We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended stay due to hurricane sandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Extended stay due to hurricane sandy”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lucky enough to find this hotel after having to vacate the 5 star hotel we were in. Reception was easy and helpful and were able to put us up for 3 nights for our unexpected stay. Room was much the same as the 5* except the bathroom was smaller and so were the towels.
The cost worked out the same for 3 nights where the 5* for 1 night was the same. My husband said that he would stay here again . Breakfast was also included in the price which was an added bonus. Yes we would stay here again convenient for Time Square, good pubs and easy accessible for the metro underground

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesb343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,782
    1,938
    435
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,273
1,362
200
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a week to spend your first trip to NYC and the USA, we landed in JFK on the Sunday afternoon just before all hell blew into town in the form of Hurricane Sandy. I would have to say the hotel and staff during the week we spent in NYC could not have been better. The Location of the hotel is excellent and the complimentary breakfast each morning is a welcome bonus. I thought the hotel and staff maintained a very good service during the Hurricane Sandy week, with the exception of 1 day with minor disruption to housekeeping all seemed normal as others put in a nightmare week in other locations. All said we had a disaster of a week as the city that never sleeps went into a coma. Its hard to give a real account of the week in the city the hotel or the sights as nothing about the week was normal. Safe to say the hotel seemed to look after its guests well on what was a bad week for everyone. Again I can't comment on transport or sights as absolutely nothing was open for most of the week. What I can comment on was the poor PR and customer services being dished out to customers by City Sights reps (in the lobby of Madame Tussauds). We had purchased on line tickets prior to going to NY and to be fair it was a good value 4 day pass. Enter Hurricane Sandy, and by Friday when the City Sights desk did reopen and tours (restricted) did restart the reps seemed to have forgotten all about the previous week from hell and the fact that the entire city had shut down. They did not want to know about helping anyone looking for information on refunds and worse for any one unlucky enough to have validated a pass on Sunday or Monday prior to Sandy they had no chance. Lucky for us we had not validated ours but are still having difficulty getting a refund, but I will keep an open mind on city sights for another week or 2. Again well done the Hampton Inn and staff who could do nothing but help its guest during a bad week. We did manage to find an excellent Irish pub off Times Sq ( O'Lunney's I think) which stayed open on Monday and Tuesday of the storm and had a limited food menu which turned out to be one of the very very few places that opened. Very friendly staff and excellent food.Did manage to get up the ESB on Wednesday when it opened and the Rock on Thursday when it reopened both excellent but preferred the Rock. We may have put in a bad week as tourists but did manage to walk miles during the week and took in what we could and fly home, but you can't forget the locals who have to get on with life after Hurricane Sandy and our prayers go out to them.

Room Tip: side rooms on 52 st seemed to be quite, our room was on the 3rd and with the exception of the storm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_Five_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on Hilton Honors points for the 2012 NYC marathon because of its location near the finish line. Although the race was cancelled, we were really pleased with the location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go this trip...MoMA, the natural history museum, Central Park, The Met. Breakfast was pretty hectic with all the runners in town, but the staff managed to keep up with it well. The room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNLaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Close access to everything. Good breakfast though a little crowded at peak times. Lovely staff. Quiet rooms. Comfy beds. Bathrooms a little cramped. And rooms a little small with a family. But it's New York City afterall. Wonderful stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jod006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was absolutely amazing! The staff couldn't have done more for us and when hurricane Sandy hit one member of staff went out in the rain and wind to buy a DVD player and film for the guests to watch. That night we all watched a film supplied with popcorn and board games while Sandy raged outside.
The breakfasts were lovely and as a fussy eater there was always something delicious for me. I can't praise the staff and the hotel enough! Thank God for this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrobinson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amazing hotel in an incredible location! I saw the hotel as our sanctuary as everything else we had planned spectacularly ballsed up and The Hampton Inn saved us majestically. They looked after us incredibly as in the middle of our stay Hurricane Sandy hit and we would have been stranded otherwise. I'd like to particularly thank Mr. Tall Man and Miss. Nice Nails Lady as I didn't have time to catch their names but they were so lovely to us throughout our stay.

And they put The Avengers on for us when Sandy hit...what more could you want?!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of 8th Avenue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a group of twenty-one adults who stayed here for a Broadway theater tour October 25-28--right before Super Storm Sandy. Location is great for Broadway shows, Times Square, Central Park, all of the Museums and many very good restaurants. The hotel accommodates groups extremely well--check in and check out were very efficient, rooms good-sized and immaculate, concierge service very helpful.
The truly amazing part of our visit was how calmly and professionally this staff handled its operations leading up to Super Storm Sandy. We were all accommodated, and assisted as we tried to find a way out of Manhattan before the storm. The staff reassured us repeatedly that they would assist us in any way they could, and that they had a protocol in place for emergency situations like this one.
Our group managed to get out of the city and on our way home, just before the storm hit. We were so thankful to all of the staff at Hampton Inn Times Square North for their professionalism and assistance to our group.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the building might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsin2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,000 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,476 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing