We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel in Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #195 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I do not like to stay in Times Square hotels, but my brother and his family booked this hotel as they do not visit NYC very often. Overall, it is a good hotel. My room was a good size and in good condition. The bathtub was a bit dated, but otherwise I have no problem with the room. It is well located for those who are visiting NYC for the first time and want to be at the heart of the tourist district. For the same price, you can get a very nice boutique hotel, the type that I always book when I go into the city. The room looked recently renovated, it was very clean, and since I was on the 33rd floor – there was no street noise. However, the walls were a bit thin since the child in the room across the hall could be heard quite well when he/she was unhappy. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for those who wish to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank George_StonyBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review George_StonyBrook! Our location is definitely central for everyone wishing to see the sights! Our rooms are comfy and clean and I am happy that you had this experience! We hope that you come back and stay with us soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,762
    2,757
    923
    379
    256
See reviews for
2,788
2,345
258
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,710)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our third time staying here. We booked a Times Square view and we were given a great room on the front corner of the building. The rooms are spacious, clean, the beds are very comfortable and there is a nice sized flat screen tv to watch. The only thing missing would be a fridge which would be nice. The hotel is very close to Duffy Square where TKts on the Square is, plus the "red stairs" . The restaurant 1605 has a nice buffet breakfast and a good selection of pre theatre dinners for around 30 dollars. A total recommend enjoy. Rhoda at the front desk was very helpful - a great employee

Room Tip: The Times Square side are wonderful, the Hudson view is also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you Marilyn G for your review of our property! We are so glad that you are returning guests to our hotel! I am happy to read that you found Rhoda and the rest of our staff to be so helpful during your stay! Next time you stay with us, please let us know when you plan to stay with us again! We would be happy to send a fridge to your room!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was able to find a great rate for this hotel and couldn't have more pleased with the room and the value. I had requested a corner room (recommended by other reviewers) and had a view of both Times Square and the Hudson - The room was very large and the bed was very comfortable. Our great rate also included a hot buffet breakfast each day of our stay for just a dollar :) The food and selection was excellent. This was a great experience and we recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: request a corner room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NStevens1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
NStevens 1234, thank you for recommending our hotel! We appreciate the time you took to write a review and are pleased to know you were satisfied with the room, the value, and the restaurant as well. Our corner rooms are, as you stated, pretty awesome because of the views. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room was an OK size. Bathrooms were very dated and in fairly poor condition. Shower was feeble and took a while to coax any sort of hot water out of it.

The Fitness Centre is an odd set up. They charge $10, which can only be paid by credit card (and cannot be charged to the room). What they don't advertise readily is that Priority Club members get free access. However, you need to show a Priority Club room key and not the card itself. Talk about making life difficult.

Front desk service was bordering on rude. The lady who checked me out urgently needs to go to charm school, or have a personality transplant.

On the positive side, it was at least quite cheap - perhaps corporate rates post Sandy are unusually low.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxtrotOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
FoxTrotOscar, thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza. I apologize for the confusion over our fitness center. It is a separate New York Sports Club so that is why the charges cannot go to the room. I also apologize for the treatment you received by the front desk agent. That is definitely not the behavior that we expect from our employees. We do hope that you chose to join us again in the future so we can show you that we are all friendly and helpful here!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very professional service and check in procedure. Friendly staff helpful concierge with maps and directions. Very helpful bellboys and driveway attendants for hailing us cabs. Poor Internet connection $US 15 for 24 hours. Kept closing out. Go to McDonalds!!!! free. Four female friends shared a large double double room on 38th floor. Floors above 15 are more expensive but I believe better updated and appointed . Great corner room. Two large double beds and large bathroom. Toilet flooded once but staff attended promptly and all sorted and floors mopped and towels and shower curtain changed.
Took bathers for a swim in the pool but found a charge of $US for each use which was a pity as we were looking forward to a nice swim after a day pounding the footpaths and shops. Would be nice to have pool free use for guests.
A mention for Housemaid services lady Samia who attended our room to clean after a mix up with the notice we left on our door. The blank side does not mean clean the room please so they left it unmade, it apparently still means the same as the side that said Do not disturb. Samia came up in the evening when we arrived back and quickly and professionally did all our beds and bathroom. Left us plenty of extra towels and bottles of water to compensate. A nice lady. All in all a great location, right out the door and into the action, close walking distance to so much and cabs easy to get to other places.

Room Tip: As above. If you can afford it go above floor 15 for more recent updates and great views. Beds ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Evie002, we are pleased that you had taken the time to write such a great review of our hotel! Samia, as well as our other staff greatly appreciates your positive feedback regarding the service you had received. We do apologize for the internet connection closing out. We will be sure to work with our provider to ensure this does not happen again and we hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great hotel, great service, great location. Call client care, their there. All staff were more than helpful. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you Mat110 for your “GREAT” review! We are delighted to hear that you found our staff, location, and property all to be so helpful during your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from the 25th of October 2012 and were scheduled to leave on the 31st.
When we arrived, the room was very small and somewhat dated, however, we were not planning on spending much time there so no real problem. The sink was broken, which was repaired within 20 minutes and the safe did not work. Again an engineer came to fix the safe but declared that it needed replacing. To their credit, it was replaced within a couple of hours and we were offered a free deposit box in the meantime. All good so far. We were unable to properly secure the window after opening it. We didn't report it, as it was not a problem (until the hurricane).
Once the hurricane arrived, I'm afraid that the hotel saw an opportunity to make some easy money.
Our flight was cancelled and, Initially, we could not get confirmation as to when it would be rescheduled. We spoke with the hotel, who agreed to let us stay on, at $279 per night plus taxes. They recommended that they would continue the booking on a daily basis and asked that we let them know as soon as we had our flight date confirmed.
After 24 hours we were locked out of the room. I was then told that we had been checked out of the room and the hotel was now full (it was also marathon weekend). The hotel said that they had no idea where our belongings had gone. After some negotiation, I was then told that we could have our room back, but the price had gone up to $349 plus taxes, this despite the fact they could not provide any hot water. They did, however, provide a free breakfast the following day, as I think they did for every guest. Surprisingly, our belongings were where we had left them.
As soon as I had a date for our flight (November 6th) I advised the hotel and extended the booking until then. I had specifically requested that, in the event we were found an earlier flight, we could alter the booking with no penalties, and was assured it was "no problem".
Once we got an earlier flight, (November 4th) I again confirmed we could check out early and was assured that we wouldn't be charged for the nights we were not staying. I was also assured that checking out in the early hours was not a problem.
When we did check out, they could not provide me with a bill, as the computers were down. I was assured that they would email it to me.
When I received the email, I saw that I had been charged for the 5th and 6th of November. I must say that I was not too surprised by that time.
I did spend almost a full day and spent a lot of money, trying to call the hotel in order to discuss the problem. I would either get directed to someone who could not deal with my complaint or they just hung up.
I have registered my complaint with the hotel group and was assured, after providing both my home and mobile telephone numbers, that they were required to respond within 48 hours.
That was on November 5th and I still have heard nothing.
We were unfortunate to have visited the city at the same time as a hurricane. That did not spoil the trip and we were amazed by the way in which the locals coped. But What was to have been a special trip for our family, descended into chaos simply by the hotel cashing in on the hurricane. The cleaning staff, however, were excellent throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Marc C, I truly apologize for all of the confusion during your stay. I can assure you that it was never our intention to take advantage of our guests because of the storm. Superstorm Sandy was a tragedy for all of us and we did the best we could to keep everyone comfortable and to be fair regarding cancellations and early departures. I hope by the time you read this response you have heard back from one of our associates. If not, please reach out to me directly and I will discuss the issue of your charges with my accounting department.
Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,197 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#157 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,961 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#97 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#203 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,600 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#170 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing