We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes the fancy NY hotels look like a rip off” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #168 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Makes the fancy NY hotels look like a rip off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I travel to NY occasionally for business, and, frankyly, I find the hotels there generally gross. Take the Sheraton Hotel and Towers for example. Tiny rooms, Dingy. Unpleasant. In desperate need of remodel. In contrast, this place was clean, with pleasant staff, and reasonably current decor. It was not luxurious, but it was a good place to stay, and a bargain. The location was great. The staff was courteous and helpful. The bed was comfortable. And the wifi was free. (Do you ever notice that the more expensive a hotel is, the more likely it is that they make you pay for wifi?) My only complaint was the breakfast, which was nothing to write home about, and overwhelmingly not environmentally friendly with all the styrofoam. Does anyone in a budget hotel still wash dishes? BTW, if looking for a nice nearby dinner, I highly recommend "Thalia". The concierge suggested it. Liked it so much t hat we went back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear CWR01,

On behalf of the Hampton Inn Times Square North, thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay with us. We’re excited to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, cleanliness of your room and the service from the staff.

However, we are very apologetic about your experience during breakfast. In an effort to be more enviormentally friendly all of our plates and cutlery are made from an innovative potato-based resin and are 100% biodegradable. It is through guest feedback such as yours that we can continue to enhance the experience for all of our guests.

We love having you here and hope to see you very soon!

Warm regards,

Laura Maldonado
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,701
    1,854
    412
    105
    56
See reviews for
2,176
1,317
195
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Branch, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

My fiancee and I just returned from a 4 day stay in Manhattan. The location of the Hampton Inn was excellent for us as we attended many theatre, jazz club, sight-seeing and shopping events within blocks of the hotel. The staff was unbelievably helpful, courteous and informative - bell hops, concierges, front desk clerks, kitchen/cafe staff all offered top-notch service. The housekeeping staff left our room immaculate. The staff was so friendly that we looked forward to seeing them each day to get more valuable information from them and they always made a point of asking us how our day trips went when we'd return to the lobby. I can't imagine finding a more helpful, clean and centrally located hotel in the area. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

The carpet in the room was filthy...not even vacuumed well. The furniture in the room was chipped and aging. The hallways were dingy, dark and stepping off the elevator I thought I was on the service floor. Blankets on bed were lumpy and the you could hear through the walls. People were nice, parking convenient but dirty carpets?...please.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue33052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMaldonado, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear sue33052,

Though there is never a second chance to make a first good impression we thank you for your genuine input about your stay. We value your comments since there is always opportunity for improvement.

As the Guest Services Manager, please accept our most sincere apology if we did not meet your expectations with your room accommodations. Our goal is your complete satisfaction. We would love to speak with you and get more feedback about your experience. We are committed to exceed your expectations and we are confident we can do it if you give us the opportunity.

On behalf of the Team at the Hampton Inn Times Square North I would like to thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,

Laura Maldonado
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during a spring break college tour. The staff really makes this hotel better than your average Hampton Inn. Every single person we dealt with went out of his or her way to be cheerful and helpful. The hotel itself is well maintained and clean. Parking next door is very easy, and the parking attendants are also very pleasant. We stored our luggage for the day after checking out and picking it up was quick and easy. The breakfast is also better than your average Hampton Inn free breakfast, and my kids loved the free hot chocolate and coffee available all day. The location could not be more convenient for sightseeing. We have no complaints at all about this hotel and will definitely stay here again. Unless you are looking for something very luxurious (and are willing to pay dearly for it), don't bother to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidanht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel was just perfect. We'd never been to NYC, I was kind of worried about the location, I didn't know if we would end up in the middle of nowhere. I was SO HAPPY!! We were steps from the Gershwin Theater, where I had tickets to Wicked, the subway was right there, a few blocks walk was Times Square and The Rockefeller Center. Couldn't have been easier.
The staff was exemplary! From the front desk, to the guy who worked the breakfast, each and every one of them was friendly, helpful, and professional.
The whole experience was awesome!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annof2manyhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Location is perfect. Helpful staff makes it the gem of midtown

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeOhio43202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for a getaway and had a great experience. Our standard room with a king bed was roomy and clean with a nice bathroom and super comfy bed. Location is 1 block from "Wicked" and 2 blocks from the Greyhound double decker tour origination point-a great way to see the city and take the express to the Statue of Liberty. Two close subway stops (just ask for help from the staff to know which one to take, they don't both go to all stops) are within a block. Breakfast was ample and they even brought around snacks to put in your bag for later. The hotel kept our luggage for us to pick up later. Joella went above and beyond with service when I was printing out Amtrak and plane tickets! Thanks. Great customer service in a lovely building and location. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lauratravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,699 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,588 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing