We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and good size rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #159 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent location with red and blue lines just a few minutes away. King room with big desk and sofa a fine bonus. View from 10th floor west to river was delightful. Room cleaning staff was excellent doing some nice extra things. Breakfast on weekends was jammed, but food was good. Morning coffee was delicious. Nonsmoking policy seemed to have been observed. Room was fresh and smoke-free. Overall, a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Stirling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Stirling M:

Thank you for your review. As a Guest service manager i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We loved having you here.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Times Square North.

Best regards,

Katherine Gonell R.
Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,341 - 2,347 of 5,593 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hampton Inn has with the perfect location. It is peaceful here but still close to explore-worthy places. The décor of the hotel oozes elegance, the ambiance very warm and inviting. The hotel was cheery and lively and so were the rooms; clean and cheery with the perfect setting and lighting. They were well furnished and had a nice view. Our room had free Wi-Fi too. During our check in, we were offered complimentary coffee and that set our mood. I had tea which was also complimentary. Our room also had this pull out sofa which was a great thing as the room was not that big but adequately large for us. We later found out that the hotel served complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby all the time. They were a friendly, hospitable bunch; the staff. We enjoyed our stay, especially our visit to the Times Square.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Sabina H.,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed our amenities. I will share your praises with our staff. Please contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Times Square North.


Warm Regards,

Martyn Reed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A decent hotel. Room was big enough and clean. There was a small coffee machine in the room but nothing to make tea, u could bring it from downstairs, but bring u own tea bags as the local ones was funny tasting:) Breakfast was ok, if u go before 8-9....basic, but did the job I suppose. Mostly try stuff, muffins/ cereal, did had turkey sausages and omelette one day:) The best thing about this hotel is the location, 5 min from Times square, central park , 10 min empire building. Plenty of bars around hotel, Irish bar and diner cross the road. And a convenience shop:) and metro. Enjoy :))

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KairitB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Reeman,

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry that there was no Tea in your room but I am pleased that the rest of your stay was good. Please reach out to me the next time you are in New York and I will be happy to make it up to you.

Warmly,

Felix Maldonado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

On a very cold, sunny day we strolled up the 19 blocks from Penn Station to be greeted by Jae Paul at the desk. It was early but by the time we had a cup of tea in the lobby he informed us that our room was ready. That was the start to a lovely 36 hours in NYC. Every place we were going was conveniently located; Columbus Circle, MOMA, the Marriott for a luncheon. Especially easy was the theater for Wicked. We walked the block, put our name in for the lottery, returned to get out $35 tickets, went back to the lobby for cookies and coffee, returned to the theater and afterwards enjoyed tea in our comfortable room. When Mr. Paul checked us out the next day, he arranged for us to leave our things there and to return to change our clothes before the 19 blocks back. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear oma3,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay and thank you for the kind words about Jae Paul. I am very happy he was able to accomodate you and that you had a wonderful time. We hope that the Hampton Inn will always be your home away from home when in New York.

Warmly,

Felix Maldonado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with my family and some friends. Location is good. Clean rooms, free basic breakfast, complimentary hot beverages 24 hours, free lunch bags, free cookies in the afternoon, and free bottles of water. We had a room with double queen beds. The rates varied lot since we made our reservation. I would recommend not to buy the non-refundable option, because the final rate was below that price.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Nicki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We loved having you here! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I can't tell you how happy I was with this property. The hotel was immaculate, good size room, comfy bed and pillows, and attentive maid service. Excellent location in times sq / theater district. Really good buffet breakfast( eggs, fresh waffles , fruit), all included! For under $200 a night you would be hard pressed to find anything better or even comparable. I would definitely stay again, and have in fact booked property for a stay next month.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadhead60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are so happy you had a wonderful experience at our hotel, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Enjoyed a five night stay, spotless room, with a great complimentary breakfast. We went down for breakfast early to avoid the alleged busy period, and had a good breakfast. Was much later the following day, and yes it was a lot busier but the staff were great and there were no problems. Would recommend staying here, good value and lovely staff. Couldn't ask for more. Location fabulous and will return again here. Thanks to the staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Archieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We loved having you here! We hope to see you in the near future!

Regards,
Melissa Infante
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,032 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,899 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#336 of 470 in New York City
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing