We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #138 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've been staying at this hotel every year for the past four years for an annual trip. The hotel is conveniently located near the theaters and plenty of restaurants. If the weather is OK, its about a 30 minute walk from Penn station. Although there is no pool, they also recently upgraded their fitness room with some new treadmills and stuff. They have a concierge to help visitors with basic questions about the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for being a loyal guest. Location is key- when it comes to our property and we're happy that this works to your benefit.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    1,680
    353
    84
    40
See reviews for
1,986
1,178
181
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Location tremendous for those interested in plays, shopping, major tourist attractions. Efficient Breakfast Room staff. Rosa P. especially helpful to hungry folks. All staff very friendly; answered many questions.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on 8th ave side provided best views of City That Never Sleeps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience! I will be sure to share your comments with Rosa as well.


Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a great place that I stayed the weekend of April 10th with my select choir. We sang at Carnegie Hall on the 13th and the hotel was kind enough to let us stay there and they were very kind to us and made us feel welcomed and provide breakfast for us each day. I would definitely stay here again if I were to come back!

Room Tip: Pick rooms that look out at all the musical signs and busy streets. It's fun to watch the busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iholland95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I heard from one of the other guest in your group that the show went exceptionally well, congrats. We hope to host your next stay in New York as well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Found this hotel and rooms to be better than expected. Plenty of space in double queen room for a family of four, but we already paid for 2 rooms! Comfortable, very clean and wonderfully located for Wicked show. Breakfast buffet was very crowded BUT they warn you of that when you check in. Plenty to eat and hot beverages free all day long! Noise from other rooms was easy to hear through the walls so bring ear plugs. Close to drug stores, restaurants and subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews in Trip Advisor and for the discounts Hilton afforded me and my family. First of all, if you need to stay in midtown, this is a great location. Easy walking distance to the theaters (Jersey Boys is half a block away), Times Square and a ton of restaurants. It is also well connected to the subway lines and 8th Avenue traffic is less than other closer-to-the-center streets so taxis can come and go quickly. The hotel itself needs some work as the rooms are looking a little worn. That being said, they are quite large, very clean and the beds are comfortable. The old air conditioning system is a little noisy but I was so exhausted it did not stop me from sleeping. The staff is on the ball, friendly and helpful. I had a couple of problems while I was there like losing the key to the safe in my room but the staff took it in stride and it was opened in under 5 minutes! Shockingly good service for New York. Breakfast is a bit of zoo with long lines for the waffle machines but you do not have to stand in line if all you want is a continental style breakfast. One of the staffers wanders around with OJ - quite welcome. And there is bottled water, coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 7/24. OK - so this is not the Plaza but it is a well-run hotel with a great staff. And anyway, who needs the attitude of those bigger names!

Room Tip: The rooms with a single king usually have a pull out coach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello John,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community. We appreciate the great yet honest feedback. We are looking to undergo some remodeling in the near future so I hope that you will return sometime soon once this is completed. I will definitely share your remarks with all of the staff as well as I am sure they will be pleased to hear,

I hope this finds you well.

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very nice spacious hotel in an excellent central location nearby Times Square, Central Park & Broadway. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. 2 Queen size beds with plenty of storage space. Bathroom was a little tired but on the whole a very good standard of room for centre of NYC. Only downside was the heart of the city can get noisy if fire engine or police car sirens go by to disturb your sleep but hey ho you are in heart of NYC.. go with it!

The tea & coffee that was always available was a god send especially after a hectic day of sightseeing. Staff were also very friendly, especially the reception.

Breakfasts were very busy around 08.30 but it was good to get something to eat to set you up for the day ahead. Great selection/variety each morning with Omelettes, waffles, cakes, fruit, cereals, tea, coffee, juice etc.

All in all I would return and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgowbeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I will be sure to share your thoughts with our entire team!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is well located to explore New York City. We stayed here for four nights in February and enjoyed our stay. The staff were quite helpful and the rooms were clean, quite sizable and nicely decorated (suiting it's 3 star status). The windows were well sound proof baring in mind the busy street outside and we had a good nights sleep. Being quite a large hotel there sometimes was a queue for the lifts at peak times and the only downside was at the breakfast room. It was quite small in comparison with the number of guests and it was difficult to find an available table. Also breakfast was served on paper plates and with plastic cutlery to accompany them. Having said this it was all about location for us as we were out of the hotel all day. We walked to most places or used to city sightseeing bus which stopped conveniently lower down the street. Would stay here again as it is a good location to explore the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence_Shorter, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Location is definitely one of our strong points being that we are walking distance to most major attractions, theaters and located just 1 block away from the subway entrance.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Lawrence Shorter
Director of Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#60 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,174 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,985 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing