We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #190 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 4 very enjoyable nights, the location was fantastic, the rooms are comfortable and although we didnt have a view it was very quiet. Our check in was outstanding, our bags had been off loaded from our flight and not scheduled to arrive the following day which was a little stressful to say the least but the person checking us in was so understanding and helpful she could not have done enought for us which was really appreciated. The Bar Staff were friendly and the service professional. We would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHenry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of our quiet rooms. Our staff, from our Front desk check-in and Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge, will be so happy to hear that they made such a positive impact during your stay with us. Thank you for the future guest recommendations. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,449
    3,278
    1,102
    424
    303
See reviews for
3,407
2,771
303
1,064
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,020)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent Staff and service from beginning to end. Room could use some TLC and was a bit worn, but the views were amazing and access to almost everything by Walking. We had a blast in Central Park. Big thanks to Vicky and Staff for making us feel like ROCK STARS on Times Square!

Room Tip: ask for more Towels, and anything else you may need, the Staff is very quick, responsive and sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Danny M, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad to hear that the hotel was perfect for your travel needs and that all our staff provided you with flawless service from check-in to check-out. We are currently undergoing multi-million renovations and we hope you come back for another stay. We are glad that Vicky and the rest of our staff were able to make you feel like rock stars in the big world of Times Square. Please let us know the next time you are in New York City. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of along weekend away. The hotel had some excellent offers on so took advantage. It's in a great location right on Times Square.

Staff are friendly in that New York way. Reception and the lobby can be busy and it can be confusing with the exit/entrance being on a different floor. The lads on concierge are gas, they just seem to stand around a lot but will help when you ask.

Room was clean and well looked after. Wifi isn't free but talk nice to staff and you might get lucky.

Special mention to Victoria on reception who made us feel welcome on check in and enjoyed a bit if banter too. A down to earth personal touch made a difference.

Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you greatly enjoyed the location of the hotel and our excellent offers. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience the outstanding customer service we are known to deliver. We are glad Victoria was able to make your check-in experience a welcoming and personal one. We do provide our guests with complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby. We are ecstatic to hear that you greatly enjoyed the comforts our clean rooms and superb daily housekeeping services. Thank you for the future guest recommendations. We would love for you to stay with us again. Please let us know the next time you are in New York.
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 5 night stay booked here via BA holidays so not cheap. Reading the reviews and the hotels blurb I was disappointed to find our room was one of the "few" without a view. However this did mean it was quiet..ish. Check in was swift if a little cold despite trying to engage the clerk in small talk and our room was available prior to the 3pm check in time.

The room itself was pleasantly decorated and of a modern clean standard. As previously said the view was disappointing but I didn't try and change rooms so don't know how my request would have been handled. We had an issue with our in room safe and this was resolved quickly with 2 visits to our room. Certainly can't fault maintenance/security.

Our rate included breakfast and have to say the ladies on the breakfast podium were lovely. Warm and welcoming and gave us the "best seats" in the house. The different waiters all had slightly differing levels of service but all passable. The food is buffet style unless you want to order eggs. Plenty of choice from healthy fruit to the full cooked breakfast.

Once our friends arrived we spent time in the bar and again attentive and friendly service. The cocktails are good and at $14-$16 not too expensive considering the location. (London would be at least £2-3 more)

There is free wifi in the lobby area.

On our last day I enquired about a late check out (normal check out 12pm) and was abruptly told I could have til 1pm no later. Again felt that customer service was not this female clerks strong point either.

Only on check out did I get any kind of "warmth" from the chap who sorted my bill.

Overall the hotel is in a great location, recently renovated rooms, good amenities, high house keeping standards good service but just a few "welcoming" issues at the front desk. If you get a deal its worth a stay and request a room view a view (not guaranteed unless you pay but no harm in asking)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank tlrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review and for your candid feedback. I am disheartened to read about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Times Square.  We strive to provide outstanding customer service to all our guests. I apologize that you experience several concerns during your stay. Your comments are greatly appreciated and have been forwarded over to the appropriate departments to discuss and review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of your room and our high housekeeping services. Based upon availability on the day of check-in we could have probably moved you upon requested and provided you with a later check out on the day of departure. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Brassiere 1605 restaurant and our Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge. We hope you had an enjoyable stay overall. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit so we can prove to you how much we value you as a guest.
Best Regards,
Larry Colleton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived here after a long flight and first impressions were wow!! Big spacious lobby, very friendly staff, lovely bar area, check in was very quick and efficient.
We were on the 25th floor, we had room cards which we only had to tap on the door to open. What a fantastic sized room. It was very airy with air conditioning on. First impressions were pure luxury. We had 2 double beds which were the most comfortable hotel beds i have ever slept in and the pillows were so luxurious. A well lit room with large flat screen tv and work desk. A very spacious en suite with bath and shower. Our room was at the side of the hotel which made it a quiet room, there was also blackout curtains underneath the normal curtains.
The main benefit of this hotel is the Fantastic location - it's in the middle of Times Square which means there are no need for taxis and everything is so close by. Hersheys is right next door.
There is an option of paying for Wifi in your room but is quite expensive, There is free wifi in the lobby so we used that before going out for the day.
The only downside is the buffet breakfast was a bit expensive and no fridge in the room but there was a cold vending machine and ice maker on our floor.
Once checking out you can store your luggage until time to leave. A wonderful hotel and i wouldnt hesitate to stay here again if i travel to New York again, have already highly recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazCaulkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic 5-star review! We are glad we made such a great impression during your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the great amenities that we have to offer. Our hotel is quite modern and up to date and we are ecstatic to hear that you recognize us as a place of luxury. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of our rooms and amazing views. Our location is definitely great for those who want to be in the heart of New York. We do offer our Grab and Go station as an alternative to the breakfast buffet and we definitely could have sent up a refrigerator upon your request for a small fee. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and that you would stay with us again. Thank you for the future recommendations to our guests. It was a pleasure to have you. Please let us know the next time you will be in New York.
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in December wih my sister in law - we took our daughters for their 18th to New York.

Perfect location - in the heart of Times Square. We had a room on the 13th floor, two singles which were like sleeping on marshmallows - so comfy. Room had tv, ample storage and bathroom with powerful shower. View of the river in the distance, but other buildings - but to be honest, you don't have time to look out anyway!! So many fantastic sights to see. Handy having a bar downstairs, so a couple of glasses of prosecco when the girls headed up to their non-alcoholic (even though I'm 18!) rooms ... good vibe here. Didn't try the breakfast here.

Did most of the sight seeing trips - all fab. The riverboat cruise, however, was the highlight for us. Food was fab, if not a little slowly served, but having just got off the plane 5 hours previously, we were punch drunk and the sight of the Statue of LIberty was fantastic - the jazz was also very enjoyable. Sadly Ground Zero was closed - ice was falling from the Freedom Tower so deemed unsafe!!! Big shame as our flight was later that day so couldn't re-book. Bought all our trips through Viator - no problems, seemed easy enough. Remember to take your passport with you as proof though - and its offence not to carry it apparently!

Highly recommend this hotel to you - you can walk to most of the sights - ps, after 4pm forget getting a cab - its gridlocked!

So delighted it snowed when we were there - magical. I've never walked so much!! You will fall in love with the charm of the New Yorkers - great people, great place - book it!!

Enjoy .... x

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view - not that it matters much, any room would do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numnuts_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great time with your daughters for their 18th birthday. The location of our hotel is definitely great. There is so much to see in New York City but we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of our wonderful rooms and great views. We hope you were able to visit all the restaurants, shops, and attractions in the Times Square vicinity. There is always more to see and do in New York City so we hope to see you again! We are so glad that you enjoyed the terrific food from our Brasserie 1605 restaurant and our Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge. Thank you for recommending us to future guests. We are so glad that you got to experience the magic of a "winter wonderland" and that you fell in love with charm of New York. Please let us know the next time you are in New York. We would love for you to stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were thrilled to see that the hotel was indeed right on the edge of Times Square, I think it was over Hershey's. Quite impersonal which wasn't unexpected for a hotel that size in NYC. What we didn't expect what the great sized room and really good shower. When escaping from the cold in the bar we could watch the always busy Times Square. Jan is a great time to visit NYC we enjoyed this stay enormously and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Lorraine G, Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us enormously. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you greatly enjoyed the comforts of our spacious rooms and great showers. The Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge have great views overlooking the busy Times Square vicinity. Thank you for staying with us. We can’t wait to have you back!
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Mills,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,067 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 467 in New York City
7,976 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
6,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,342 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 467 in New York City
10,833 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing