We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnificent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“magnificent hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a great hotel at great NYC rates. Service is excellent and always with a smile from ALL employees. Breakfast excellent. Omlettes or scrambled eggs, turkey sausage or hash browns every morning as well as fresh cut fruit. Coffee available 24 hours a day. A robust coffee option which negates a need to go to Starbucks. Very nice, amply sized rooms. Very good location with respect to subway system with C & E within a block and 1, N, Q, N, and R within 3 blocks. Oh, and I forgot the cookies every weekday afternoon in the lobby and apples available 24 hours a day. All in all, our new favorite NYC hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA-to-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting in regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel and the many amenities that we have to offer our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,748
    1,904
    424
    109
    57
See reviews for
2,234
1,346
198
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Unpretentious and thought of everything that is important. Clean. Super bed and bedding. Not a massive buffet for the hot breakfast (included in the price,) yet certainly more than adequate and good quality. Although only a coffee maker in the room (but this is America!)and I drink only tea, it was just a short hop in the elevator to FREE tea, coffee, chocolate etc. 24/7, what a saver that was, in every sense of the word. Effective and free wifi throughout the hotel was another luxury. To the English, there is no such thing as cheap accomodation in New York but this must be the best of the less expensive ones. Helpful staff and travel information desk. Perfect location for us. Hope my comments don't cause it to be so busy that I can't get in next time -but they do deserve to be constantly full.

Room Tip: Near the lift is great for ice machine and access to the free tea, coffee etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello David,

Thanks you for sharing such great feedback about the hotel and your stay. I am happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Please come again during your next adventure to New York!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The staff was all very nice. Breakfast has a wide variety of choices. We were some what disappointed with the room. The bed was really comfy, the sofa sleeper...not at all. I think the rooms would benefit greatly from a remodel. Beyond that all was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1seeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for posting your honest feedback of the hotel. Hopefully we will be undergoing some remodeling in the near future so I hope that you will return to see the change. I am happy to see that the service from the staff helped to make a difference in your stay.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Cookies and fruit were awaiting us in the lobby along with the 24 hour coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar. The breakfasts were varied and very nice. Our room was a gracious space with a sofa. I enjoyed the room because being on the 10th floor really helped to keep the noise of the city down. I would be happy to stay their again.

Room Tip: Ours was a corner room on the 10th out of 11 floors. It was very quiet. Be sure to use your "Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaDukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Donna,

I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. The cookies are a big hit for our guests and I see they won you over as well. We would be happy to have you as a guest again as well!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Can't beat it- free wonderful hot breakfast. great staff, helpful with storing bags for a few hours after check out, restaurant info. If you can , sign up to be a Hilton Honors member- you'll get some nice benefits. We got bottles of water, and a nice room on the corner of the building. Rooms were great, clean, and beds comfy. We were going to see Wicked and were surprised the theatre was in sight, around the corner! Even the little pizza place across the street, Gotham Pizza, is worth a slice and the diner across the street, Cosmic diner, was good for pie after the show. great location for the subway- it is across the street on the corner as well. When I go back to NYC, I will come back here!

Room Tip: Hilton Honors card!! Higher floor, is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank konagirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for posting about your recent stay. I hope you enjoyed Wicked, I hear it’s a really good play.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed from Mon 26th May to Saturday 31st May on the 8th floor facing 8th Avenue 2 adults and a young adult of 14 ( children only up to 12 in America apparently).

Chose this hotel after some investigation for a 5 day/6 night stay in New York for Broadway shows and the usual New York experience ( if there is such a thing )! Arrived by transfer from Newark Liberty Airport having got a transfer on arrival. We originally meant to get the sky train, but this was out of action for planned maintenance . There were extremely helpful people on on hand to arrange and a slick process a bit like 'Argos' where you were given a number which was called out when your 'ride' arrived, given two options and we took the more expensive (60$) but quicker time option (cheaper one was $52 but half an our longer). The only thing about this transfer was the minibus went to several places and took best part of an hour to deliver us in air conditioned comfort to our hotel, not a problem for us but could be more so if you are really tired or had a bad flight.

Hotel was efficient, comfortable and excellent in location a walk of 250m to times square . Subway is 100m away. Most theaters with in 500m. Central Park i about a 10/15 minute walk depending on your pace. The breakfast is a bit of a scrum later on, but is tolerable for anyone but the most impatient. One point they might like to consider is that they lay on free tea and coffee in the lobby 24hrs, but could really do with supplying small bottles of water as well, wouldn't cost that much, but would be really appreciated.

If You ask for a High floor facing 8th Avenue it was quiet enough, but with a great view of the street scene of New York ( see photo).

The room we had ( 2 queen beds) was spacious, clean and well appointed with a newish HD flat screen TV. The corridors look a little tired, but this does not detract from the feel of the place yet. One thing to note is there was no fridge in the room, but an ice maker 20 steps down the hall and the ice bucket in the room saved the day for the milk and wine we purchased from the over the road.

We had lots booked and I will go through this now, although this is not to do with the hotel, I will relate it to how the hotel location made it really easy.

Day 1 NY 9 hour shuttle tour- this you can pick up from times square immediately over the road and down 50th street. This was an excellent tour of the city on an air conditioned bus to see: grand central station, St Patrick's cathedral, the Empire state ( premium ticket), lunch in little Italy/China town, Wall street, the Statue of liberty ( pedestal tickets) and the poignant 9/11 memorial. Jack the guide was excellent and knew so much about NY.

Day 2 Wednesday went to the Museum of Art and Design ( 18$ per adult) near central park, the wind got up and got a bit cold so we took the tube down to 23rd street to pick up the High line, a park made on the raised old railroad along the west of Manhattan. We stopped off at Chelsea market and had a shop and some lunch, very nice. That night went to Majestic theater to see the Phantom of the Opera, excellent show ( had booked seat on telecharge before arriving), all worked like clockwork. Norm Lewis and Sierra Bogas were a triumph and delighted my daughter by coming to the stage door and signing autographs, ~300m walk back to hotel afterwards.

Day three Thursday took to subway to Brooklyn and walked across the Brooklyn Bridge ( about a mile) with excellent views of the south Manhattan skyline. Then went to the south street seaport and sat and watched a jazz band in the open air before enjoying the heritage views of ships etc. and then back to central park, walked across the park from strawberry fields and went to the zoo. Be warned central park zoo is one thing in America which is subtle... no lions, zebras, giraffes (aka Madagascar) just penguins, seal lions and snow leopards and a tropical house, that said, a lovely way to spend an hour or two.

Day 4 Friday Subway to China town to buy some 'tat' ( bags, liberty statues etc.) and then back to the Rockefeller Center and top of the Rock. If you only get to do one sky scraper view point on your trip do top-of-the-rock as it is made for viewing and far superior to the Empire state in its unbroken views etc. Tonight was Les Miz at the imperial, the whole reason for us being there, and a triumph at was too... Ramin Karimloo, our daughters hero, was fantastic and didn't disappoint , apart from not signing autographs due to a calf strain he had picked up ( We forgive him!).

Day 5 Saturday kicked around the Rockefeller center, 5th Avenue and times square for a spot of shopping and a sit in a bar off time square then a taxi (65$ all in) to JFK for a flight home.

This was a Marathon NY adventure, and the Hotel just made it really easy as a base. We cannot thank them enough for making it an easy, comfortable and welcome stay in NY. We would definitely use the Hampton again.

Room Tip: high room overlooking 8th Avenue was a great view and not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earnie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing how great your experience was here at the hotel. It was a pleasure to host your stay and we hope that you will return one day!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The room was fine---The cleaning of the room could have been better. The breakfast was good but usually packed with no where to sit so we brought it back to our room. There were three of us in the room which had one king bed and a pull-out couch. All the beds were comfortable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or pool here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERESAhCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hello Teresa,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of the hotel. I am happy to see that overall its seems like you had a good stay. We will be sure to share your comments with the housekeeping as we are always looking for ways to improve. Please come again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,989 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing