We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Ranked #192 of 468 Hotels in New York City
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very pleasant stay for 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza in Times Square. Location is great- very accessible to most midtown sights. Lobby area recently redone and very pleasant (if busy). Front desk staff very helpful- Vicky was terrific. Rooms were larger than expected for NYC and beds very comfortable. Bathrooms a bit small and outdated, but very clean. Overall, a pleasant stay for a nice price, and the very friendly and helpful staff was a huge bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmw725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
nmw725:

Thank you for your pleasant review! Being in the middle of Times Square is definitely a great location and we are so glad you were able to access most of the midtown sights and attractions. Vicky is certainly one of our best and we are happy to hear that she was helpful for the duration of your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay here at the Crowne Plaza. Please let us know when you will be in town again. We would love to have you back!

Best,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,377
    3,225
    1,087
    420
    300
See reviews for
3,330
2,745
302
1,053
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights the location is excellent right in the middle of the city. We were within walking distance of most of the major attractions. We stayed on the 18th floor and the lifts were quick. The room needed maintenance the bathroom door had screws missing so it wobbled, the surfaces were just wiped down not cleaned very well. The beds were comfortable. No frige or microwave just horrible free coffee. Room had 2 double beds and was large enough for 2 people. We had a room that had an adjoining door which was locked so when the room next door was occupied we could here the loud people next door talking. Had to call the front desk at 5am because the guy in the room next door was talking so loud on his phone it woke us up. They must have called him as he was quiet for awhile. He dId the same the next night. The doors made loud noises when they closed most people were happy to let theirs slam no matter what time they entered their room.
Did not eat here as there is so many other places near by. Felt safe in Times Square at night there was a police presence to discourage pick pockets.
The location overrides the poor maintenance however was not cheap to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne-Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Melbourne-Aussies:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your honest feedback. On behalf of my team, we apologize for your mediocre experience at the Crowne Plaza. We are disappointed that our hotel was unable to fully meet your expectations. The location of our hotel is definitely a great aspect as you can easily visit many attractions within the Times Square area. We are glad you were able to enjoy the proximity of all these local attractions. We hope that our superior location will keep you coming back to our hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed in New York before and only once before in the Times Square area when we found the rooms SO small.
No such problem here. Excellent room. Spacious and well equipped with excellent decor etc.
We loved the bar. Tremendous place to enjoy a drink and some food. We had particularly brilliant service from Keith at the bar and Tanesha who served us at our table each evening. Management of the Crowne Plaza take note. They are gems!
Only complaint was the hotel wi-fi. We had to pay ( and not particularly cheap) but it only worked in the actual room. This is very poor on both fronts. However, we mentioned this on departure and it was sorted to our satisfaction. Well done Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flloyd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you Flloyd80 for your fabulous review! We have definitely taken note that you enjoyed your service from Keith and Tanesha! We have shared your feedback with them and they are delighted to have contributed to your wonderful stay! Unfortunately we do charge for our wireless internet but we are glad to hear that the front desk was able to satisfy your concerns! Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Best, Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We literally walked right into Time Square from the lobby... room service was great, timely, etc. Rooms were spacious, clean, etc. When in the room in the evening, noise was limited completely. We didn't hear the noise from Times Square - or see the lights! It was awesome. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Our location is definitely ideal, Honeymooners711! Right in the heart of Times Square is the best place to be! Our rooms begin on the 15th floor so that our guests are far away from any street noise that may occur late at night. We are thrilled that you recognized the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff! It is our goal to be just that! Please stay with us again real soon!
Best, Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is perfect !
Great location, great facilities, great rooms!
In order to get all that, search for deals to have all this good in a great price!
Staff are kindly and make u feel comfortablein the busiest place on earth

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelOGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you, Or G for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased to hear that you felt right at home here at the Crowne Plaza! We hope you come back and stay with us again very soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel for a few days the week of Oct. 15/12. The front desk staff was very kind and friendly. The on-site restaurant and bar/lounge area were great too.(Drinks at the lounge were pricey $$). We only ate breakfast at the restaurant once due to our busy daily schedule and it was delicious! Although I must say that I was a bit disappointed with the restaurant server we had. We kept having to flag him down each time we wanted a coffee refill and he kept forgetting to bring our juice.

This hotel does need some renovation within the rooms at least aesthetically. The beds were cozy but the wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom and the drain cover latch was broken so we had to manually lift it each time to make sure the water drained after showering. There were some very noticeable type of brownish looking spots on the ceiling just above one of the beds. I can't say for sure what it was. The door handle to the bathroom looked as though it might have been replaced with a smaller one as there was a unpainted ring around it. At least a touch up paint job would have not made it stand out as much. The room itself was clean and the maid service provided us with clean towels every day and the beds were nicely made.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would definitely be back. It's located conveniently in Times Square close to shopping and many restaurant choices. Bring comfy shoes though because walking is the cheapest way to get around. Taxis were hard to find outside of the hotel especially at night.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 16th floor and unfortuantely our room faced the HVAC system on the lower building n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nila01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you Nila01 for reviewing our hotel! We are glad to hear that you had a good time while staying with us! Our bar and our restaurant are wonderful and we are excited that you got to enjoy these amenities. We apologize that you were not fully satisfied with the appearance of your room. We can assure you that we take pride in our guest rooms and we hope that next time you stay with us you will see that! Please come see us again soon!

Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed in the Crowne Plaza Times Square for seven nights from 28/09/12.

The hotel is ideally located in Times Square and you can walk to the majority of tourist attractions in midtown Manhattan. Broadway theatres surround the hotel and links to public transport are very close by.

The room was bigger than we expected - not just big for New York but for anywhere! The room was perfect and very comfortable. It was cleaned daily and the cleaning staff were very friendly and relaxed.

We had originally planned to stay for three nights and move to another hotel but after the first two nights we didn't want to leave. I rang reception hoping to extend our stay and spoke to Meliha (hope I spelt it right) who couldn't be more helpful. She extended our stay and gave us the same rate we were paying for the first three nights. I had checked a number of hotel sites before ringing and the rates were much higher so she really helped us out. A really nice girl and typical of all the staff we met in the hotel.

Probably one of the most enjoyable stays we've had in a hotel and it really contributed to a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SMcQTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTimesSquare, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you SMcQTA for your fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that Miliha contributed to your pleasant stay with us. It is so great to know that you chose to extend your stay with us instead of heading to another property! We are glad you enjoyed the size of our rooms and the helpfulness of our staff. Please come back and stay with us soon!
Best,
Yaniv Packin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,834 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 468 in New York City
6,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#184 of 468 in New York City
10,374 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Property: Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Address: 1605 Broadway, Between 48th and 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square, always New York's most exciting scene, seems all new now that the Crowne Plaza Times Square has reinvented itself. Come check out our $85 million re-invention, and see for yourself how modern design can provide a whole new kind of comfort. Enjoy one of our 795 well-appointed guest rooms outfitted with fresh contemporary accents and plush Sleep Advantage beds. Every room offers breathtaking views of Times Square, the famous Manhattan skyline or the Hudson River, unique among hotels in Times Square. Relax in our sleek lobby lounge, or have an evening cocktail in Broadway 49 Bar. Delight in a new spin on New American Eclectic cuisine at Brasserie 1605, one of the most exciting Times Square restaurants. With options like these, it's no wonder that New York seems so new. If you ve come for a meeting, you ll benefit from the new tech-friendly environment. If you re here for an event, you ll revel in the open space and atmospheric lighting, and when you walk through our front door, you step onto Broadway dazzling lights, world-class entertainment and urban energy. That's how Crowne Plaza Times Square is keeping New York new for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel New York City
Crowne Plaza Hotel Manhattan
Crowne Plaza New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing