We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; friendly, helpful staff; breakfast needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #161 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at this location to see Broadway shows as a gift for her 16th birthday. We were very happy with the location. Just across the street from Gershin and a short walk to everything in Times Square. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaints would be our room was a little stuffy, and the breakfast setup needs improvement. To their defense, when I mentioned that I could not get the room quite comfortable enough by adjusting the thermostat, they offered to send up a technician, but at the time, my daughter was ill and resting in the room so i declined. The breakfast area where the food was set up was very small for the number of guests there, so by 9am there was always a line waiting for food. This was very disappointing and aggravating for such nice hotel, especially when you're paying almost $250/night! Even when we arrived by 7:30, there was a line for the only 2 waffle makers which are VERY slow and poorly located. However, the pros outweighed the cons and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hello Dana,

Thank you for the honest feedback and appreciate you staying with us during your time spent in New York City. Hoping that all went well for your daughters 16th birthday!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,457)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,000 - 2,006 of 5,457 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the second year we've stayed at this hotel in NYC. The location can't be beat coming into or leaving NYC. The hotel itself needs a bit of a visual upgrade and the lobby could use a slight expansion, but otherwise well worth the price paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Douglas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hello Douglas,

Thank you for the honest feedback and appreciate you staying with us for the second year in a row. Hoping to see you next year as well!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I just came back from an overnight stay and this hotel was great! It is very close to Times Square, Broadway shows, shopping and Central Park. The hotel was clean, well-appointed and the staff friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was great too! For the price I paid, it was an amazing value. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hello Marlene,

Thanks for posting in regards to your recent stay. We appreciate all the great feedback and hope to see you again soon.


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Thank you to Bryan and Katherine for their excellent customer service. Thanks to Bryan for going the extra mile in ensuring that our room for the extra night was available to us after our group had left. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a nice size and clean. We will definitely be back again and look forward to seeing you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hello Heather,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent time spent in New York. I will be sure to share this comment with both Bryan and Katherine. I’m sure they will both be excited. Please come again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love this hotel for its location. The rooms are big compared to many other hotels in NYC. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The only downside is that the rooms can be more expensive than similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit with us. We appreciate all the great comment and feedback.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a very reasonably priced hotel (for New York) which includes a full breakfast buffet as well as all day tea/coffee/hot chocolate/bowl of apples in the lobby. Staff was very friendly and accommodating from front desk to concierge to bell boys and wait staff. Location is close to Times Square, Theatre District, Central Park and Fifth Avenue, so very central. This was our second time staying here and we will come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 911 which faces a side street and is very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoCouple763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hello,

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and I thank you for posting your feedback. We hope to see you again.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great experience! Rooms were very nice and clean! Great staff, very helpful and extremely pleasant. Perfect location, subway stop right down the block. Walk to Times Square, Macy's right there. Couldn't ask for better location. I would definitely stay there any time I am going to NYC. My only negative would be breakfast, not so good but I think for kids would be fine and hey it's NY there are places to eat everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nogy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hello,

Thanks for posting great feedback about your stay. We are happy to see that all went well during your time in New York. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#250 of 468 in New York City
2,431 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,075 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#114 of 468 in New York City
6,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing