We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good... with a few little exceptions.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #161 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at The Hampton Inn Times Square North for nine nights in July 2011 while my daughter attended a training program at Radio City Music Hall. This hotel is located just outside of Times Square, across from the theatre where "Wicked" plays. It was about a 10 minute walk to Radio City Music Hall, the same to Central Park, and about 2 mins to Times Square. The lobby is nice, with plenty of seating, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Free breakfast is offered every morning, and it's quite extensive: make your own waffles, assorted breads, bagels, sweet rolls/danish, four cold cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh and mixed fruit selections, coffee/tea (avail 24 hours), juice, milk, and a hot selection (usually some type of eggs and some type of breakfast meat) are offered daily. Breakfast becomes more crowded as the morning goes on, and there's a sign warning guests that if they attend in the last hour, it'll be "tumultuous", which was very true. Because of my daughter's schedule, we ate at 7:15 every morning and never had a problem getting a seat.

The rooms might be billed as "large", but they aren't. They are a standard, 2-star hotel size. Our room had 2 queen beds (we chose this location because of the queen, rather than double, beds), bureau with flat screen tv, cushioned suitcase stand, table and 2 chairs, easy chair with ottoman, one night table. There was just enough space to walk around everything, but clearly no extra space for a rollaway bed. There was enough drawer and hanging space for the three of us, and the bathroom was adequate, with enough counter space. As a previous poster said, the shower head is 'way up there... I am 5'6" and could barely reach it to adjust the shower pressure (which is adequate, but not strong). Housekeeping missed us on the first two days... not sure why as we were out of the room by 11 AM each day. After that, they left enough towels for three each day, even though the room was reserved for four. Annoying, good thing I had my own towel with me (even though there were only three of us, my daughter needed two showers a day after dancing 7 hours with the Rockettes and, oh yes, it was in the mid-to-upper 90's every day!).

The most annoying thing about this hotel was the lack of a refrigerator in the room. Yes, they are available, free, and first come, first served, but... I faxed before arrival, requesting a fridge. I requested every morning that a fridge be put in our room. On 3 different occasions, rooms on our hallway had fridges sitting outside of them, but we never got a fridge. I hate to sound "privileged," but we were there for NINE nights. Certainly sometime along the way, we should have been at the top of the queue for a fridge in our room.

Overall... good service, friendly, good concierge, good breakfast, GREAT beds. OK housekeeping, OK space, OK shower. Very disappointed that someone couldn't make sure that guests staying longer than a week could get a refrigerator in their room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leebick56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,545 - 3,551 of 5,499 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Not knowing New York City I reserved this hotel due to its proximity with Times Square and Central Park plus the fact that it included breakfast. Well all these expectations were met - the room was clean, it was well placed to catch the subway (but not one of the major lines), breakfast was adequate yet a bit of a fight at certain times and the dining room was small and noisy. A very good location for the theatres and a good selection of restaurants on 9th Avenue just one block away. A little impersonal probably due to the size and the turnover ! In the end we only used it to sleep in (out by 8 am back by 10.30 pm). It was the most expensive hotel of our 3 week trip to the East Coast which would put me off staying here again. Cut the price and I would seriously consider staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristproFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoellaCumberbatch, Director of Guest Services at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear touristproFrance,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. We however are apologetic for the inconveniences you experienced especially with our free On the House hot breakfast. Our breakfast offering is popular among our guests and it does tend to get crowded at times. We recommend dining between 6am and 9am to enjoy a quiet breakfast or taking advantage of our free On the Run breakfast bags (Monday through Friday) for guests who may be in a rush or prefer not to dine in the breakfast room. We do work continuously to ensure that all guests are completely satisfied with their stay and it is through feedback like yours that we can improve.

Thank you again for sharing and we do hope that you would consider staying with us again in future. We do love having you here!

Regards,

Joella Cumberbatch
Director of Guest Services
Joella.cumberbatch@hilton.com
1-212-581-4100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel had everything and was in a perfect location. The rooms were very large for NYC. Great free breakfast, free wifi, free Internet kiosks, friendly staff. Highly recommend. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Second time staying at this particular hotel in the past 5 years. Both times, the service was excellent. Only 2 blocks from Times Square and Broadway. The RiteAid next door also came in handy, as well as several nice delis nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seas0nedTrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just checked out after 7 nights at this brilliant hotel. Every single member of staff is welcoming, pleasant and eager to help in any way. The whole hotel is spotless and the 24hr tea, coffee & hot chocolate is very much appreciated. The location is perfect with 2 subway stations within a 5 min walk. Ask April for any help and a
map. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geordie337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The service when we arrived was good and the receptionist was very nice.
The room was normal sized - maybe even a bit larger than the average NYC hotel room - and above average in quality and cleanness. The bathroom was also nice and clean.
Breakfast was good. The hotel location was very good - just a few blocks away from Times Square. It is also close to the The Port Authority Bus Terminal which is located down the Avenue.

Best: Room size and Location.
Least: -

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I visited the Hampton in NYC in July of 2011. First time visiting NYC. I really didn't know what to expect. I knew it would be a crowded, bustling place with lots of sights. What ever you do, make sure you take a taxi or have someone drive you to your hotel if you have never visited. This place was crowded with speeding taxis and fast cars, mostly all knowing where they are going! We got to hotel. Outside of hotel was beautiful with large sliding doors and well kept on outside. Lobby area was clean and bright! The staff was quick and very helpful. THey made sure we new where we were going and gave us specific directions and the best way to get there. (taxi, subway, walk) Entering the room was another plus! Very bright with white linens. Lots of room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Bathroom pretty spacious and well updated. lots of closet room. Hotel had use of 2 computers near lobby any time of day. The breakfast was fair. It had fruit, yougurt, cereal and then had heavier items like eggs, bacon, and waffles. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,137 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#250 of 469 in New York City
2,452 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 469 in New York City
9,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $159 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing