We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. If you want to be right in the heart of New York and Times Square then stay here. We stayed on a high floor with a view of times Square and it was very quiet at night even though no one seems to sleep in NY ! Room was quite large but lacked a fridge. Great bar too. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor with a view of Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Pat R for your review! We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed a quiet room with a great view. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,255
    3,144
    1,064
    410
    295
See reviews for
3,238
2,672
293
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,937)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Right in the heart of Manhattan on Broadway. If you want to be in the middle of the action packed Broadway, this fits right into what you will need. Service was nice and professional. The hotel however was so crowded I believe anyone who wants a quiet getaway may not like this. If you are rushing to have breakfast forget it, you will have to wait for sometimes up to 30 minutes to get seated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godsent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Soji A for your honest feedback, it is always appreciated. We agree that New York City is very busy, the city that never sleeps, is what they call NYC. But it is definitely a big perk to be in the middle of Manhattan because we are close to everything and to the main attractions. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service and we hope to see you soon with us.

Best,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansburg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

3 Women going to New York for our birthday celebration Sept 25-Oct 1
We spent 3 days at this hotel and 3 days at another.
Hotel was clean and comfortable but a little dated. We found our tub really chipped up and the room extremely small. We had a room for the disabled and good thing as it was pretty tight fitting. The lighting is not very good either, very dark. We were on the 29th floor and could still hear the noise from the street, it wasn't too bad until saturday morning at 6am when there was a charity function with blasting music and a girl on the microphone cheering 100 people on stationary bikes to pedal faster......loud but once earplugs were put in...quiet as can be.
Overall the room was ok.
Staff was pleasant and friendly and answered any questions we had.
The lobby lounge was not very inviting, we sat in the lounge for 20 minutes awaiting bar service and the staff (4 behind the counter) walked by even made eye contact but did not approach, smile or say a thing...we finally got up and left at 11:00pm!
Location right in the heart of times square...great location but very congested in the front of the hotel so pulling suitcases etc can be very tricky...especially on the weekend...try and have your cab, towncar drop you off on the backside of the hotel as there is a carport there, much easier than trying to approach from the front.
Restaurant-We did not eat there....so no review.
Word to the wise stay away from times square for any meals etc....way overpriced...like the TSQ brasserie across the street...$40.00 for a salad...and if you want to share....$7.00 on top for each person to share, drinks $15 dollars for 1/2 a glass????? This was our first and last meal on times square.

Things to do:
Our first day we booked a private tour through Big Apple Tours and spent the day with Shawn Lynch who is an actual New Yorker and is passionate about his city! We really enjoyed the 6 hour tour and hanging with Shawn it was like making a new friend in New York. It was a great introduction to a rather large city, with a tour of Central Park, Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown, World trade Centre, Wall Street, SOHO. He also showed us how to use the subway and the bus. We stopped for lunch at Lombardi's just outside of little italy and it was the best pizza we ever tasted!! Great first day!!!!
Go to the Empire state building it is beautiful at night.
Rockafeller centre-ok but long lines!
Statue of liberty: we took a 1 hour boat tour on the Zephyr....gets you close to the statue and goes by the world trade centre, wall street, under the Brooklyn bridge and back...we really enjoyed it and the tour guide is full of information and a sense of humour so I highly suggest it.
Take the subway to Brooklyn and walk back to Manhattan across the Brooklyn bridge, it is beautiful lots of people but very nice view strolling across the bridge.
As for food: We liked the Bryant Park grill and The Palm, great food and yes pricey but good! Everywhere else we ate doesn't need to be mentioned as it was just meh.
Lastly: shopping....we enjoyed Macy's, Lord and Taylor, but shopping is an individual's taste and choice so have fun and explore.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for peace and quiet. Try and get a corner room for space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhtkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Mhtkd - thank you for the hotel review, we are glad you enjoyed your hotel stay with us. We hope you enjoyed our convenient location and it seems that you experienced the many things about New York City, that makes our city unique. We are delighted to hear that you had the chance to explore the city outside of the hotel as it is very busy, and lots going on. We hope you enjoyed the accommodations inside the hotel, after a busy day of sight seeing.
We appreciate our guests comments, and find ways to even better our services. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you want to be steps away from Times Square and easy walking distance to most of the broadway theaters...then this is the place to stay.
We stayed here in Jan. and loved the location and the view of Times Square on the 40th floor.
On this stay, we used 2 free nights earned from the rewards program. Our total stay was 5 nights so it was set up in 2 reservations. Upon check-in, Sandra at the front desk made sure that the 2 reservations would be for the same room so that we would not have to waste time moving our things, etc. after 2 nights.
This time we were on the 23rd floor with a room facing the back. Not such a grand view, but we could still see the marquees of 2 theaters and lots of city lights.
Our room was very clean & upon leaving a note requesting extra conditioner on the 1st day, the housekeeping staff left plenty of all the products for us each day of our stay. It would be nice to have some hooks on the wall over near the desk area for purses, jackets & clothes as the closet area is very small.
With our IHG rewards membership we received free internet as well as entrance to the fitness center (but did not use it).
However, in Jan., we also got a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning in a separate area ( I think it was on the 5th floor). We were told that they no longer have this program at this hotel. We really missed that.
The staff was friendly. Upon checking in (mid morning arrival), our room was not ready. We were expecting that and so just had our bags stored with the bellman. We received a text to let us know later in the afternoon (about 1 pm) that our room was ready. We were still at lunch at the time & had tickets to a matinee show. So we didn't get back to check into our room until after the show. The desk then contacted the bellmen and our bags were promptly delivered to our room.
We had a late flight on our final day & so upon checking out of our room, we had the bellman store our bags again. He was very courteous & friendly (I think his name was Kamal--he was a Giants fan, anyway).
We felt very safe at the hotel. In the evening they ask to see your room key at the ground level before going up the escalator. There were also hotel workers on duty at the elevators.
There are separate groups of elevators for the upper & lower floors. We noticed that we didn't wait as long for the elevators being in the group of the lower floors on this stay as compared to the last time when we were on floor 40.
We didn't go to the hotel's convenience store this time as we remembered last time that you must make a minimum purchase of $10. There is a Duane Reade store just north of the C.P. hotel between 49th & 50th. This is convenient for purchasing bottles of water or soda for much less than in the vending machines on the hotel floors.
We didn't eat in the Brasserie restaurant, but we did have great cocktails and food in the Broadway 49 Bar. The staff there was also very courteous.
One morning we bought juice & a pastry from the carts near the elevators.
We would recommend this hotel to others (and we did, my parents stayed there this summer) & we can't wait to return !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello J N
Thanks so much for the detailed 5-star review! We love to hear such specific feedback about an entire stay so when can see how we are preforming! We are extremely pleased that you received such great service from Sandra and Kamal , and our housekeeping staff. All of our team takes serious pride in their customer service, and we all look to go above and beyond at any given moment.  I would also like to thank you for your helpful suggestions and recommendations! We can’t wait to have you back.

Best regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We returned to our favorite NYC Hotel to see two wonderful Broadway shows. We love the location of the Crowne Plaza as it is convenient to the theaters and restaurants we frequent. As always, the service at the hotel was excellent as coordinated by the front desk manager, Robert Ibanez. Our room was beautiful with a great view and very comfortable. The food served at the restaurant as well as the bar was tasty and fairly priced for New York City. As visitors who travel several times a year to NYC we find the Crowne Plaza Times Square really completes your vacation, business meetings or conferences.
Bernie & Barbara Hoffman

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtravelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Bernie & Barbara! Thanks so much for the gracious 5-star review! I am so glad you enjoyed our close proximity to all of the most popular theatres and restaurants in the city. I will be sure to inform Robert of your kind comments, he is an invaluable part of our team and he is an example of what great customer service is. We strive to provide an environment where business travelers and visitors alike can escape the hustle and bustle of the streets and be comfortable. We can’t wait to have you back again

Best regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to NY for our 12th wedding anniversary. We not only loved the location of the hotel, but the incredible service from the staff as well.
Vicky Martin not only gave us the perfect room upon check-in, but followed up later with a beautiful anniversary tray filled with cheese, crackers, fruit and a nice bottle of wine.
Thank you to Vicky for the care and detail that she provided to help make our trip special. Wow is the only way to describe our overall experience at the Crowne Plaza Times Square.

Room Tip: We thought we wanted a Hudson River view, but the Times Square view was remarkable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the review Lauri G, we are glad you chose our hotel to celebrate your 12th wedding anniversary. Vicky Martin was delighted to hear that she was mentioned in your review. Mission accomplished in Wowing our guests.
Regards,
Geoffrey Mills
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had stayed at the Crowne between 12-16 Sept and this is also my first review on trip advisor because I can honestly say the following:

1. If you only want a place to sleep and location then this is fine. (next to M&Ms and heart of times square)
2. If you want service , clean room and friendly helpful staff then this is not. – Complaints are NOT taken seriously by staff and guests are just treated as numbers (my personal opinon)

- We were travelling with an infant and we had to wait for a cot, the cot bed was never made up by housekeeping.
- We weren’t given a “guaranteed wake up call”. There was no apology and No refund was given to us on that stay
- Concierge is outsourced and not knowledgable about the area at all. They actually sold us a package which we had to walk 30 mins to then collect coupons and then queue again at the sights. We had to tell them what we want to do, they had no ideas for restaurant and didn’t even know where one of the museums was
- We were told to book Statue of liberty tickets ourselves by using the business centre (charging $10 for 15 mins).
- Our room was not serviced to a high quality – despite making a formal written complaint.
- We were not offered any poterage services on arrival (despite having lugguage and infant and carry on hand bags – staff could see us struggle but let us carry on)
- They do not honour reward points here – even though I was told I could. Reward helpdesk is also a shambles!

I had complained to the duty manager “Victoria Laughton” (twice while there verbally and once in writing), she did visit us in the room but her “good will gesture” was never honoured by the Crowne. They falsely advertise “guarantee wake up call or your money back on the nights stay” - we were not given a wake up call and nor did we receive an apology or a refund! Its been 3 weeks since us staying there.

I will not be staying at the Crowne again and do not recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not book or stay here if you loike a 5* service, apart from comfy bed - there is nothing else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0nest_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi H0nest_mum - we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel location as we are conveniently located in Times Square. It is disheartening to hear the other items that you mentioned in your hotel review and we would like to have the opportunity to inquire on the other items that you have mentioned. Please contact me at ptran@cptsnyc.com.
Regards,
Peggy Tran
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,787 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,882 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing