We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hampton Inn Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #166 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hampton Inn Quality”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I arrived an hour before check in and my room was ready and clean. Staff was courteous and friendly. I had booked a room for two nights, but had to leave after spending just one night, I was not feeling well, and according to their cancellation policy, I would have had to given them 24 hours notice., I was past the time to cancel but they gave me no problem at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepofsky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,801
    1,964
    440
    114
    59
See reviews for
2,302
1,371
200
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manaus
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Who knows a Hampton Inn already, should have an idea of what to expect, clean and comfortable beds, breakfast and internet access. Unlike most hotels in this price range in New York, the rooms are spacious. The location is close to most tourist spots in Manhattan midtown area. Staff attentive and courteous. Definitely a good indication but rooms need a renovation.

Room Tip: Depending on the season hotel can be crowded and the complimentary breakfast can be quite confusing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wladfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just a few blocks from Times Square and an easy walk from most theaters and a very pleasant and attentive staff made this a really good choice for a family that was somewhat hesitant to come to the big city. I made several calls ahead of our stay to make sure we weren't going to end up having any unhappy surprises during the stay. The concierge and front desk staff was very helpful and patient while answering my calls.

The hotel's age shows in subtle way - but the beds are comfortable and the bathroom clean. For the time we spent in the room, it was certainly a good experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms ending in 21, they're next to the elevator shafts and you'll hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgilityJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Be careful when booking this hotel. My daughters company booked this hotel for 2 of us for 1 week. Following check out, they charged us an extra $175 - alledgedly the booking was for a single occupancy, so they charged extra for the second person. (The original booking was, in fact , for 2 persons). This was not discussed with us at check out - they discussed the 1 phone call we had made and the charge for that, only. Also, we had independently obtained a quote from booking.com for this hotel for 2 persons, and it was much cheaper than what they charged us for "single occupancy"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Trish B,

Thank you for providing your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the billing issues you experienced. Our team aims to provide the best service possible with any need a guest may have and we apologize for this experience. If there is anything we can do to further resolve this with you, please contact us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights there this week and honestly, won't go back. Rooms, bed, pillows, staff, etc., are all OK but there were other significant issues. How about the maid walking into the room unannounced while your getting ready. How about listening to your "neighbor" cough all night because the walls are paper thin. How about having to walk up and down flights of stairs because one of the two elevators were broken. How about having to take a cold shower because there was no hot water. How about having to skip the breakfast (that was included in the room rate) because there was no where to eat. I could go on (and on...) but I think you'll get the point.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BradChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Brad Chambers,

We are very sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. We try to make every guests; experience a pleasant one and we understand this was not your impression. We have shared your comments with our facilities team as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' stay. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,
Melissa Infante
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Solid hotel, good name and good chain. VERY comfortable bed, room itself an okay size for Times Square'ish property. 5 blocks from the action, nice and quiet. Reason for "Average" rating is due to a combination of price and bathroom ammenities (of all things). $200+ per night I expect better than average towels and tp, better bath soap, a larger bathroom, and water that takes LESS than 3-5 minutes to get hot. I was pretty torn on my review of this hotel.

The ammenities are good - coffee/tea station off lobby, apples and cookies as well. Fitness center is okay considering it's not a luxury chain. Breakfast bar had a lot of variety, scrambled eggs were not real - and were dry. But, at least breakfast was free. The "to go" breakfast bags were a nice convenience. Staff was personable, short of friendly, about what's expected for NYC. Hilton Garden Inn is a block and 1/2 closer to Times Square - just as clean, with better towels, and less expensive (comparatively).

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face private condos/apartments...guessing even numbers have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPics825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaInfante, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Photoguy825,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests satisfaction. We are glad to hear you were comfortable in your room and that you enjoyed our breakfast and use of our fitness center. We apologize you were disappointed in the quality of our bath linens and amenities and we will keep your comments in mind as we look toward future improvements. We hope you will consider staying with us again and letting us know how we are doing should you return to New York in the future.

Melissa Infante
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very nice hotel, just 3 blocks from the times square. Friendly staff. Large and convenient room with view of the 8th avenue. Free and high speed WiFi. Rich breakfast. Free apples, coffee & tea all day. Bottom line, next time in Manhattan no doubt I'll return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gioele22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,058 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#241 of 467 in New York City
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 467 in New York City
9,549 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 467 in New York City
6,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing