raul,

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. Please be sure to come back!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

LOCATION, YES!!! Our room was great and so was the service. Hallways a little dark but I wasn't sleeping there. We were out on the town most of the time. Best mattress and pillow, (actually going to order pillows.) Elevators slow at times, but we were on the top floor, so that's par for the course.It was our 35th wedding anniversary, when we got to our room there was a bottle of wine and balloons, compliments of the manager. Nice touch!!! Breakfast area needs a little refiguring because waffle area and toaster area get congested. But I'm up for another stay here, next time, in NYC!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello Dee,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting such great feedback. I am happy to see that all went well during your stay and we will look for you to return!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent location and easy but lots of walking to midtown attractions like Broadway theatres, Times Square, restaurant row, Central Park, Rockefeller center, etc.. Check in was prompt and we got a room right away even though we arrived at 1:30 pm. The 2 queen bed room was large enough for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 tall teenagers). There were neutrogena products in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soap) and plenty of towels. Also, finally a hotel room that had enough hooks in the bathroom to hang up towels! The water pressure from the shower was nice and strong. There is free wifi in the rooms and lobby and the signal is good. The TV worked great, adequate lighting, a chair with ottoman, workdesk and lap desk in the room and there were also plenty of outlets to charge your electronics. The window also opened and the AC worked fine. The beds were comfortable but the pillows are very flat. Also included is free breakfast (eggs or omelettes, sausage/bacon or homefries, oatmeal, waffles, cereals, milk, juices, fruits, pastries, bagels/toast). The line ups for breakfast does get long especially between 8:30 and 10:00 am. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate is available in the lobby all day, and flavoured creamers were also available. I wish they would have had a water cooler as well. During the weekday afternoons, cookies were also available for guests to snack on. There is a tuck shop that sells, snacks, drinks and souvenirs in the lobby but it is pricier than the stores just across the street. There are 3 computers and a printer available for use in the lobby and a workout room with a variety of equipment. Eight Avenue vehicle traffic moves one way to the north so we found while traffic was alot, the noise was minimal even though our room faced the street. Luggage storage is available. Staff were polite and knowledgeable about the area. Rooms were cleaned daily. There is parking next door but we did not use this service. The shower curtain and carpet smelled musty and could use a change but overall we were quite pleased with this hotel and would recommend it for its value and convenience.

Room Tip: I think there are 11 floors. Ask for a room away from the elevator if that noise bothers you as peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinaMBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello Dina,

Thank you for posting in regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the great comments and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed there for 8 nights in July (2014) for a training course.

I requested and was granted a top floor room to avoid the traffic noise (including the sirens that never seem to stop)

Not an issue with the room - great bed (which is one of my main requirements). The breakfast is fundamental but it is FREE. There are plenty of places to go if you want variety.

Need to try to get in before the 0730 rush - weekends look like a bit of a pain with greater numbers.

Staff assisted as required so no issues there.

All in all - would recommend to the visitor who wants to spend time around Times Square and the various shows. There is a subway station across the road so you can explore the network. If you feel like a walk then go for it - New York (the "central area") is not that big and the exercise is great.

Re the comments about the need for room update - did not find that as room was OK. I also found the bathroom size adequate. There was a bath if you wanted to soak so really not an issue.

You are about 8 blocks from Columbus Circle (Central Park).

Good value - would stay again

Room Tip: I would ask for room as high as possible. I had one in the corner on 11th floor well away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick11002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your most recent stay with us. It brings us pleasure to see that all went well during your stay and we are appreciative of all the great feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We're Hampton Inn fans, but this one was not up to their usual standards. We realized when we got there before noon that we wouldn't get a room, what we expected was when the staff said the room would be ready for us by 1 and we arrived at 2, the room would be ready. After a 30 minute wait for housekeeping to check and see if one of two rooms was ready, we were offered a room by the elevators (we are VERY FREQUENT guests). After another 15 minutes we had a better room offered. When we got to the room the houskeeper was sitting in the room across the hall having a soda and watching TV. I know they get breaks, but seriously, in the room, in sight of guests?! Breakfast was good, but lnes were long, replenishing of items was slow, breadkfast staff was less than friendly, and seating area way too small. Our last stay at this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Marsha,

Thank you for staying with us during your most recent visit to New York City. I would like to apologize for the experience you encountered during your stay as it is not the norm for our guests. We hope that you will return to get the TRUE Hampton Inn experience.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of this property is excellent. You are close to Central Park as well as the Broadway, Times Square area and the chic shopping on Fifth Ave. Walking is the norm so be prepared to put on the miles here. The hotel staff was adequate but the rooms are in need of an update. There was spots of mold in the bathroom and had the bathroom been any smaller, it would have competed with a cruise ship cabin! The breakfast room as mobbed but you are warned of this with a schedule listed in the lobby as to the times it is best to use. If you want to play cards in the evening in the lobby (no tables in the rooms), you have to get the front desk to open the breakfast room for you. If it's summer time, take a sweater in here.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello Jerry,

Thank you for commenting about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and we certainly hope to undergo some “updating” in the near future. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,001 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing