We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a longtime Priority Club Platinum member I've requested an upgrade for our late October stay at the Crowne Plaza Times Square. After a very friendly e-mail exchange, I was upgraded to a Times Square view room, which I unfortunately didn't get at check-in, since there are no more rooms and the hotel is overbooked.

After asking a different member of the reception staff, - contrary to the previous colleague's statement - they've 'found' a better room. This has - understandably - had a little bad taste in our mouth.

Everything else... It just wasn't our day. The TV had continuous signal-shortages, the room service was late - and the food was just simply stunningly bad. I'm obviously not unaccustomed to bad hotel food, the only surprise is that the hotel advertises it's Room Service under the tagline: 'Not typical Hotel Food'.

The Crowne Plaza Times Square has a great location, has wonderful views - it's just doesn't try hard enough.

Room Tip: Go above the 40 floor for nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterporkolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am sorry to read about your experience with us peterporkolab. It is unfortunate that you did not immediately receive an immediate upgrade, but as the first agent informed you, those are all best on availability. It is also sad to hear that you did not find our restaurant to be enjoyable. We definitely hope you do come back and see us again so we can prove to you that this is not the standard that we hold for ourselves

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,202
    3,094
    1,049
    409
    290
See reviews for
3,172
2,643
290
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,911)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We flew in just after Sandy for a celebration of our anniversary and my girlfriends birthday - I can't comment on the cost as I used loyalty points to pay for the room, and got an upgrade - but I thought the rooms were a little dated, and the air con in our room always seemed to heat at the same temperature regardless of setting - when asking the front desk they said this was typical due to the outside weather, which seemed odd but to be honest the temperature was liveable, we just had to remove some of the covers to avoid over heating at night.

The bar and lounge facilities are much better than the rooms, clean, modern and spacious and the service there was excellent. I also had a few requests (like more coffee to the room or a sewing kit) and these were completed quickly.

In terms if location - it's pretty good, shopping on 5th or down to the Empire State is around $8-$10, the subways were still only 50% while we stayed.so we didn't use it. For Broadway and the hectic Times Square you couldn't be any better located.

There re plenty of restaurants around but you are in more expensive territory so do some research and head out a little further to save a few dollars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jontheblue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you jontheblue30 for your detailed review! I apologize that the temperature was not 100% in your room but I am glad that you were still comfortable despite this setback. Our bar definitely is a nice place to hang out on the weekends, especially when you are celebrating an anniversary and a birthday! I would also like to say congratulations for cashing in your loyalty points! Please stay with us again very soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

When hurricane Sany hit and we had checked out of the hotel, the hotel was full and we had to find another place to stay. Sandra Esp at the front desk was very helpful and managed to find a very good hotel for us. In a very difficult situation (with no hotel and no flight back to Europe), her very kind and pleasant behaviour meant a lot to us - thank you!
Before this, we stayed at the hotel for three days, and everything met our high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you Hanne H for your kind words! I am very sorry that you were in such a situation! Sandra works very hard to take care of our guests, as does the rest of our staff! Hopefully you can stay with us under better weather conditions next time!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was fortunate to stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel at 49th and Broadway during Hurricane Sandy. With all of the events that were going on around us the one consistent thing was the professionalism of the staff here. I would to single out the service of Sandra Esp who treated me with kindness and compassion. She was courteous and professional. I felt secure and taken care of as a result of her wonderful service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Mitch,
Thank you for noticing our hard working staff, we are very attentive to our guests.
We are also happy to hear that you felt taken care of, that is what we do at the Crowne Plaza Times Square, making our guest feel at home. It was unfortunate you had to stay during the storm so please come back and stay with us again under better conditions, Sandra and all of us would be thrilled to see you again!

Best regards,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Surrounded by the mayhem of Times Square and buffeted by the Hershey Store & the M & M Store, it's actually a little difficult to notice the entrance to the Crowne Plaza. But once you leave the street and head up the escalator to the main lobby, you are in a well run, truly accomodating hotel. Arriving early, we found our room was not ready. But our assigned quarters on a high floor was worth waiting for. It was a bit larger than most standard NY City hotel rooms and we could see the Hudson River to the West. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and only the infrequent sirens of firetrucks (a firehouse is located on the next corner -8th Ave) reminded us that we were in the ultimate urban environment. The staff at the front desk, housekeeping, even security were friendly and welcoming. The only weird twist is that the fitness center/pool is actually a full fledged NY Sports Club. This is potentially a big plus if working out is on your agenda. But the hours are a bit limited and the pool is actually a dedicated lap pool. I showed up with a book and the expectation of relaxing in the water mixed with hanging out on a lounge chair. Instead there is no poolside seating and, after donning the mandatory swimming cap, one is faced with trying to keep up with active serious lap swimmers.
The Crowne Plaza is smack in the midst of the theater district, 2 blocks from Rockefeller Center and only about 12 easy blocks from Central Park. There is a restaurant and lobby bar with a view of Times Square, but drinks are expensive. For great dinner choices, walk 2 blocks west to 9th Avenue. The (unfortunately named) Hell's Kitchen district is lined with a plethora of fine choices. We were happy with our long weekend at this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upthehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Sorry you had a tough time finding the hotel, the sign is really high up, and I will absolutely address this issue with my team and see if we can find a solution. Next time you stay with us please use the M&Ms store as a land mark. We apologize regarding your experience in the pool; however it is a Sports Club and it is used for fitness purposes.
Please come back and see us again and we will make sure you have a greater experience!
I hope you have a wonderful day!

Best regards,
Yaniv Packin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Hotel is in Times Square - not close by but right in it. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. We stayed there when hurricane Irene was about to hit New York and the staff were very accomodating especially as we had to stay for an unplanned extra day. The views from the front rooms are staggering so you should always ask for one. I would stay at this hotel every time I visited New York

Room Tip: always ask fr a room at the front of the hotel - what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Whitey1962:

Thank you for your amazing review! Being in the middle of Times Square is definitely a great location and we are so glad you enjoyed being right in it. We are thrilled that we could accommodate your travel needs during this unexpected storm and we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay here at the Crowne Plaza. Please let us know when you will be in town again. We can’t wait to have you back!

Best,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in New York and had a wonderful time only slighty marred by Hurricane Sandy. Almost everything was closed for 2/3 days attractions,shops ,resturants etc...But I have to say the places that did open with limited staff were amazing!!
The hotel staff were very hepful and professional and carried on as if Hurricane Sandy didn't exist, the only thing that affected us in the hotel was no hot water for the last 2 days but even then Vicky Martin (front desk) managed to get us a couple of jugs of hot water and brought them to our rooms herself!! We would definately return to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we really appreciate your acknowledgment on the staff’s effort on making you feel at home.
You are neither a client nor a guest; you are a friend and part of our family.
Please come back and see us soon!

Best regards,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,707 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,598 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,675 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing