We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #160 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've been staying at this hotel every year for the past four years for an annual trip. The hotel is conveniently located near the theaters and plenty of restaurants. If the weather is OK, its about a 30 minute walk from Penn station. Although there is no pool, they also recently upgraded their fitness room with some new treadmills and stuff. They have a concierge to help visitors with basic questions about the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Hello Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for being a loyal guest. Location is key- when it comes to our property and we're happy that this works to your benefit.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,220 - 2,226 of 5,544 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

Location tremendous for those interested in plays, shopping, major tourist attractions. Efficient Breakfast Room staff. Rosa P. especially helpful to hungry folks. All staff very friendly; answered many questions.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on 8th ave side provided best views of City That Never Sleeps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience! I will be sure to share your comments with Rosa as well.


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a great place that I stayed the weekend of April 10th with my select choir. We sang at Carnegie Hall on the 13th and the hotel was kind enough to let us stay there and they were very kind to us and made us feel welcomed and provide breakfast for us each day. I would definitely stay here again if I were to come back!

Room Tip: Pick rooms that look out at all the musical signs and busy streets. It's fun to watch the busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iholland95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I heard from one of the other guest in your group that the show went exceptionally well, congrats. We hope to host your next stay in New York as well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Found this hotel and rooms to be better than expected. Plenty of space in double queen room for a family of four, but we already paid for 2 rooms! Comfortable, very clean and wonderfully located for Wicked show. Breakfast buffet was very crowded BUT they warn you of that when you check in. Plenty to eat and hot beverages free all day long! Noise from other rooms was easy to hear through the walls so bring ear plugs. Close to drug stores, restaurants and subway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews in Trip Advisor and for the discounts Hilton afforded me and my family. First of all, if you need to stay in midtown, this is a great location. Easy walking distance to the theaters (Jersey Boys is half a block away), Times Square and a ton of restaurants. It is also well connected to the subway lines and 8th Avenue traffic is less than other closer-to-the-center streets so taxis can come and go quickly. The hotel itself needs some work as the rooms are looking a little worn. That being said, they are quite large, very clean and the beds are comfortable. The old air conditioning system is a little noisy but I was so exhausted it did not stop me from sleeping. The staff is on the ball, friendly and helpful. I had a couple of problems while I was there like losing the key to the safe in my room but the staff took it in stride and it was opened in under 5 minutes! Shockingly good service for New York. Breakfast is a bit of zoo with long lines for the waffle machines but you do not have to stand in line if all you want is a continental style breakfast. One of the staffers wanders around with OJ - quite welcome. And there is bottled water, coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 7/24. OK - so this is not the Plaza but it is a well-run hotel with a great staff. And anyway, who needs the attitude of those bigger names!

Room Tip: The rooms with a single king usually have a pull out coach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello John,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community. We appreciate the great yet honest feedback. We are looking to undergo some remodeling in the near future so I hope that you will return sometime soon once this is completed. I will definitely share your remarks with all of the staff as well as I am sure they will be pleased to hear,

I hope this finds you well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very nice spacious hotel in an excellent central location nearby Times Square, Central Park & Broadway. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. 2 Queen size beds with plenty of storage space. Bathroom was a little tired but on the whole a very good standard of room for centre of NYC. Only downside was the heart of the city can get noisy if fire engine or police car sirens go by to disturb your sleep but hey ho you are in heart of NYC.. go with it!

The tea & coffee that was always available was a god send especially after a hectic day of sightseeing. Staff were also very friendly, especially the reception.

Breakfasts were very busy around 08.30 but it was good to get something to eat to set you up for the day ahead. Great selection/variety each morning with Omelettes, waffles, cakes, fruit, cereals, tea, coffee, juice etc.

All in all I would return and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasgowbeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I will be sure to share your thoughts with our entire team!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is well located to explore New York City. We stayed here for four nights in February and enjoyed our stay. The staff were quite helpful and the rooms were clean, quite sizable and nicely decorated (suiting it's 3 star status). The windows were well sound proof baring in mind the busy street outside and we had a good nights sleep. Being quite a large hotel there sometimes was a queue for the lifts at peak times and the only downside was at the breakfast room. It was quite small in comparison with the number of guests and it was difficult to find an available table. Also breakfast was served on paper plates and with plastic cutlery to accompany them. Having said this it was all about location for us as we were out of the hotel all day. We walked to most places or used to city sightseeing bus which stopped conveniently lower down the street. Would stay here again as it is a good location to explore the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Location is definitely one of our strong points being that we are walking distance to most major attractions, theaters and located just 1 block away from the subway entrance.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,707 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#112 of 469 in New York City
6,979 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 469 in New York City
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing