We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of the city”
Review of Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Life Hotel
Ranked #313 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April. The first day, I did not really have my bearings and got a real surprise when I went to the pharmacy a block away and found myself inside THE Empire State Building! It was a great location for all of those tourist spots - walking distance to 30 Rock, Empire State, Macys, Madison Square Garden etc. We walked back often at night and felt totally safe.

It doesn't look like much from the outside and the rooms are tiny (not much luggage space but they will store your bags for you if you need) but the beds are SO comfy and the rooms and hallways are cleaned impeccably, you could smell the disinfectant when the cleaners were around. All we wanted was a quiet room, comfortable bed and a bath to soak in after a day of walking around and The Herald exceeded our expectations. We were in a renovated room on the 1st floor and I was a bit worried about noise being so close to the street level but there are block out shutters on the windows which kept out the light and the noise so in fact I had trouble waking up in the morning! We were so settled that even though the lovely person at Reception offered us a free upgrade to a bigger room, we didn't bother to take her up on it, which is the first time I have ever declined an upgrade!

The ONLY downside I would say is that the shower water did not seem to heat up very well (sometimes freezing) and then all of a sudden it is scalding. Sometimes it was fine and sometimes not, which kept us on our toes. I didn't report it as an issue though as really we were happy to have a bath, which did not have the same problem and was great.

The staff were super nice and accommodating. We will be back next time we are in New York for sure.

Room Tip: As for a renovated room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
There are newer reviews for Life Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This Hotel has excellent location in the heart of Manhattan. Neat clean rooms though slightly on smaller size particularly single bed type. We had originally booked single room at less than $ 200 per day but when our daughter decided to also come over we took twin beds. It was about $239 but spacious.

Staff is quite courteous and helpful. We had landed up around 8:30 am instead of usual 3.0 pm checking time, used their locker for bags and common restroom & had coffee. By the time we came back in an hour we got the room.

Room Tip: select twin beds instead of single bed particularly if you have lot of luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakul_shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is an historical building, and you should take time to look at the framed Life Magazine covers on every floor. Lovely polished wooden floors and nice linen. It was clean and the staff (which I didn't see much, just at the entrance on coming and going) were friendly and helpful. But it was really just a bed - if you want services like meals and gym, go elsewhere. It wasn't really that much cheaper. And because it was a magazine office, not an hotel originally, some of the rooms are a very strange shape, and there was no natural light in my room - window was right up against a wall!

The location was its best feature, being an easy walk to attractions, shops, subway, pub etc. Basically, it's right next to the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hinekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was in New York both last week and part of this week. I stayed at this hotel for one night last week and I wished it were the entire trip. It was centrally located in mid-town, an easy walk to lots and lots of restaurants and shops. i enjoyed being in the city again and the staff was extremely helpful. I had expected noise at night, but there was none, although if you are a light sleeper, I would probably request a room that does not face the street. Overall, they get an "A" from me and i will add the to my short list of where to stay on my next trip! Oh and before I forget, the price is right!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest telling the front desk as I suspect certain rooms are no...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoverOfSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed with my husband from thursday-sunday. We were really pleased with this hotel. Nice and good location. The staff was mostly nice and otherwise ok. Never rude and always helpfull! The hotel is older which you can see in the hallways because allthough it was cleaned, it was never really clean but a little worn off. But that was not a problem since we only slept at the hotel, and the bed was really nice and big!

The entrance is really nice looking and although the receptionist is sitting behind a glass, it did not look like a shotproof glass or anything like that, but instead we hardly noticed that the glass was there! It looked nice cleaned up and modern! There was coffee in then reception and maps that you could take with you. And I can not emphasize the LOCATION(!), right beside the Empire state building, Macys and a 5-10 minute walk to Time Square! We hardly used the metro cards since we could walk to most things we wanted to see!

I would recommend this hotel mostly to people travelling without kids since there were some noice coming from the hallways when people returned to the hotel rooms at night and it can disturb your sleep. We didnt mind since it was only for a short time and once they had gone to their rooms, it was quiet again:) The room had a bathtub and was large. It was warm and had a TV + free wifi!

All and all, everything you can ask for when you are to spend a weekend in New York and want a cheap hotel that is nice and in a good location! Good value for the buck! I recommend!

Room Tip: renovated/updated room is what we asked for and what we got, and it was nice!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel, in the heart of mid-town Manhattan, was perfect for our 3-night stay in the city. Convenient to the subway, to restaurants, cafés, shopping, museums. Friendly, helpful staff. Very, very comfortable beds. Not much noise at night. Nice little wine bar right next door. Lockers available for suitcases before check-in or after check-out. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the Herald Square Hotel in June 2013 for about one week. The Hotel is located very conveniently between Broadway and 5th Ave in walking distance to the Empire State Builing, Macy's, Herald Square Garden, Times Square and Flat Iron. Also at night, we didn't worry to stroll through the area as a couple.

Getting there from Newark Airport is very easy. We took the train to New York Penn Station and simply walked from there to the Hotel.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. I also liked the small candy selection provided at the check-in desk and especially in the general seating area at the coffee bar :)

The room itself was okay:
Facilities and furniture didn't seem brand-new, but everything was clean. Towels were changed every day. We missed a hair-dryer and some sort of hooks in the bathroom to hang things like towels or a washbag.
Since it was June, we sometimes switched on the A/C which worked well, but I'm glad, we didn't need it overnight because this would have been a little too loud for us.
The walls to other rooms are not very thick, so sometimes we could hear our neighbour's TV. However, the street got much more quiet during the night than we would have expected it in NY, so we actually slept very well.
Furthermore, there was a safe in the room, a flat iron, a desk with a radio and a telephone, a small wardrobe with some cloth hangers. Wirless LAN access worked well.
Although not really spacy, the room was large enough for us and just what we think one could expect for this price and location in Manhattan.

Breakfast was not provided in the Hotel, however, there are some options in the neighborhood. We used the quick self-service deli Speedy's (1271 Broadway, just next to the Herald Square subway station) a lot where we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and delicious pastries.

Altogether, we would book the Herald Square Hotel again for our stay in NY as tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernmeldeturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#164 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
The James New York-NoMad
#409 of 468 in New York City
41 reviews
Midtown
The Gregory Hotel
The Gregory Hotel
#287 of 468 in New York City
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#200 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Hotel

Address: 19 West 31st Street, New York City, NY 10001-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $206 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Life Hotel, centrally located in midtown in the NoMad neighborhood between the Emipre State building and world-famous Flatiron building,. From nearby Pennsylvania Station, we’re minutes away by train from the United Nations, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, museums and shopping. In the original building that once housed LIFE magazine, the 98-key hotel has been restored to its former glory with the additions of an intimate namesake restaurant Life Restaurant, lobby bar and basement speakeasy. Inside the newly renovated guest rooms, ranging from “Classic Queen” to “Premium King” and multi-room “Suites,", features include; Pillow top Beautyrest® Simmons mattress voted “best hotel beds 2016”, offering amenities and services like all-natural, socially conscious LATHER bath products, access to a 24/7 fitness facility outfitted with Peloton stationary bikes, and a pet-friendly policy, a stay at Life Hotel is easy. Need a restaurant recommendation or reservation? Forgot your toothbrush? Craving a bacon-egg-and cheese after a night out? Life Hotel’s awesome, friendly staff is only a text message or call away. Come for the night, stay for Life. Life Restaurant, by veteran restauranteur Stephen Hanson and seasoned NYC chef Michael Vignola offers a vegetable-centric, seasonally-driven menu of sustainable and wild-caught seafood dishes and pastas, much of which will be prepared in a wood-burning oven. Chef Vignola focuses on locally-sourced ingredients from the New York area as well as from the hotel’s own rooftop Chef’s Garden where the menu will include playful riffs on classic dishes paired with a beverage program offering handcrafted cocktails, and an extensive, thoughtful “wines by the glass” program. The basement bar will offer classic cocktails harkening back to the days LIFE magazine staffers used this space as their own speakeasy. The space can also be utilized as private dining or meeting space for up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Herald Square
Herald Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing