We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #162 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We found the location to be very convenient for walking to the many attractions in the area but the real value here was the staff. They were the best, especially Haznat (hope I got that right). I have never been in a hotel that had staff that treated us this good. Very clean, Very quiet, everything you would hope for in a quality stay in New York. (We'll be back) Thanks folks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve44883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,446)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,426 of 5,448 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Myself and my mother visited New York last week for her 50th Birthday and stayed at the Hampton Inn on 51st Street. We originally booked the Hilton, however, swapped when we realised we could get a free hot breakfast/WIFI at The Hampton Inn. Both of these luxuries were faultless. The WIFI connection was fast and the daily breakfast buffet was amazing, offering everything from bagels and toast, to waffles, eggs, sausages, cereal and plenty of fresh fruit to fill your bag with for the whole day. Regardless of the other reviews that have stated the queues for breakfast were long, this did not happen to us. It was so relaxed each day and the chef would top everything up as soon as he noticed things were running low and they also have a TV in there for you to watch. A selection of teas, hot chocolate and Coffee were available and free at all times from the hotel lobby, we even got a machine in our room that made the most glorious hot filtered style coffee, which we made each morning whilst we got ready. Breakfast bags are available from reception if you can’t stay and you can even take your breakfast back to your room if you don’t want to sit in the dining room.

Upon arrival we were offered a bell boy but decided to go it alone in the elevator, as you have to keep tipping every time someone does something for you (be careful of this it can get very expensive in NYC). Within a few minutes of finding our room, a lady knocked on the door and gave us two huge Disney cup cakes because it was my mom's birthday, and when I telephoned down stairs during our stay, the receptionists would always greet you with your name, which was very good service and made us feel really welcome.

The staff here were very helpful at all times and concierge was available everyday from 8am for enquiries. They answered any questions we had and were most helpful regarding directions. The cleaners were very friendly and did a damn good job, each day of making sure our rooms were fully serviced and cleaned. I couldn’t believe how many different towels you get each day for showers etc, the convenience was just endless. Apples are available from the lobby all the time for you to take and a wide selection of cookies are provided from 3pm daily for you to help yourself. All the other guests were so normal and friendly as well.
The hotel is in such a convenient location for absolutely everything you want to do in New York City. If you turn left outside the hotel and keep walking you will find Central Park just at the bottom of the road, and a few blocks away is Macys and the famous Tic-Toc diner. We even had three Star Bucks, Dunkin' Donuts, Prêt A Manger, Wendy's, a post office, a Pick-A-Bagel and a small supermarket on the street all within arm’s reach. If you cross the road, straight ahead of you is all the action of Times Square and just round the corner, you will find ALL the great Broadway theatres. Across the road, the tour buses pick up and drop off like all the time and there was always one waiting... Heck! I cannot fault the location of this hotel or its fabulous service.
When we were leaving we were able to book a shuttle bus through concierge that picked us up at the hotel and took us straight to the airport (across the Manhattan Bridge) for $22 each! I would HIGHLY recommend the Hampton Inn, Times Square North. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit for my 30th. If you are looking for a reasonable but reputable accommodation with EXCELLENT STAFF, excellent service and convenience, then stay here, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 804 on the front and had a huge view of the street below. Some of the photos adver...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newyork L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Although this hotel is not in the more upmarket areas around Times Square, it proved ideal. Close to a subway station, Times Square and the Whole Foods at Columbus (where we ate several meals). Yes the breakfast room was busy, but we were happy just to take some bread and coffee. Cooked food wasn't great, so we didn't feel we had missed out. Free coffeee on tap all day. Rooms were big, and although not luxury, they were comforatble and clean. Some staff were a little surly, but you get that everywhere. Concierge booked a taxi for our return to Newark airport. On the phone he was asking "is that your best price?" - I guess this was for show, because subsequently I managed to book one online very easily with Dial7 for $20 less. Cancelled the concierge's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dekard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Overall Great Stay. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay better. Clean, Friendly, Professional. Great location, Couple blocks there is a subway station, or Times Square. Close enough to the action, without being in it The BEST Shower I have ever had in a hotel anywhere. Tons of restaurants, Theatres, Sights all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

You can find a better decorated hotel in NYC. You can find one less expensive or spend more at higher end hotel. However, you won't find one with a better location or a friendlier staff in the city. We stayed 7 nights over Labor Day. The staff was fantastic, especially Fred M. He was alway in the lobby and very helpful to 1st time tourist. It's 10 minute walk to Central park, Rockefeller Center, Time Square, and to all the shows. A 5 minutes walk to subway and tour buses. The room was bigger than expected. The free breakfast was very good, but if you don't like it, there are other choices just outside the door.

Thank IllinoisBlowhole
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

About 8 short blocks north of Times Square and the same distance south of Central Park and times Warner Centre, this place is very well positioned for tourists exploring Manhattan. Eighth Ave takes you right to Columbus Circle and the park.

Rooms are surprisingly spacious. We've paid more for smaller rooms in other major cities. Room was very clean, comfortable - pillows in various densities. Must add that the hotel is getting close to needing a basic reno, but still very decent.

Full breakfast had excellent choice - you can go eggs, sausage and toast, or you can choose a very healthy meal. Lots of options. Menu changes daily. The breakfast room was large - a good thing as it was busy both mornings we ate there. Popular with tourists.

Front desk staff were friendly and helpful

Will stay here next time!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking 8th Ave. No noise, lots of interesting action.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiqueshowscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from a week's stay , staff were very accommodating . Breakfasts were good , and not at all stressful with big long queues as we had expected from reading other reviews. However we DID come down to breakfast every morning around 8 or 9 am. Breakfast fuelled us until a late lunch! Speaking of lunch, definitely try Mee Noodle shop somewhere around 7th ave. great Chinese food and very cheap. The hotel is ideally situated , with the subway stations and Times Square and all the theatres only a couple of minutes away. A nice touch - there is tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cookies(!) and even a bowl full of apples to graze on any time during the day! A great hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEomg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,176 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,430 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,653 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $169 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing