We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and cheap by NY standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and cheap by NY standards”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent a couple days here before embarking on the QM2 for Southampton. This property seems to cater to vacationers. The rooms are large by NY standards and the complimentary breakfast is decent. The beds are comfortable and the services are quite adequate. There is easy access to MTA with stops just a couple blocks from the hotel. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Times Square. We prepaid and got a rate of less than $170 a night, cheap for NY!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel. If your room faces 8th Ave. you could be subjected to a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,782
    1,938
    435
    111
    59
See reviews for
2,273
1,362
200
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

my son and i stayed here for 2 nites and i think it's one of the best hotels in the world. my room is on 3 floor and i want to change to higher floor and it's ok. the staff are very helpful and friendly, we are alway feel welcome staying here. we'll back here for the next trip to US. Thanks every people here. you all are very kind.

Room Tip: higher floor for a romantic couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snyder404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was our third visit to this location in six years. We keep returning here because of the consistent quality of the accommodations and the location. On a visit to NYC in January we were not able to get reservations here and missed the qualities that we have come to appreciate at the Hampton Inn. The location is convenient without being in the middle of the Times Square crowd. It is convenient to a Metro (subway) station on 8th avenue. It is always nice to get complimentary breakfast n NYC (we paid $9 for continental breakfast at the hotel where we stayed in January and it was awful). The Hampton Inn breakfast included a pre-fab omelet (I like this better when I remove the cheese from the middle of it), sausage or bacon, hot oatmeal, an assortment of breads and fruit and cereals, also juice and coffee. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one night whilst passing through New York and we wish we'd decided to stay longer.

The hotel is situated extremely close to Times Square and Central Park, meaning that we could conveniently head out for some food and sight seeing despite not having long to explore the city.

The room was impressively sized for New York and well maintained which is more than we could say for other hotels nearby. The free 24 hour tea and coffee was appreciated too! When we came to check out the hotel kept our bags safe free of charge and found us a cab.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

As most reviews on here states, the hospitality is awesome at this hotel. From the time you check in until the time you check out. After booking this hotel, I was going to change to stay down the street at the Hilton Garden until I read that there are a limited number of microwaves and mini refrigerators that you can request to have delivered to your room, if available. These amenities are great to have along with the complimentary breakfast!! The location of this hotel is great and the double beds are QUEEN size, not full size beds. Everything was clean and in order. Easy walk to the subways and timeshare. This will definitely be where we will stay on our next trip to NYC. Keep up the good work Hampton Inn T.S. North!

Room Tip: Ask if a microwave and/or mini-refrigerator is availabe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sthack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

For all of you latino guests, 80% of the staff speaks spanish. Hotel is in a very centric location and there's everything you need just a few blocks away, including Times Square. Housekeeping and Room Service were awesome and the view even from 2nd floor was amazing. Stayed on a double-queen bedroom and it was a bit tight, but even though, it was really comfortable and the beds were REALLY comfy. Willing to stay again. A+++++

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardoJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was my first trip to NYC in forty years, and we wanted to be close to theaters but not too close to lots of noise and lights. This hotel was perfect. It is within easy walking distance to everything in the theater district as well as museums and shopping and the subway. The rooms were very nice, clean, and comfortable. The beds at Hampton Inn are always comfortable, and these were no exception. I also like for a room to be cool and dark for sleeping, which our room was. Except for one night, the hotel was also very quiet. Unfortunately, some young men decided to have a party in the room next to us one night, and the noise at 2:00 a.m. woke me up; however, I called the front desk and they sent security to the room, which took care of it. The only thing I would not recommend is the breakfast. We only ate the breakfast on the last day, and even though it's free, I have had better breakfasts at other Hampton Inns. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel for a great place to stay in New York City.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eledean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,001 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing