We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best NYC hotel - great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best NYC hotel - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Best NYC hotel I have stayed at. Clean, updated and great experience. Rooms are what you see online not just a fancy lobby. A few blocks from Central Park and Times Square. Do not stay at Hotel Pennsylvania (did previously BIG mistake). Will definitely stay again on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilligossfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    1,854
    412
    105
    56
See reviews for
2,176
1,317
195
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Hampton Inn Times Square North has a terrific location in the heart of everything and more importantly they are an extremely clean hotel with a great hotel staff....Everyone that my family and I came in contact with were extremely courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syd0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Hampton Inn Times Square North is in a very convenient location on 8th Street. The hotel is within walking distance of Rockefellor Plaza, Times Square, Theater District and Hells Kitchen. The river where you can catch the water taxis and ferries is a 15-20 minute walk as well. There are several excellent restaurants near by - especially in the Hells Kitchen neighborhood. It's also really convenient for those people interested in the double-decker Bus tours - all of the bus tours leave from within a couple blocks of the hotel.

The rooms are nice. The beds are comfortable. The staff is very polite and accomodating. They moved us to quieter room on our second night. Our original room was on the fourth floor and faced the street, so it was pretty noisy. We moved to the 10th floor with a room in the back which was much quieter. The views aren't great but since you're not in the room very much anyway, it isn't really a big deal.

Would definitely stay here again if we visited NYC in the future.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, ask for a room on a higher floor towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from a stay in NYC at this Hampton Inn. Our group of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Check-in was about the smoothest we've had at any hotel in Manhattan. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and larger than other hotels we've experienced in NYC. The breakfast area was clean and filled our needs for breakfast, saving us lots of time and money having to buy breakfast elsewhere. The location was perfect ~ a manageable walk south to Times Square, east to Radio City and Rockefeller Center and north to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, Columbus Circle, etc. And, lots of restaurants to choose from on 8th Avenue. We will definitely be using this hotel on our next trips to Manhattan!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank wbg0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Location is one block from Times Square...enough said. The included breakfast is always excellent. Staff is always polite and helpful. Melissa really was helpful to give us the best value for our money. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and loved it! The location can't be beat. 1 block off Times Square on 8th Avenue which is NY Restaurant Row with every kind of food just out the front door. The hotel was very clean and quiet and provided a great atmosphere to relax in after a busy day in the city. The hot breakfast was plentiful and the hotel even went the extra mile to have gluten-free bread and muffins for me when I told them I had Celiac disease. I have stayed a 4 different Hilton brand hotels in NYC and this is my favorite. The staff is especially attentive to special needs of their guests and that's what makes it great for me.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, ask for a room that does not face 8th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sproutyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived early and were given a room with no hassles. The room was spotless and well stocked. The hotel itself was close to just about everything. Everyone in the hotel were so friendly and helpful. The only problem was they only have 2 elevators and 1 was broken for our entire stay which meant lengthy waits most of the time. Would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel instead of the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank futureeastcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,697 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing