We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upgrades to concierge floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great upgrades to concierge floors”
Reviewed June 13, 2009

I stayed two weekends in a row at this hotel using rewards stay and I was impressed with the upgrades I received. The first night I was given an Ambassador Suite which was close too 1000 sq ft. The feature I used the most was the access to the concierge lounge on the 46th floor with compl. breakfast and snacks. The view from there is spectacular. The second night I tried to check in at 9 AM and was given a King room also on the concierge floor.

The hotels location close to subway stations and Broadway play etc. makes it my first choice for short stops in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,305
    3,188
    1,076
    414
    298
See reviews for
3,272
2,700
298
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Stayed 4 nights at the Crowne Plaza there at Times Square! Nice hotel, comfortable room, great location! The thing I liked about it best was the bar/lounge area! Cool bar, great bartenders/waitresses, tasty food and drinks!

We got a good deal directly on the Crowne Plaza website for a corner room. Our room was a decent size, clean, and the bed was very comfortable! Our view was facing the Hudson, so nothing that great. Would have liked a view of Times Square, but they said they were full and that was all they had left.

We ordered room service twice. Pretty good both times.

Overall I thought the hotel was nice, but here's a few things I'll nitpick about:

1) As many others have mentioned, there's no fridge or mini-bar! They have plenty of space to put one in!!!

2) The little shop downstairs only stays open til 11:00pm. There were many nights we got back after that and I wish we could grabbed a water or soda, but it was closed (and there's no mini-bar or vending machines). There were a lot of people coming and going after 11pm, I would think it would be profitable if they stayed open longer.

3) The maids start knocking on doors before 9:00am. Even if you have the do-not-disturb sign up, you can hear them walking up and down the hall knocking on all the doors very loudly.

4) Shower. The water pressure was very weak.

Overall it's a good hotel in a good locations. A few minor things, but pretty good for the most part!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chester_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Can't fault it. Stayed using priority pointsas regualr Holiday Inn user in the UK. Must admit I got an upgrade to room 4615. A corner room with an amazing dual aspect view of Times Square. the room had recentyl been renovated and was immaculate, but teally it was all about the view. We had access to the concierge room where we got free breakfast and soft drinks which was really nice. Staff were very pleasant but not overwhelming. Lobby was also lovely and although would rather stay on the UWS the location is a novelty and for many reasons can't be beaten.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sprewell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed in this hotel during April. There are two entrances for the hotel , the smaller one is next to the Hershey's candy store. The other one is on the back and it's the car entrance.

Once in you take electric stairs up to the lobby. About five people will help you through reservations in peak hour. The bar is just in front of the desk and it's got nice atmosphere. It gets crowded at nights.

We stayed on the 25th floor, side views (not to Times Square but to the side of the buildings) so nothing fancy to comment. The room was clean and the beds were quite good. There was no free internet so thats a downer. 42inch LCD screen but no connection panel (you couldn't connect the laptop to the TV).

Location is great , at least three subway stations nearby, close to the tickets booth for Broadway shows and excellent security, they required keys at night to let you through the lobby.

There are several diners nearby , the one to the left (an italian) is a little bit expensive, but other than that , it's fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noimporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. Rates are well below average for the area (including cost of parking). We got a last minute deal and stayed in a corner room that was immaculate. Beds wonderful, bath luxurious and sparkling. View fabulous. Casual, but very, very nice here...a $85 million renovation helped. We took a nice walk over to to 9th Avenue where there are many reasonably priced restaurants, we had a beautiful diner breakfast for 10 people and infant at a place right on Times Square. We went to Times Sq. at midnight on a Friday - what a fun spectacle. Free entertainment. hotel about 1 block north of those red neon steps.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chb1307
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2009

--Great location!!
--Purchased through Hotwire--excellent value
--Nice, clean rooms
--Excellent housekeeping service
--Front desk and concierge exceed expectations

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chb1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Hotel & service was great.

Down side:
1) no mini refrig. in the room we were staying in
2) No 'free' internet

Otherwise hotel, hotel associates & location is great! Plenty of room for luggage's. Skip the restaurant in the hotel, no worth the time & especially not worth the money. There are better pizza joints then the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,844 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,739 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,102 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,101 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing