We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #169 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

As always with Hampton Inns, clean simple and comfortable. Fantastic staff. In between Times square and Central Park and near a subway stop. Breakfast is the usual so-so at Hampton Inns but filling and adequate - and included

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilMNeil_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,764
    1,919
    430
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,248
1,356
200
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 and found the staff exceptionally helpful and warm. The hotel was very clean and staff were also highly efficient. I was very tired when I arrived and my arrival in New York had not gone well, so I am very grateful to the staff who greeted me and advised me and to the hotel for providing a haven for my three nights! The staff were very understanding and kind and my room was very large, modern, clean and comfortable. There was a lovely view of New York sunset at night and in the morning of New Yorkers walking to work and getting coffee. I have never slept so well in a hotel room, despite jet-lag. I'm delighted other guests have the same positive view of this hotel. It really made my three days in New York.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 309anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were so pleased with our stay at Hampton Inn Times Square North. The location was just perfect with a subway station within a block and close to all of the Broadway theaters. The staff was particularly helpful and patiently responded to all questions asked. And when returning back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing, there were welcoming glasses of ice tea and lemonade waiting for us in the lobby - along with cookies and apples. A very nice welcoming touch. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjorie32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is not your average NYC hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. While close to "the action" of Times Square - rooms are quiet. Overall atmosphere is relaxing. Breakfast is delicious and the staff, though very busy, take the time to politely answer questions and fill special requests.

Can't beat the location. Wide variety of restaurants, theatres, and Times Square are a short walk. Subway station at the corner puts all of Manhattan at quick disposal.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My group of 4 enjoyed our stay here. Usually I'm not big on sharing rooms but in NYC as a group of 4 we decided to do just that to save some money. Boy are prices high for rooms in NYC! I couldn't be more than pleased with the large room size at this hotel. We booked a standard room with two queen beds and I was worried about space. No need to be concerned, it was quite roomy!

The free breakfast was good. Nothing super spectacular but good nonetheless. Saved us a little more money not having to pay $20 for pancaked down the street. The have apples, coffee, and hot chocolate available 24/7.

Overall a nice stay. Its close to Central Park, Times Square, and the great food in Hells Kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyawayCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The positive reviews for this Hampton are spot on. It is wonderfully located and has spacious rooms with lots of storage areas. The staff is friendly (Melissa checked us in) and housekeeping incredibly responsive.
I asked for additional hangars and toweles and had both in 15 mins.
The breakfast is great. Hot, cold, variety and we never found it impossible to find a seat. The signage clearly explains the best and worst times to arrive for breakfast and following that advice was always successful. The lobby/bell stand folks are friendly and the concierge, while often swamped, unfailing polite and helpful. We would not stay anywhere else as the location suits our passion for walking everywhere and we were able to visit a great many attractions via our feet. There is a salon, drug store, and MANY eateries within 2 blocks. Great choice all around.

Room Tip: We faced 8th Ave and don't know how the noise level is in other orientations. We enjoyed the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonSiobbhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnetonka. minnesota
Level Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There are better hotels that offer more amenities - 90% of which I never use. This hotel his clean, the rooms are spacious, and the staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. There are better locations, but then again, why pay more when everything is just a few extra blocks away?
(MOMA is less than a ten minute walk.)
A tip: book a room on a lower level. With only two elevators it can be easier to take the stairs. This is no criticism of the hotel. Many of the pricier hotels also only have two elevators.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zadkine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,922 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#238 of 468 in New York City
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing