We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herald Sqaure”
Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #313 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room was small but very clean. The bathroom door couldn't open all the way because it hit the bed, but no big deal. The shower would alternate between hot and cold. Other than that, we had no issues.

Room Tip: We were in 314. To get the shower temperature right, turn the hot all the way up and the cold barely...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
There are newer reviews for Life Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location for train stations and attractions such as Time's Square, Empire State Building and down to Flat Iron. The room and bathroom were clean and looked fairly new. The bed was comfortable, and other than a few clunking pipes we were not disturbed by any noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaubsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was very impressed when I walked in the room--roomy, beautiful wood floors, desk, table and chairs, and a larger bed than I had reserved. I originally booked this room because of the great reviews, the price under $150 a night, the location AND--the real anomaly--a private bathroom. So that all stood up to the promise and the reviews. Plus, the beds are outstanding. I don't know if I've ever slept in a nicer and more comfortable bed. The tap water is filtered and tastes as pure as bottled, too--a nice perk. So I just filled up my bottle for the day in our bathroom

The problem is the plumbing. In the middle of the night, the pipes started making all sorts of noises. It usually woke me up, but I had no problem going back to sleep. Then the shower. We had an appointment to get to, and I go to take a shower, but...just a drip is coming from the shower head. I call the front desk, and it takes the guy a little while to get there, and he does fix it. But the pressure went up and down, as did the temperature, during the shower. And then there was no hot water left for my husband's shower. In the 4 nights we stayed there, I learned that for some reason, sometimes the water just wouldn't turn on, though it would usually later. But then it takes the shower about a minute to heat up or cool down, so it takes a while to get the temperature right and then you need to make it quick.

So, if you are on a tight schedule, it might not work for you. Then again, it might just have been our room or floor (908). If you can put up with a temperamental plumbing system, then I highly recommend it. The building is old and has lots of character, the price is fantastic for a room with private bath in Midtown, and the beds are just heavenly. I really enjoyed our stay, but I did want to point out the plumbing issues, as it may be a deal breaker for some.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kendra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

First time here. The glassed in area for check in was a little disconcerting but the staff was great. I guess they weren't really crowded because they gave us a free upgrade to a larger room with a king bed. The room was large by NY standards for sure. Hardwood floors. Gorgeous brass and iron head and foot boards. Cedar lined closet and drawers! Bathroom was huge and looked recently redone. All marble tile. Now the oddities - as nice as the headboard was, there was a large chandelier done in black plastic. The bathroom was L shaped. There was a waste basket in the far end (and I'm talking 14 feet from the bathroom door) but none in the bedroom. There were 2 phones in the bedroom, about 7 feet apart but no mirror other than the one over the sink. The shower head was the kind that you could adjust the type of flow, but you had to be 6'9" to reach it. Very High! One very slow elevator. The larger one was out of order. They have a coffee machine going all day with all sorts of combinations (lattes, coffee, cappuccinos, tea, etc.) that was free. A room with tables and chairs that you could bring your breakfast or other food in. That was very nice. Within a few blocks of a number of subways which was nice and still walkable to a number of restaurants and other sites. Also validated self parking at a significant reduced rate. Would like to try it again to see another room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

i liked this hotel. it was simple but was a good location. walkable to many locations.

unfortuantly the staff were not all that friendly. but i think thats kinda the new york style.

there was free coffee and tea in the morning and in the afternoon.

rooms were simple and quite small but thats what you are gonna get in manhattan!

was great for the price in the middle of new york!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skimbo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Don't expect a hotel with a serious entry hall/reception and breakfast restaurant, room service and the lot. If you get one of the bigger renovated rooms you will be positively surprised!
Due to the average clientele (mostly tourists of all ages) the check-in staff, concierge can seem to appear a bit grumpy and ignorant. Stay friendly and this will absolutely change instantly. Bob's your uncle :-)

Room Tip: Ask for and insist on the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed one night at the Herald Square while taking a quick Bolt-Bus weekend away from the DC area. The customer service was very good. We were permitted early check-in, and when we had trouble with noise coming from another room, they quickly and immediately moved us to another room in a quieter area. The beds and linens were comfortable with abundant pillows. There were plenty of towels and good toiletries offered in the bathroom, but the hot water was a bit hard to manage - there is too much if it. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, and the elevator is slow, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laure_Starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#164 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
The James New York-NoMad
#409 of 468 in New York City
41 reviews
Midtown
The Gregory Hotel
The Gregory Hotel
#287 of 468 in New York City
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#200 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $206 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing