We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location- not a typical crowne plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #195 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location- not a typical crowne plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I an not typically a huge fan of crowns plazas. I stayed here for work and was pleasantly surprised. The location is great if you want to stay in the heart of time square. The bathrooms looked fresh and updated. The room itself was nicer than A typical crowne plaza room. The service at the restaurant for breakfast was a bit slow. Overall a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you romred4 for your review! I hope that your stay with us helped to change your mind about the Crowne Plaza brand as a whole! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming to you again soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,756
    2,752
    922
    378
    256
See reviews for
2,782
2,340
259
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went for a four day , three night stay at the Crowne Plaza in New York. upon arrival we were greeted at the front desk and told computors were down and we could not get a room. We had to wait an hour before checking in. Room was spacious no complaints. The morning we left I left my cell phone in my room ( there is no debate on this, I left it there, I was charging it) When I got to the airport in Montreal Canada I realized my phone was left in the room.(approx 3.5 hrs later) I called the hotel and eventually was turned over to security. They went to the room and said there was no phone there. So it is obvious that it was stolen by a staff member. ( i would suggest the maid service) After hearing this I sent four emails to Crowne plaza, (main office and the actual hotel. ) The main corporation office replied telling me they would send it on to the actual hotel in New York. The hotel in New York DID NOT even have the decency to contact me , let alone help solve the problem. I sent several emails to them with no reply. Very disappointed on how this was handled and how I was treated. We wil NEVER stay in a Crowne Plaza Hotel ever again. It is a shame that staff can not be trusted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Ian W, I am sorry that you did not receive a prompt response from us regarding this issue. Please contact me at cheller@cptsnyc.com so that I am able to assist you and iinvestigate the issue further
Best,
Caren Heller
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While this hotel is a little expensive it is the perfect place from which to launch your exploration of Manhattan and NYC.

It is centrally located with Times Square right outside your door. There is easy access to taxis, buses and the subway. Central Park, 5th Avenue and other tourist spots are all within easy walking distance.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Susana was wonderful helping me sort out some travel problems and gave us excellent service and advice about the hotel and its facilities.

I recommend this hotel to anyone intending to holiday on Manhattan Island.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent views of Manhattan and surrounding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555555Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
555555Brisbane, thank you for your fabulous review! We love hearing this wonderful feedback from our guests! Our accessible location certainly makes it easy to tour the city of Manhattan! I am also happy to read that you enjoyed the helpfulness from our staff! All of us here at Crowne Plaza strive to make our guests feel at home!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September as part of our honeymoon & could not recommend it highly enough. From the moment we checked in, the level of service we received from Evelyn on the front desk was superb. She upgraded us to a corner room which was really spacious, especially in comparison to regular NYC standards. The view from our room looked out on Times Square, we couldn't have asked for a better location- but thankfully the windows were fully soundproof so perfect location without any of the noise. We also received free wifi & she even sent us a bottle of wine / strawberries so she could not have been more helpful!

The bed was extremely comfortable, a perfect tonic after walking for hours around the city every day. It is a large hotel, so there is a great buzz in the lobby/ bar etc. We didn't eat here, simply due to the vast choice of eateries which we passed every day on our daily excursions.

We loved this hotel & I have recommended it to anyone I know who is travelling to NY in the near future- we will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCK_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
THANK YOU SO MUCH, MissCK_Cork, for choosing to stay with us! We were delighted to have you as a guest of our hotel! Our front desk staff was delighted that you recognized their efforts of providing you superb service. Times Square is always an awesome view and we are glad to have been able to share that with you. We are looking forward to your next visit, which we hope is sometime soon and don’t forget to check out our restaurant too!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

On walking out the front door we were in the middle of times square, nice sized room great view of times square well worth the extra £30
Highly recomended
Ate out for the whole stay so didnt try the food but enjoyed the bar and views of times square
Only downside no free wifi
Nice helpful staff

Helpful?
Thank Iain2936
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you lain2936 for your awesome review! It was a great pleasure having you as a guest and we are ecstatic that you had enjoyed your stay. We apologize for our internet policy, but we do hope you stay with us again. Perhaps you would like to book a concierge room for your next stay, which includes internet. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that you get the chance to dine in our restaurant!

Sincerely,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cairo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I checked out after a 7 night stay at CP Times Square, booked through Booking.com. We have to say we are completely disappointed and feel we were ripped off.

It all began during the check-in, when an arrogant and highly condescending front desk staff (by the name of Rhoda) showed a very rude attitude and would not listen to our request, as we had booked a Deluxe room, higher floor overlooking Times Square, breakfast included. The employee simply ruled out the specs of the room booked, claiming that all Booking.com guests had that same description, which is not true.

To our surprise, right after checking out, we discovered we were robbed. The basic price of the room per night we were charged was 557 USD before tax, amounting to 633 USD after tax. However, the website of the hotel has very different figures, where a room like ours is booked at a rate of 340 USD. My husband specifically asked the staff if we were being over-charged for making our reservation through Booking.com, and the person clearly said no. The only difference is that booking directly with the hotel gives you more flexibility in choosing a room you like.

We filed an official complaint to the hotel management. The hotel treated it as irrelevant to them, claiming it was an issue with booking.com. However, our main concern was with the hotel for deliberately misleading us, as we could have simply cancelled the booking for the rest of the stay, right after the first night. To us, this only proves the hotel is in cahoots with booking.com. So, watch out when dealing with either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Noha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear NohaKamal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept my sincerest apology for the service you received at check in and any inconvenience you may have experienced. I am also sorry for the issues you had at check out. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Newly renovated hotel, literally opposite the M&Ms store. We were upgraded to an extremely spacious king room and loved that everything was modern, clean and new. Only gripe would be the lack of free wifi. Staying in Times Square can be pricey and compared to other hotels in the area that are charging similar prices, I would recommend the Crowne Plaza.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lexi_m2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you lexi_m2011 for your great review and your recommendation! We hope you were able to stop in the M&M’s store for some yummy chocolate. Please accept our apologies for the internet policy. For your next stay, perhaps you would like to book one of our concierge rooms which includes internet. We look forward to having you back as a guest and can’t wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,188 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#159 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,956 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#94 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#203 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,586 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#54 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,499 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#170 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing